We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's eve in Ste. Genevieve”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sainte Genevieve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Main Street Inn B&B
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at this beautifully restored B&B. Our room was lovely, spotless and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent prepared with very fresh ingredients. The common rooms are beautifully furnished with fireplaces and invite you to sit and read, etc. Our innkeepers were very respectful of our privacy but yet very available and accommodating. Would recommend this inn!

Room Tip: All rooms were spacious with private baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marge a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 53 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

This was our second trip to the Main St B&B, our first was a couple of years ago in January. We had a great time on both occasions as we saw Ste Gen as a sleepy town in the dead of winter and the now the hustle bustle during their annual Jour de Fete. The location for attending the fair was wonderful. Beyond the hubbub but just a short walk to all the festivities. We have been well pleased with our stays and both rooms were memorable. The house is immaculate and those helping Karen and Ken are also excellent at their tasks. We left for 9am breakfast and came back to a made bed and a tidy room with fresh towels. It was like fairies swooped in and straightened. This BandB is a winner, and Ste Gen is an excellent location for a getaway from the stresses of the City life. I recommend a stay to ease away life's worries

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MChristineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We were on a road trip between St. Louis and Rolla to collect our child from summer camp. We loved Main St Inn because it clearly was loved by its owner who have beautifully turned this architectural stunner into a warm and inviting respite. there are a few B&B's in this little town and we looked them all over because we have a passion for and lots of experience staying in them - and this was clearly the stand out. Karen is also an artist and has a charming gallery & studio that is the corner of the building that houses the inn. Her art is lovely. So is her cooking - the absolute BEST apple turnover I ever ate! She and Ken sat leisurely with us over a glass of wine as other guests arrived and we found them to be wonderful conversationalists & guides. This is truly the fine B&B experience one hopes to find. Oh! The inn is for sale too, so if you ever thought of having one, they have done it all right and its a bargain price for a turnkey business!

Room Tip: There is a lovely ground level garden suite with a huge whirlpool tub & fireplace if you don;t c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bnbkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The inn is very neat and well kept. The room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious, made with fresh ingredients. I would recommend this B & B!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank days612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

The Main Street Inn B&B, just like the rest of Ste. Genevieve is full of history.

This B&B is a restored hotel, built in the 1890's. The rooms are spacious, and each has a private bathroom. We stayed in the LaRose room, which was tastefully decorated to period. In addition to a comfy bed, there is a nice sitting area where you can read or enjoy a cold drink.

Some nice amenities: a refrigerator/freezer for guests, wine in the afternoon, free wi-fi, and a selection of games and reading material.

On the down-side: This B&B is close to a railroad track, which might be a problem if you are a light sleeper. Also, due to the age of the building and creaky floors, I could hear the people upstairs walking around at night.

Coffee was available around 6:30. Breakfast, served at 9:00, was delicious and adequate in portion size.

Overall, we had an excellent experience here and would not hesitate to stay at Main Street Inn B&B if we are ever in Ste. Genevieve again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abizeemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

My husband and I booked the Rendezvous Room at the Main Street Inn for our wedding night based on reviews from another review site. It was the best B&B stay we've ever had!

If you stay here and want a romantic time, definitely book this room. It's like a suite - large and very private. More private than any other B&B room I've ever been in. It's the only room in the wing and shares no walls with other rooms. You walk in and there is a queen sized bed, sitting area, gas fireplace, and a large 2 person jacuzzi tub. They even provide little electric powered candles around the tub! They offer you wine or drinks in the evening and have games, a fridge, and several parlors for your use. Everything is clean and nicely decorated.

The owner was very nice in booking the room and accommodated my dietary preferences (vegetarian) for the breakfast, which was very fancy. It was a custard with baked apples and cranberries. Yum!

Nestled in downtown Ste. Genevieve, you can walk to a lot of shops & restaurants from here. It's a great location. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rubyiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

My partner and I have visited Ste. Genevieve. MO many times over the years, but this time we decided to stay in a B&B in the heart of the Old Historic district. We settled on Main Street Inn. We were very happy we did!

Innkeepers Ken & Karen made us feel most welcome with their gracious demeanor. They immediately took us in, ushering us on a tour of the Inn. It was evident early on to see how much love and commitment they have invested and restored into the 19th Century hotel; how much detail and design talent went into the space since they purchased it in 1991. You instantly walk into the 19th Century with all the beautiful furniture and fine accoutrements. Each piece is lovingly placed - wonderfully accentuating each room with an aura of days long gone. You immediately throw off the stress of the big city.

Breakfast was simple and elegant; each morning we were served a delicious entrée with sides that was obviously prepared by someone who is familiar with taste and presentation. I was so impressed how Karen did not take insult when I declared that I do not eat breakfast (I know, I know!! Why a B&B then??) She simply gave me smaller portions - something that I truly appreciated.

Our room (La Rose) was Period-sparse; all adornment was Period, and just the right amount of décor made our resting periods all the more enjoyable. The bed was the most comfortable we have had in the many B&Bs we have visited. It was fun to assuage just who might have stayed in the room 100 years ago! History permeates each room of the Inn; one can almost hear the comings and goings of those long ago.

A very nice touch is the Wine/Coffee Hour at the end of the afternoon. It allowed you to sit and talk with the Innkeepers, who, as it turns out, are wonderful conversationalists!

Should you ever pass through Ste. Genevieve, MO., do yourself a favor and spend some time at The Main Street Inn. I guarantee you will leave feeling far better than when you first arrived!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank operahound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Main Street Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn B&B

Address: 221 N Main Street, Sainte Genevieve, MO 63670-1339
Location: United States > Missouri > Sainte Genevieve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sainte Genevieve
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1882, as the Meyer Hotel, the Main Street Inn B&B has long been considered one of Missouri’s finest bed and breakfast establishments. Having recently undergone an extensive year-long renovation, Proprietors, Susan O’Donnell and Patrick Fahey, along with Innkeeper, Jean Marie Rozier Sellberg, are thrilled to re-open the Main Street Inn B&B and provide a truly wonderful experience. Located in the heart of Sainte Genevieve’s Historic District, and surrounded by beautiful wine country, we are just a short one-hour drive from both St. Louis and Cape Girardeau, five hours from Chicago and just a little over four hours from Nashville. If you are looking for a relaxing and peaceful getaway, the Main Street Inn B&B is the perfect destination. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing