We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful legendary Hotel Bothwell” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sedalia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful legendary Hotel Bothwell”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

After our last HILTON farce disaster (please DO read MY REVIEW) we decided to venture to other hotels.

Last night we stayed at the legendary Hotel Bothwell located in Sedalia, Missouri and although updated, many of the original restored including bellhop elevator, brass mail box (Mail picked up today)! clean, comfy room, air conditioned, amazing friendly front desk employee personnel (Becca), yummy continental breakfast.

So much history throughout including visits of guests of Harry S. Truman, Bette Davis & Clint Eastwood.

I would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather O, General Manager at Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at our Hotel. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Hotel Bothwell. I will be sure to tell Becca about your kind comments. We take pride in making sure that the hotel is up to date, and has all the latest amenities, while still ensuring that we leave as many original items as possible. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Heather Offield
General Manager
Hotel Bothwell
(660)826-5588
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    72
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
37
69
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Loved this place! Everything was absolutely perfect, the ENTIRE staff was great and the room was beautiful and very clean! I found the size of the room just fine, I had a queen sized room. I especially loved the spa...I only spent a few hours there however I would have spent the ENTIRE DAY if I could...and on my next trip there I WILL! This is probably my best hotel experience...EVER!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank virginislandslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather O, General Manager at Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for all of the wonderful comments! I will be sure to let my staff know, and to make sure we keep up the good work! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our new Spa, and that you will be returning! We look forward to seeing you again!

Heather Offield
General Manager
(660)826-5588
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Tx
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Room was small which should not be unexpected due to the era of this building!! The building is redone beautifully. The continental breakfast had hot coffee, bagels and muffins that were most likely prepared in the restaurant. Best of all was the wonderful, welcoming staff who were very willing to help out in whatever way they could to make the stay even more pleasant. It was also very clean and well kept.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TxLepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fulton, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed for the Sheep sale held there each year. Extremely comfortable beds bonus breakfast we were not expecting was a welcome surprise. We will stay there again. Washer did not work one night but I was able to fix it by resetting the GFC plug.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan-Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel was so great I may go out of the way or back even when not on vacation! It was amazing from the moment you walk in the door the staff is friendly, great interior design, perfect rooms.. Perfect!! The best beds I've ever slept on super soft, nice space and quiet:) I will be back hopefully soon !!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patriciatate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Had a great time at Hotel Bothwell. My husband and I spent two nights there to take advantage of biking the Katy Trail. The room was too small for us and two bicycles, but they stored our bikes in their basement. The next time we come for the Katy Trail, we will stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I just needed a place to stay one night. I was driving to Tennessee. I was very happy with my stay. I stayed in a queen room. My only complaint was it was an extremely cold night and my room was drafty. I was in an end unit with 2 windows on a high floor. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. The bed was comfortable and the ambiance of the hotel is worth it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussiedogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedalia
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Sedalia Station
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sedalia
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN State Fair Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Truman Inn
Econo Lodge Truman Inn
#7 of 8 in Sedalia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
17.8 mi away
Laci's Country Inn
Laci's Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Knob Noster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
19.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Knob Noster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel

Property: Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel
Address: 103 E. 4th Street, Sedalia, MO 65301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Sedalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sedalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Bothwell
Clarion Sedalia
Clarion Collection Sedalia
Sedalia Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing