We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western State Fair Inn
Nearby Hotels
$111
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
American Inn(Sedalia)
$65
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 7 Motel(Sedalia)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laci's Country Inn(Knob Noster)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Night Inn(Sweet Springs)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveler rating
98
75
40
18
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
75
40
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast buffetbaconindoor poolbest westernsolder hotelbreakfast was amazinghorse showan excellent hoteloutside doorsexterior roomhot tubvery nice placeroom was cleangreat place to stayeasy accesswould stay againfair grounds
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 239 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2012

First of all, do not let them put you in an outside access room near the big intersection of highway/business traffic. It is very very noisy, and even with the door closed i could hear the traffic. I asked for a room change, (which they gave me) and the A/C was not working. No other rooms were avalable they said, so i decided to go back to the original room and accept the unfortunate noise situation, until i tried to log onto the internet (which is complimentary, thank you) and the internet was down. After all the hassles of lugging the luggage back and forth between rooms, it just was too much and i cut my losses and asked for a cancellation, (which they gave me, and with no charges, thank you). They were a nice staff, but this was just too much.

Room Tip: Do not let them put you in an outside access room near the large intersection! Noisy traffic is very difficult to deal with!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuyTraveler324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at the BW in Sedalia with a baseball team for a tournament in Sedalia MO. There were two other youth teams and a college team staying at the same time as us. The staff was great, extremely helpful, courteous, and effecient. The pool was clean and well tended to. The common area's are especially nice for an older property. The breakfast buffet was great with many more selections than the standard hotel. Selections included bisquits & gravy, eggs, pancakes, bacon, sausage, cereals, fruits, and more. The breakfast attendant was very effecient and very courteous and happy, especially with 20 plus pre-teen boys all eating at the same time. The rooms show their age but have a decent decor. The AC in our room was not real strong, but the room was cool. The only issue we had was the shower did not work, water cames running out but not through any of the nozzles, so we had no pressure. It was too late to call the desk or switch rooms so we made due. Make sure if you get room 245 you check the shower right away so you can notify the front desk.

Room Tip: Outside rooms are quieter as the inside rooms are above the pool and noise starts early and does not end until after 10 PM.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank royalmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This hotel left a great impression. First of all, all the staff seemed genuinely extremely happy! The front dest duo were full of welcoming smiles and the breakfast waitress was amazingly helpful. This place is a great example of a less modern hotel which keeps great standards and sevice values. The pool and jacuzzi were clean and inviting after a hot mid west day in the sun. the breakfast was memorable. It is a rarity in hotels these days to have a well catered breakfast buffet with real cutlery and china and table service. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runningdevendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Although this is an older property, the amenities were up to date. Even though a church group of kids were there, my room was quiet and well appointed. A breakfast buffet was adequate for everyone and the coffee was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back for a quiet one.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claraIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and found the staff friendly, however this property is in need of updating! We paid MORE for an inside pool room, which we really didn't want. There were kids in the pool making all kinds of noise starting just after 7:00 AM!...and noise continued until well past 10 PM. The hot breakfast is just okay...sort of institutional tasting food. And if you like 'buffet' - you would probably like it. Certainly more food than most motels offer for a 'free' breakfast. BEWARE when you check out - check your bill! We were charged an extra $2 a day above our rate for something...I'm guessing it's a tip for the maid. We did not use the phone or have any additional charges that would be added to our bill...it just said 'hospitality' or 'lodging' or something like that next to the charge explanation - we did not go back to ask...didn't notice it until we were well down the road. That extra charge should have been explained to us. Deceptive. I believe Sedalia has better choices.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewe2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews