We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Eventually - Could be a Winning Place to Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Convention Center
Ranked #11 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Philly Area
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Eventually - Could be a Winning Place to Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in May. Had I known how much the renovations would impact the stay I would not have stayed. I was put on the 5th floor, seemed to be the center of the renovations. Construction noise throughout the day, lots of it. Jack hammering began around 10:00 in the morning. Construction caused the fitness center and pool closed. Construction dirt, dust, and white wallboard powder in the elevators and the hallways. Getting an elevator up or down was a huge issue as you were always 'battling" with the construction crews whose equipment and materials took over the space. Not sure of the safety of the area, the front door was locked in the evening, and the elevators on the first floor could only be used with your room card. All that being said: room was comfortable and spacious. Bedding quite comfortable. Hotel room included free wifi, free breakfast, hot food at dinnertime. Take away the construction issues and this would be at least a 4 star place to stay. Within walking distance to the Convention Center. A few restaurants and a movie theater two blocks away. The neighborhood very quiet at night, undergoing renewal with signs of new business moving in. The hotel is in the space of the old Farmer's Market, old looking building on the outside and looking much newer on the inside.

Room Tip: If construction still in progress ask which floor they are working on and stay on some other floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Convention Center, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that the renovation interrupted your stay. I have good news, we are nearing the end of the renovation, and this week we have completed the work that causes major disruption such as noise and interruption of services. Work on the guest room floors is expected to be fully completed by the end of May. I hope that you will join us again as our guest so you can enjoy our completed fresh, new look!

Warmest Regards,

Autumn Simerson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    143
    47
    9
    4
See reviews for
188
91
13
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Check in was easy as we were with a group. The hotel is historic and is under renovation - very clean room and comfortable bed. Our window overlooked the atrium which is not bad - some want to see outside but atrium was great as it make us feel like we had a balcony. Service was great - Free breakfast every morning which includes good eggs, sausage, potatoes and you can make your own waffles, just a great free breakfast another amenity is popcorn after 3pm and free cocktails (adult beverages) and Hors d’ oeuvre it was a very pleasant visit to a City so rich with history the staff was excellent, I highly recommend. Just a good experience all the way.

Room Tip: If you want to see outdoors ask for King bed most of those are on the outer perimeter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolatemidnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
543 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel is walkable to the main attractions and restaurants even though is near the highway, but it is ok.

During my stay, the hotel was in the process of a renovation on the 5 floor. I thought I was going to be awake, but surprisingly they kept the noise to a minimum and within the hours advertised.

The breakfast and 5:30 kick back was moved to the mezzanine which was served and provided in a Buffett setting. For breakfast they had scrabble eggs, sausage patties, yogurt, some whole fruit and coffee,teas. The 5:30 kick back had pasta, meatballs and hot dogs in addition to chips , soda and popcorn. That was nice!

Despite the long hallway (to the distance of the elevators), the rooms or walls were pretty thick. I was able to have a quite night. The room was appointed with old decor but it was spacious. I actually liked the arch window which is a nice character.

The shower head and mounted dispensers in the shower were amazing!!!

I would like to be back once they are done with the renovation. Hopefully the rooms are remodeled then.

Overall ok but every renovation is tough on keeping the hotel with warmth

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CecibelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel was so amazing I liked the pool i enjoyed the hotels that were in the hotel
The location is so amazing The cleaning service was awesome n i enjoyed it . i also loved to the snack/drinks they served . The staff was kind n generous n had some curosity . I was in a room with two beds an a microwave its amazing i loved my trip when i went

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emilee d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hotel is a renovated old building which i liked, but you could tell some things had age like the pool area and stairs down to pool(there are elevators too), pool is sloped 3ft-5ft. Room was a nice averaged size king room with light blocking curtains (at 9am it seemed like 5am). hotel is about two blocks from metrolink (light rail system to travel around St. Louis and vicinity). Free parking garage right next to hotel and Union Station is across the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Drury Inn is a cozy little hush away that is perfect if you have an expo or show that is going on at the Convention Center. The rooms are very cozy with easy parking ramp access. They have a pool and a small exercise room to unwind after a long day of seminars or walking the show room floor. The location is just a block from the center and a few blocks from the old St. Louis town pubs and hot spots. We have stayed at this hotel everytime we go to the Transworld Haunt Show and It has been great to stay there.

Room Tip: 4 floor is a straight walk out to the Car parkade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This property is in a good location, the lobby is nice, and the staff is friendly. The free breakfast is above average. The free dinner/snack/drinks they offer in the early evening are a very nice add-on. The rooms could have used some updating but that is currently underway (a complete remodel apparently). My only problem was the room cleanliness (two instances - myself and another couple I was with). They need to work on that. However, any issues I had were quickly addressed by the staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleister R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Convention Center, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Drury Inn & Suites Convention. You are correct that our property is under a renovation of the guest rooms and public space and is scheduled to be completed by the end of May. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our Free Hot Breakfast and our Free Evening Kickback as they are both very popular with our guests. Also, Drury hotels prides itself on great service and we are thrilled that our staff exceeded your expectations. We take all of our guests comments seriously and we will discuss your issue on quality at our next staff meeting. Please note that we have a Manager on Duty at all times to address any needs of our guests. Again, we thank you so much for your recent stay, your comments and we hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Convention Center

Property: Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Convention Center
Address: 711 N Broadway, Saint Louis, MO 63102-2106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#22 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#43 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotels carefully renovated the Union Market building in 1990, adding two additional stories for guest rooms. Built in 1925, original features were preserved in the hotel lobby and mezzanine meeting level. Only blocks from the Convention Center, the Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Convention Center is walkable from downtown attractions and Washington Avenue entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Drury Hotels Company, LLC and Travelocity so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Drury Inn And Suites St. Louis Convention Center
Drury Inn Saint Louis
Drury Inn Hotel
Drury Saint Louis
Saint Louis Drury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing