We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it!”

Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar- at DoubleTree
Ranked #6 of 686 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Forget 'casual dining.' That's an industry term so out of touch with how consumers eat and drink today. For premium quality and style; fare that's at times familiar and other times adventurous and a laid-back modern setting, Houlihan's is a true original.
midwest
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Made a reservation and went with a group of 12. Had a private room which was awesome. The menu seems identical to the Houlihan's in Kansas City, so good. If you haven't been to a Houlihan's, the menu is quite varied and very reasonably priced. Wine and cocktail list was more than adequate. I loved the lettuce wraps.

Laura was our server and did a great job. No issues with separate checks, she even split up the cost of a bottle of wine. Took a Foursquare coupon, no issues.

Would return in a heartbeat!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelprincess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasie H, General Manager at Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar- at DoubleTree, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We are so glad you and your group enjoyed yourselves dining with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a positive review. Our private room is a great way to celebrate with your friends/family and we would love to have you all in again. I will pass along the compliments to your server that night. We hope we can have the pleasure of taking care of you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    145
    25
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Nice decor, good service and delicious food. Could only find franchise eateries in Springfield, but this place was great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank maxim3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasie H, General Manager at Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar- at DoubleTree, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave positive comments for our restaurant. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us. I will pass on the review to my team. It would be our pleasure to serve you again when you are in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I met colleagues at this restaurant. The menu is varied and it has good ambiance. The barbecue ribs could be better but it tastes good. The server was friendly and attentive. We had a good dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasie H, General Manager at Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar- at DoubleTree, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your time to review our restaurant. We are glad that you had a good experience with us. I apologize your entrée wasn't as great as you hoped and hope you will join us again the next time you travel in to Springfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The family and I loved it!!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Double Tree and since this restaurant was conveniently located in it we decided to eat there. I wasn't really hungry so I decided to eat an appetizer of Calamari. Then I chased it down with a Martini flight. All was excellent. I enjoyed my first flight so I took another and tried 3 other Martinis. The Adam and Eve is by far the best and I don't recommend the chocolate. The kids ate macaroni and it was really good.

Overall the whole experience was really great. The food and drinks were excellent and the service with great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrKristof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasie H, General Manager at Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar- at DoubleTree, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a great review! We are glad your family enjoyed themselves at dinner. I will pass along your wonderful comments to my team. We look forward to the next time you and your family can join us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Started with the martini flight. 3 not-so-small martinis for only $7.95 was a great deal. Had the scallops on lemon-asperagus risotto and it was fabulous. Dessert was a pecan tart with ice cream which was homemade and delicious.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasie H, General Manager at Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar- at DoubleTree, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review on our restaurant! I am glad you enjoyed your experience with us. I will definitely pass this great review on to my team. We look forward to you visiting us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar- at DoubleTree also viewed

 

Been to Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar- at DoubleTree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing