We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creepy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pythian Castle

Pythian Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.22*
and up
Night Ghost Tour of Pythian Castle in Springfield Missouri
Ranked #1 of 6 Tours in Springfield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Springfield's most enchanting events venue offering history tours, ghost tours, murder mysteries, holiday events, private rentals. Must attend scheduled event to visit the castle. Go to web site events offered and to make reservations.
Grovetown, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Creepy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I went on a non-haunted tour of this castle and it still scared the crap out of me. There was so many bumps and bangs and no one around to justify them. And the underground passage way is creepy!!! Loved the place though. It is really beautiful. If I am ever in that area again, I would love to take the haunted tour!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melodylee42390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    58
    22
    8
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fun & scary at the same time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We went on a haunted tour of the Castle. The host was extremely entertaining & very informative about the history of the castle. The tour consisted of going into various rooms & the host explaining the different hauntings seen in that particular room. While I never actually saw or felt anything (I wasn't really expecting to), I learned a lot about the history of Springfield & the castle in particular. I would recommend visiting the castle, as it is beautiful & the stories are extremely interesting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not so famous place very haunted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I love going to haunted places seeing what I can come up with in the way of real scientific evidence. Came across this place strictly by accident, was going through the area, and decided to add it to the list. I was astounded at the evidence I came up with in EVP's. They are Class A and you can clearly hear a woman's voice saying "He hit me" while I was in the dungeon. The overnight investigation was reasonably priced and very well run. If you are looking for a place to investigate where you can go where you want I would definitely recommend this place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SpiritSearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
173 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Pythian castle was funded by the fraternal group known as the Pythians. They were the 1st Congress approved fraternity after the civil war to bring the north & south togetherness again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Haunted- scary scary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

a fun tour, look out for ghosts and a general scary vibe as you tour the haunted castle. family friendly

Helpful?
Thank MelanieTarrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pythian Castle also viewed

 

Been to Pythian Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing