We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“80s flashback”
Review of 1984

1984
Ranked #4 of 31 Fun & Games in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 1984 is an 80s time machine! All original 80s video games and 80s theme'd hangout. Pinball for 50¢. Entry Admission is $7.50 per person. Your admission is an all-night pass, no cost for re-entry on the same night. We also have Party Rooms for rental, and we do Private Events. Please call to book in advance. Find us at 400 S. Jefferson across from the downtown YMCA.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“80s flashback”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Intimate location. Good selection of 80s games. You do have to pay 25 or 50 cents for pinball but $5 for all you can play video games. Spent 2 hours there as a group of 3 females (not completely interested in playing games) and 1 video game obsessed male...he was ready to leave before the rest of us because we got lost in the games! Definitely worth the price...all you can play and no time limit. Games we never even knew existed. Great activity for a rainy day. Just wish they were open more days!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dancer8807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    37
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonne Terre, Missouri
1 review
“Blast from the past!!!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Me and wife took a trip on our honeymoon. Both of us being retro game lovers. We loved it!! Great variety of games, if you're not too picky and can enjoy playing anything as some of the most known games are occupied. That is only because we went on a Friday night and it was busy. We loved our time there so much we bought souvenirs for family back home. Employees were very polite and generous of their store. My fav game was Lunar Lander. Awesome buttons for sale too. I advise everyone to buy 1 of each.

IT IS A MUST STOP BY IF YOU ARE IN SPRINGFIELD

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brittany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“FUN!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Spent an evening here with our 10 y/o son while visiting family in Springfield. After dropping 90$ at an arcade in our hometown for his birthday party, it was sure nice to pay a one time fee and play as much as you like. Some friends commented that a 'youngster' might not like the old games as much as we did, since he's used to his DS and playstation, but he assured us he had fun and we had to peel him away come bedtime.
You do have to pay 25/50 cents for pinball (50 cents for the better ones of course), but the awesome bathroom makes up for that small fee.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SummitDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Nostalgia of the birth of video games”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have seen a lot of good reviews and s coupe bad ones. To the bad ones I say, what is your problem?

This place was very inviting. It's five dollars at the door and for entertainment these days that is cheap. The souvenirs were cheap the food was cheap but all of good quality.

The owners were awesome to talk with and very friendly. One guy even let me have a Tron button for free just for being a fellow fan.

The games are awesome and is a very fun atmosphere.

I really enjoy 1984.

To the owners, I pray God blesses you guys immensely.

To the owners, I pray God blesses you his

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aarstrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“GREAT father & son place!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and our son went for an evening of celebrating our son's birthday. Our nine year old LOVES this place and says, "it's great, has a ton of games that you can't find anywhere else!"

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tamra T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1984 also viewed

 

Been to 1984? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing