We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Management, Crooked Morals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sedalia
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sedalia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Terrible customer service, Their incompetence booked my reservation incorrectly & did not have room available to me as a Priority Club Platinum.

Promised to cancel the room & then charged my credit card. Lied to my face, and refused to refund the money for their mistake in booking that left me with no room.

Terrible people, terrible hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joejoe24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sedalia, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

We ask for your cancellation number and we would be happy to refund it , when you book a room you have till 6 pm to cancel day of arrival and that was not done so therefore we held the room for you so we had to charge .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 104 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed one night while away on business. I arrived late after a long day and checking in was fast which I appreciated. They gave me a menu for Colton's restaurant which is right next to the hotel and I was on my way to the room on 3rd floor. The room was really nice. The bed was super comfortable and big, microwave, small fridge, tv, nice sitting area with couch. The only negative was that the next morning, the shower didn't have hot water, only barely warm. I let it run for 5 minutes thinking that it would get hotter but it didn't. The tv remote was kind of fussy to operate, you had to point it in a specific direction. Other than that, it was a nice room and facility. Oh and Colton's has excellent food. They delivered and didn't even charge a delivery fee. They have the best rolls I think I've ever tasted. Bravo to them. I will stay here again. I think the hot water issue was probably a fluke or temporary issue. Nice place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sedalia, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for your kind review, the hot water issue was a temporary problem that was immediately fixed. Hope to see you back soon. Safe travels to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stay at the Holiday Inn for business and find the accommodations nice. There is good WiFi and a nice breakfast bar. The room is adequate with choice of bed sizes and a decent shower. The warm cookies are also great at check in. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sedalia, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for the kind words that were stated in your review. A lot of our guests look forward to the warm cookies especially after a long day at work. We try very had at making our guests feel at home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I always stay at this hotel while on business in Sedalia, most recently from March 4-6. The hotel is very comfortable, has a great and friendly staff and a good breakfast selection. All at reasonable rates. The hotel is close to numerous restaurants and shopping. Although I have never used the pool/hot tub, they always look clean and inviting. The fitness room is was not large but served the purpose for getting a little cardio.
It is a typical H I ex, but the staff make it that much better. Thanks again for the great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valvestem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sedalia, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We take pride in ourselves for being a very clean hotel and love when guests take special notice in this. Thank you for your kind words about our great staff. I will pass it along to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

At this hotel the staff; Geneva at the front desk and as always the effervescent woman who runs the breakfast dinning area, and any other staff member that I've engaged with have been a pleasure or at minimum professional and pleasant (this is a high bar indeed). House-keeping or cleaning staff took good care of my room without disturbing my personal items; i.e., things I've laid out on the desk or room table; they also followed the proper protocol when I left a towel hanging on the shower rod and did not take the soap that I had opened and would continue to use during my stay - however they did provide a new supply of soap, etc. in addition to the stuff I had opened/used. I've had multiple stays at this location and would recommend it to anyone traveling and stopping in Sedalia, MO.

Room Tip: For something local eat at Le Marie's Cajun restaurant and KEHDE's Barbeque. Then Colton...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sedalia, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you so much for the kind review. We have an amazing staff that we try very hard to keep up to the high standards that our guests expect from us. Again thank you and we can't wait for you to visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I stayed at this location on a two week business trip and enjoyed the clean modern rooms and friendly hotel staff. The morning breakfast was particularly good and the staff providing the morning meal brought a positive atmosphere to all those served. I really appreciated the fact that the breakfast was out and ready to be served by 6 a.m. This is a luxury not always offered by other places and really helps those who are on the go early in the morning. Great experience and would recommend a stay to anyone traveling or working in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor may be a bit quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sedalia, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us how we are doing .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

It is always a pleasure to check in at Sedalia Holiday Inn Express. Front desk lady is always pleasant and accommodating. Room is always perfect. The breakfast lady is the best there is. Everything always fresh, hot and breakfast room is spotless clean. This is the place we always stay on our occasional visits to the Sedalia area. This time caught in an ice storm, and got excellent delivery service form the very good Coltons next door.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sedalia, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your wonderful time here at the hotel and will pass on to the staff . Again thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedalia
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Sedalia Station
2.8 mi away
Hotel Bothwell, an Ascend Collection hotel
2.5 mi away
Best Western State Fair Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Truman Inn
Econo Lodge Truman Inn
#6 of 8 in Sedalia
151 reviews
24.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Warrensburg Station
24.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Warrensburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sedalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sedalia

Address: 4001 W Broadway Blvd, Sedalia, MO 65301-2491
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Sedalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sedalia
Price Range: $107 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sedalia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On your way through Missouri, be sure to stay at our choice Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sedalia Missouri , a 100% non-smoking facility located just two miles from the Missouri Fair Grounds. Whitman Air Force Base is just 15 minutes to the West. If arriving by train, the Amtrak station is just five miles away from our Sedalia accommodations. Our Sedalia Missouri hotel is conveniently situated and only five minutes from the town center. The Missouri Fairgrounds, is just minutes away, and is the site of the annual Missouri State Fair. Biking on the Katy Trail is another fun Sedalia activity, and a two-hundred mile stretch of the trail begins just five minutes from our Sedalia, Missouri hotel. If you re in town for business, take advantage of our quality meeting space, which accommodates up to 40 people. Colton's Steak House is located just next door and is able to provide room service and catering. The Liberty Park Convention Center is only three miles away and is a great place to host larger events. The Holiday Inn Express Sedalia hotel offers all the modern comforts of home in a historic community. Amenities include free high-speed wireless and wired Internet access, an indoor pool and a complimentary hot breakfast bar served daily. Book your reservation today and take advantage of our great Holiday Inn Express Hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sedalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Sedalia
Sedalia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing