We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting History - Unusual Building”
Review of Pythian Castle

Pythian Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$9.15*
and up
History Tour of Pythian Castle in Springfield Missouri
Ranked #14 of 79 things to do in Springfield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Springfield's most enchanting events venue offering history tours, ghost tours, murder mysteries, holiday events, private rentals. Must attend a scheduled event to visit the castle. Go to the website for schedule and to make reservations or click Book Now on this site. Please note, general hours of operation on this site are incorrect. Trip Advisor format is unable to show event start times other than through Viator Book Now button. We are trying to work with them to correct this issue. Since it requires a system change on their part, it will take a while. Please check the website, come to a scheduled event, pay the entrance fee; otherwise, you will not be able to visit the castle. Fee varies depending on the event. Discount for on-line reservations. Higher if paid at the time of arrival.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
272 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Interesting History - Unusual Building”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Tour cost of $7.00 includes a walk through of most of the building with a very knowledgeable guide/owner. Photos not allowed inside. While the history of the Pythians is interesting, along with the building's later use by the U.S. Army, I found the place to be spooky feeling and was glad to exit the building. If you're interested in history and architecture, this might be an option for a rainy afternoon.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MNDoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    60
    22
    8
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visit with kids”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I enjoy going here. They are remolding as they can. It is 40,000 square feet. The mom and daughter own it. they are very know all about it. They did a lot of reshich on it. I have gone a few times with family members. And each time more is begging done. they frist time was hard to find but now not hard if you are coming in on Natisnoal there a car wash right there and it's just down a bit on the north side. they are planning a gift shop. They have all different kinds of tours there they offer. I have done the one that is 1 hour. Everyone they we have taken loved it.
We had friends get married there . I talked to people that went to it really enjoyed it. I missed that because I was out of state on vaction. The 2 ladys our doing a great job. I be back soon to visit again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurie1963982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
698 reviews
508 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 841 helpful votes
“Beautiful exterior but photos were not allowed inside the building.”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

PROS: impressive exterior; abundant parking as there were only 2 other cars when we visited on a weekend;

CONS: no pics allowed during the tour; the docent stated that the tour was “too fast for pictures to be taken” ; $7/person fee for a no pics allowed tour may deter some people.; lacking gift shop- there hardly was anything; most of what may be assumed was the original lot/land of the castle now belongs to the national reserve.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Big_bro_1_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“My favorite”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I've been to the castle 9 differs times! I love the history tour as well as the ghost tour. The owners give the tour and they are very knowledgeable. It is a must see! 40,000 sq ft of historical beauty!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank poobecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
201 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Fascinating castle in the middle of Springfield”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Pythian Castle is a bit hard to find because it is almost totally surrounded by the Army National Guard Armory. The castle was built in 1912 and is primarily constructed of stone blocks quarried in Missouri. The support pillars and beams are concrete, not wood. It was created as a home for the children of deceased members of the Knights of Pythias and also housed some Knights who had fallen on hard times in their old age. Originally 58 acres, everyone worked to help support the home. Girls worked in the kitchen, boys in the farm fields. It even contains a movie theater on the second floor. The government seized the property just prior to WW II and eventually sold just the main building back to private owners.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PTBitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pythian Castle also viewed

 

Been to Pythian Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing