We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lamplighter Inn & Suites South
Ranked #40 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Springfield
1 review
“Good price, great location”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Lamplighter Springfield South is a very decent motel. Our room was clean and fairly spacious. We received excellent, friendly service from all the staff. And its rates are very economical.But it needs to be remodeled and updated. Then it will become the perfect choice in Springfield.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Arman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry T, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Armen S.

We appreciate your wonderful review of our property. My staff and I are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We are currently renovating as much as we can during our busy season. The next time you stay make sure to ask for one of our remodeled rooms. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    38
    15
    15
    21
See reviews for
43
26
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Not the fanciest hotel in Springfield, but it offers good prices, a nice outdoor pool courtyard and it is within easy walking distance of Cartoons Oyster Bar, a roadhouse style bar that we enjoyed. Breakfast is hardier than many free breakfasts, with eggs, sausage and biscuits and gravy, among other things. The hallways could be a bit stuffy, but the room a/c was fine. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: They offer Jacuzi-style suites with a nice, two person sized tub. These seem to be converted rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry T, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Billy Jeff,

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review for our property. We are always trying to improve here at the Lamplighter and are always thankful for the feedback we receive from our guests. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Missouri, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff. Clean rooms, very very clean bathrooms, the continental breakfast was amazing. Managers on duty were helpful and knew the area well. They were able to direct us to some great area's that are not on the tourism guide. (especially farmers markets stuff).

Room Tip: Some rooms have massage chairs, amazing and wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy64243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry T, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Chrissy,

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We love the positive feedback from our guests, and are ALWAYS looking to improve our property. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our recent visit to Springfield. The staff was very friendly, always smiling and willing to assist. The room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is conveniently located with easy access to all local attractions and shopping. While we were in a room close to the street, and yes, street repairs were being done at night with a jack hammer and all, we never heard a sound. The complimentary breakfast offered more then most with scrambled eggs, hash browns, and sausage included. The on site restaurant was the perfect compliment to this stay. We will stay at this hotel on every visit to Springfield.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vernon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry T, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Vernon,

We appreciate your wonderful review of our property. We are always glad to get positive feedback from our patrons. We will welcome you with a smile the next time you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Having a son in school here we have stayed in several hotels in the springfield area, this one is close to MSU, we have stayed here 5 or 6 times. The staff has always been very friendly, we have never had any problems with unclean rooms, & the one time the tv didnt work they came in to fix it right away. yes, there is a strip club next door BUT to my suprise there has never been any problems with noise or groups of people outside. maybe a little parking issue if you check in late (11pm ish).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry T, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our property. We here at the Lamplighter are very proud of our property, and are glad that we are able to provide outstanding service at an affordable price. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My sister and I regularly stay in hotels in Springfield, and I wouldn't go back to this one. We've stayed in cheaper hotels with better rooms and better service. A number of things in our room were unplugged when we got there or just didn't work at all (lights, the TV, the microwave and coffee pot). When we called the front desk to ask about the TV, the person who answered was very rude, making up reasons why our TV was just not ever going to work right rather than sending maintenance to look at it, just trying to get us off of the phone so she didn't have to deal with it. When she finally did send the maintenance guy (who was very nice), he was able to fix it right away. Other problems: The shower barely worked and flooded the bathroom floor. We could hear every noise outside - doors closing, people talking. We had a non-smoking room but it was right next to an outdoor exit to a smoking area, so it still reeked of smoke. There was hair and dirt in my bed when I pulled the covers back. It just wasn't a pleasant experience. The Ziggy's restaurant connected to the hotel is very good though. And their breakfast was also good - eggs, bacon and sausage, pastries, yogurt, juice, coffee. A lot of places don't have all of those things. BTW, because I see it in other reviews, the strip club isn't really much of a problem. It isn't loud, and there aren't people hanging around outside of it. It never felt unsafe to have it nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muckalarkuary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry T, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the review of our property. I have personally looked into the issues you stated that you encountered. I have addressed them with the entire staff and have taken steps to prevent these issues in the future. As for the positives, we are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast here, and that we were able to correct some of the issues. Thank you again for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Springfield hotels

Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a great place to stay. The beds are comfortable. And it is equipped with everything you need. It is clean and has a restuarant right there. If you've never eaten at a Ziggy's, you really need to try it. It is close to everything. Everyone is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthAnne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry T, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Ruth Anne,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our property. We appreciate guests helping spread the word regarding our property. We really look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
4.5 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites North
Lamplighter Inn & Suites North
#37 of 49 in Springfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arbor Suites Medical Mile
Arbor Suites Medical Mile
#35 of 49 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.6 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#11 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arbor Suites At The Mall
Arbor Suites At The Mall
#41 of 49 in Springfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Coach House
Best Western Plus Coach House
#12 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#26 of 49 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamplighter Inn & Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Inn & Suites South

Property: Lamplighter Inn & Suites South
Address: 1772 S Glenstone Ave, Springfield, MO 65804-1508
Location: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamplighter Inn & Suites South 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamplighter Inn & Suites South is conveniently located in the heart of Springfield. Our hotel offers quality accommodations at an affordable price. All rooms come furnished with a firm king or two queen size beds. We offer a free hot breakfast, free wi-fi, free local calls and free parking. All rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. Ziggy's Restaurant & Lounge is located on our property and is open 24 hours and provides room service till 10 p.m. ADA rooms are also available for guests. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, Lamplighter Inn & Suites South will always welcome you with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lamplighter Inn & Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing