We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ziggie's Cafe

Ziggie's Cafe
Ranked #329 of 673 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

I had some doubts when we entered the restaurant. There seemed to be no staff responding to our presence, however that was replaced by a very congenial member of the wait staff. The food was very good and the atmosphere was relaxing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    22
    10
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Me and my husband stopped here while visiting looking for a good breakfast meal. That's not what we got. I ordered something as simple as french toast and the bread wasn't cooked at all and the flavor was bland. My husband ordered just a basic breakfast, sunny side eggs, bacon, and hashbrowns. Eggs were too runny, bacon burnt, and the hashbrowns were underooked, I don't understand how so many things could be wrong with the simplest of dishes. On top of the food being bad, the waitress acted as though we were an inconvenience and never came to refill our drinks. We didn't finish our food and just wanted to get out of there so we went up to pay and it was our waitress who processed our check and she didn't ask us if everything was good or anything, just handed me the paper to sign without even a goodbye. Bad food and poor service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MMitchell64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
297 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Not a good experience here. The specials of the night were unlimited cod, catfish or ribs. Thankfully, I decided to save a couple of bucks and ordered the two-piece cod platter instead. I got two large, perfectly fried pieces of fish, along with so-so slaw and a bland, iceberg salad. The problem was what was inside that nice, golden batter. Thin, thawed fillets with a mushy consistency and only vaguely tasting of fish. My wife's spinach salad was OK, but served an off-putting room temperature. Service was fine but, based on these meals, this is not a place where I'd return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NMDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

There are several Ziggie's in Springfield. We were at the one at 1772 S. Glenstone. The menu is very extensive and the serving sizes were very generous (although not HUGE). Service was friendly and polite. We had coffee refills from a wait that was not ours, but was just walking by and offered to refill our cups -- nice. I had the Greek omelet, my wife has the asparagus omelet. Both were great. I had the biscuits and gravy -- which were OK. The coffee was average. All-in-all at very nice experience. We'd go again if we get the opportunity.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, United States
2 reviews
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

You can't go wrong eating at Ziggie's. It has one of the largest breakfast menus I have seen. The portions were great and the prices were very affordable. The restaurant was clean. The wait staff was so friendly and helpful. Love to go back again. Don't miss this gem.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ziggie's Cafe also viewed

 
Springfield, MO
 

Been to Ziggie's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing