We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lively place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Springfield National Cemetery

Springfield National Cemetery
Ranked #14 of 78 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lively place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Always super lively here. Always makes me happy when I pass it. When I ask the children at my work where they love to go for birthday parties, holidays, and weekends, they say, "The National Cemetery!".

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank classylady1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    10
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
160 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Peaceful and pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I always try to stop at national cemeteries to honor those who have helped protect our wonderful country. What was so wonderful about this cemetery was how peaceful, pleasant, and quiet it was right off the main road. The stone walls were a wonderful touch to separate the outside world and allow you to experience and pay respect to the fallen. It is set up very nice, and they are in process of renovating the grounds, but nothing was off limits. If you are in the area stop by and enjoy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Okieamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
687 reviews
503 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 835 helpful votes
“Good adjunct to Wilson Creek National Battlefield Park.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

PROS: surreal military cemetery that has around 500 confederate gravestones; memorial for the first union general to be slain in a major civil war battle- Gen Lyons; great adjunct to your visit to Wilson Creek National Battlefield Park; the soldiers slain in Bloody Hill are in this cemetery.

CONS: none

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_bro_1_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Small but nice cemetery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Interesting to drive thru and was near our hotel. Wanted to see the dividing wall between north and south soldiers from civil war.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Way To Pass A Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

A whole day?! Yes, I could spend a good day in here. Especially now, in the nice weather. The grounds people do an excellent job at up keep. They clean it every two weeks, which seems more then standard.

This city cemetery goes way back. You can find all walks of life in here. Not only veterans, but some from the turn of the 1800s. The graves are old, some are in bad shape, but that just adds to the charm. There are plenty of shade trees, as well. I like to walk up and down the rows. You can get a sense of a person by the gravestone they choose, and there are some very unique ones here. It's great exercise and a great way to learn something about the people that used to live here.

It's very crowded, not with people, but with stones. I guess because they don't have any area to grow into.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Springfield National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Springfield National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing