We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Amazing Hotel and Staff Anywhere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard St Louis Downtown West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard St Louis Downtown West
Ranked #58 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Most Amazing Hotel and Staff Anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel twice and will always stay here when in St. Louis. I called to make reservations and was treated from the beginning like family. We got to St. Louis and I somehow got lost. I called the hotel and Marvin answered and stayed on the phone with me until we arrived. He took the time to tell me exactly how to get there. Mattie was so wonderful. Gerald was always there to help if we needed anything. The General Manager, Ron, was very kind and helpful. On the second trip, Candace was my guide when our GPS went out. The rooms were so beautiful, clean, and comfortable. The food is wonderful and John went out of his way to serve us. I love the location. Margaret

Room Tip: Just let the staff know what you are looking for and they will take care of everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron W, General Manager at Courtyard St Louis Downtown West, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Margaret, I will make sure to share your comments with our staff. It is always good to see you and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    74
    44
    16
    6
See reviews for
60
46
17
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

It was clean, which to me is the most important. The room was spacious and had the usual Courtyard amenities. The location, though a short drive from downtown and other sites was a bit isolated and surrounded by a business building and empty lots that are a bit unkept. Room servicing was an issue - a coffee maker was just 1 coffee packet (no cream, sugar etc.). Though the cafe staff did give me some creams when asked. Only 1 large towel, had to go hunt down room service to get more. There was a nice patio area off the lobby.

Room Tip: Get rooms above the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TourQueen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I've always stayed at this hotel for St Louis Mardi Gras. The room and hotel was polished—clean. Staff was VERY helpful and willing to assist Breakfast was a snap. If you want something light, it's available immediately, anything else that has to be prepared, they'll have to prepare it—it takes just as long to prepare if you were doing it yourself at home; personally, let them do it and I'll just relax. I'll be staying there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron W, General Manager at Courtyard St Louis Downtown West, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback regarding our Bistro. Everything is prepped ahead of time so that the longest any item should take to produce is 8 minutes. I am glad you liked the breakfast, remember to check out our seasonal menu items that change every three months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have been to STL many times and have stayed in several different hotels around the downtown area. This was the worst one yet, and I won't be going back.

PROs
- there was always a taxi out front each morning, making travel easy
- this hotel isn't along a highway, and my room (and floor) were very quiet

CONs
- staff wasn't very polished or friendly (close to but not quite rude, and certainly not warm or inviting)
- the lone guy working the breakfast counter was in way over his head (possibly new, or understaffed?)
- the rugs/floors were dirty all week (trash, bits of paper, etc.-- even the elevator!?)
- they had the mini-fridge on the floor so the door wouldn't open without scraping the carpet
- the microwave is on top of the fridge (not steady) and blocks the HVAC unit
- both the mini-fridge and microwave were plugged into the desk lamp = less spots for plugging in laptop, cell phone, etc.
- red marks (paint? nail polish?) on BOTH sides of the bathroom door
- house keeping didn't restock the coffee properly

Room Tip: Go somewhere else?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berentski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron W, General Manager at Courtyard St Louis Downtown West, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I thank you for your review and apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I have relayed your comments to our housekeeping staff in an effort to improve our service. Marriott prides itself on excellent customer service and we clearly dropped the ball with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I visited St. Louis for our first time this past week. We spent two nights at the Downtown Courtyard by Marriott. We were struck by the incredible service and the cleanliness of this hotel. The location on Market Street was perfect. We were able to visit the downtown attractions (Arch, Busch stadium, Union Station etc.) as well as Forest Park.

We highly recommend this hotel for anyone searching for a great place to stay at a reasonable price in downtown St. Louis! It's hard to find a place like this in big cities. If we are ever again in St. Louis this is where we will be staying!

Room Tip: Look for "starvin' Marvin." He's the best hotel staff person we've ever witnes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmitchell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron W, General Manager at Courtyard St Louis Downtown West, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the rave review, we look forward to your future stays. I will pass your comments on to our staff as I know they appreciate the kind words as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

For at least the past 5 years we have attended the Missouri Valley tournament at the Scottrade Center in St. Louis. Each and every year we stayed at this Coutyard. We are treated like valuable customers every time we arrive. Front desk staff are friendly and pleasant. Our first floor room was clean and comfortable. Complimentary coffee in the lobby is very nice. The restaurant seemed a little overwhelmed the first day or two. Our wait for breakfast was lengthy. Staff are all helpful. One of the maintenance staff offered to help me find the ice machine. Overall the hotel is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Makes sense to stay here. Just West of Downtown and minutes away from Forest Park, the zoo, and the Brewery (FREE admissions). Rooms Clean-Staff Friendly Only thing was our room was in the back by the pool which made it noisy till it closed. If you want quite, ask to stay in a different section. Did we mention FREE Parking!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandit5438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Grand Center / Midtown
Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown
Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown
#30 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard St. Louis Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard St Louis Downtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard St Louis Downtown West

Property: Courtyard St Louis Downtown West
Address: 2340 Market St, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2517 (Formerly Courtyard St. Louis Downtown)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard St Louis Downtown West 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard St Louis Downtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. Louis Downtown Hotel Saint Louis
Courtyard Hotel Saint Louis
Courtyard Saint Louis
Saint Louis Courtyard
Saint Louis Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing