We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good burger” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ebbets Field

Ebbets Field
Ranked #134 of 673 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
kansas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I had a Durocher burger in a place where it was all Cardinals fans. Big thick and tasty. The fried were hand cut, and especially good. It was a $10 burger. Now in a college town I'm not sure that flies. All the time. The restaurant is an old house, and has a nice outdoor porch and an even better deck. I think it might have been upstairs, not sure. I would go back and try a different burger.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank midwestguy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    27
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis MO
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Sports/College Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you are looking for gourmet food in a quiet atmosphere, this is NOT it. But if you are looking for a great burger, with excellent service, in a fun and sometimes loud college sports bar with an excellent variety of cold beers on tap, THIS IS IT. We traveled to Springfield for a Cardinals (AA) baseball game, and were pleased to be directed to Ebbets Field. One caution, though. If using your GPS to find it, note that it is on a somewhat residential/commercial street. It is easy to drive past it. It is a large old home with a large patio and parking lot in back (not visible from the street). We will definitely add this to our list of places to revisit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tug1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Local Flavor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Ebbets Field is a local bar that is located in the Historic Walnut Street district. It was once the home of the Mayor of Springfield 1932-1940 and is listed on the National Register of Historic places. It has a lot of charm and a great staff. We had a burger & fries, which they are "known for" but they have a variety of sandwiches and pizza on their menu. They serve the local brew, Mother's Beers on tap. You can have your drinks/eats either inside the bar or out in their large deck area. Would recommend you stop in for visit while in Springfield, MO.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Ridge, Missouri
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Old habits dies hard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband wanted to eat here because he frequented it when in college. I thought it was an OK place, but nothing super special. The food was typical bar food. I would go again, but nothing to get excited about.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ebbets Field - always a must when in Springfield”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everytime we go to Springfield, we always go to Ebbets at least once during the visit. This time I had their french dip sandwich - YUM! They have great food. We like to sit outside on the patio, however, it was too cold this time and was snowing - in May!!!!! What????

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ebbets Field also viewed

 

Been to Ebbets Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing