We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sedalia
Certificate of Excellence
Licking, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I am a travel nurse and work night shift at the local hospital. I would just like to say how awesome everyone has been at accomodating my night shift schedule (which isn't always easily understood). Anyhow, it's greatly appreciated. The rooms are always clean and cozy. The beds are amazing and I thoroughly enjoy the antiqueness of the scenery! Love the folks here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex W, General Manager at Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Emily O,

Thank you for telling us about your experience at Hotel Bothwell. As workers in the hospitality industry, we understand how tough working the 3rd shift can be, so we are more than happy to do everything possible to accommodate your needs around your work schedule. We appreciate your business and the kind things you had to say about our hotel. We look forward to serving you again!

Alex Whelchel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    73
    21
    12
    9
See reviews for
39
75
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Bothwell is lovely, a restored hotel in the historic town square in Sedalia. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. The staff are helpful and friendly, and the hotel is very close to the Sedalia depot on the Katy trail.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex W, General Manager at Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Frances D,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We always hear how lovely our beds are and I am very glad you agree! Please come back to visit us soon!

Alex Whelchel,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
299 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

we all know that historic properties like these do show their age and are tough to keep up to date - they have done some nice modernizing - great beds, pretty décor, etc - place is clean and safe - friendly service - however - they definitely need to talk to the city and get someone to shut the darn clock tower bell off (or at least stop it a t maybe 10PM) - all it did was keep me awake counting down how many minutes since the last time it woke me up ..... and the morning breakfast - for shame, they should definitely improve that -

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joisey-joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex W, General Manager at Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear joisey-joe,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. On behalf of the entire staff, I would like to apologize for the parts of your stay which were less than exceptional. We do, however, appreciate the positive feedback you chose to share and are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the historic aspect and comfort of our hotel. Please feel free to contact us if we can be of any assistance in the future. We hope to see you again.

Alex Whelchel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
159 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Bothwell is the place I choose to stay when on business in Sedalia. It is well maintained and elegant, with a true sense of history. The service is excellent, and has a restaurant on site, The Ivory Grille, which has very good food at a reasonable price.
I would recommend booking the queen room rather than the double bed room, as the double bed rooms are quite small by today's standards, and have showers only. It is fine for one person, but there is not much room to move around for two.
For a step back in time, stay at the Bothwell.

Room Tip: Queen rooms are better for 2 couples, double rooms are fine for solo travelers. Corner rooms have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex W, General Manager at Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Fritchoph,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Bothwell. We very much appreciate that you choose to stay with us again and again when visiting Sedalia. Please feel free to contact us if we can be of any assistance for an upcoming business trip. We look forward to seeing you again!

Alex Whelchel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Was totally surprised by the beauty of the Hotel Bothwell. It felt like I'd walked into the past. You could see the history as you looked around the lobby. I was totally impressed. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We had dinner in the Oak Room and the food, atmosphere and service were all exceptional. Best part of my stay? THE BED!!!! The pillow mattress made it the most comfortable bed I've slept in, in a hotel. I could've spent the whole next day watching the TV from bed. Alex does an exceptional job running this hotel and you would be very pleased if you took the opportunity to come to Sedalia and stayed at the Hotel Bothwell. I'll come back. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank BrianZ_STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex W, General Manager at Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear BrianZ_STL,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Hotel Bothwell and for the kind things you had to say about our staff. We are very pleased to hear that your stay was so enjoyable and we hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you for choosing Hotel Bothwell!

Alex Whelchel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viera, FL
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

WOW is about the best way to describe this Historic Hotel. To friends, I used the term "Historic Elegance".
The rooms are large enough you do not feel closed-in and are very clean and well appointed. The staff very friendly and helpful.
The dinning room, just off the lobby offers a wonderful selection of great tasting meals.
I had 30 people in an event which I organized and had our dinner in one of the private rooms adjacent to the dinning room. Let me say, this event was a seven day Katy Trail Tour where we already had some incredible meals. Chef Todd and Dinning Room Manager Better, with my approval, selected a four item menu for my guests. To say Chef Todd stepped up to the plate would be an understatement. Over 75% of my guests picked the meal at the Bothwell as the best meal of the entire trip. My suggestions would be the 17 spice pork loin and/or the Cedar Plank Salmon. Both outstanding.
Not only will I return next year with another group, I plan on making the Historic Bothwell and destination for a personal vacation as well. Yes, it is just that great.
Trust me, you will not be disappointed.
It's ALL Good!
Bubba

Room Tip: The Historic Bothwell offers various types of "bedding" options. Make sure to express you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubbaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex W, General Manager at Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear BubbaBee,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your group's experience at Hotel Bothwell. We are all very glad to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay and dinner in the Ivory Grille so much. It truly was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We look forward to seeing you again next year (and hopefully before then for your personal getaway)! Thank you for choosing Hotel Bothwell!

Sincerely,

Alex Whelchel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovettsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Ended up here because most hotels near Whiteman AFB were completely booked. Glad i came! Love the quaintness of keeping everything looking as close to when it was built in the 20s. Staff were extremely pleasant. Rooms were clean. The rooms are small compared to modern rooms but it was not a problem at all. In fact it felt cozy. Loved that the room was set up as it was in the 20s. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowdies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex W, General Manager at Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear rowdies,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Hotel Bothwell. We are very pleased to hear that your time with us was so enjoyable. We recently announced that we will be adding a spa (scheduled to be completed by mid-November). We hope you will come back to visit us and experience the exciting changes being made!

Sincerely,

Alex Whelchel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedalia
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Sedalia Station
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sedalia
2.1 mi away
Best Western State Fair Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Truman Inn
Econo Lodge Truman Inn
#6 of 8 in Sedalia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
17.8 mi away
Laci's Country Inn
Laci's Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Knob Noster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
19.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Knob Noster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel

Property: Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel
Address: 103 E 4th St, Sedalia, MO 65301-4401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Sedalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sedalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Bothwell
Clarion Sedalia
Clarion Collection Sedalia
Sedalia Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing