We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Convenient to SLU” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard St Louis Downtown West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard St Louis Downtown West
Ranked #56 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
East Coast, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Convenient to SLU”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for a conference at SLU. Very good location, free parking, and was within walking distance (about 15 minutes) to where I had a meeting on campus at Il Monastero.

Front desk staff were friendly, responsive, and knowledgeable. My room, located on the first floor, was very well-maintained, and felt new. Living area and bathroom were spotless. The room itself was quite spacious, with a sitting area at the foot of the king size bed, an HDTV, and work desk. Fixtures were modern with LED bulbs. If you have stayed in a more newly renovated Residence Inn, you will recognize them as well as the shower head.

Speaking of shower, bathroom toilet and shower is separated from sink by a door, which is nice if two are trying to get ready. Hot water was ample, and water pressure was excellent. As I said before, all was very clean. Amenities included Paul Mitchell shampoo and conditioner, and separate soap for bath and face. Towels were not as plush as a higher-end Marriott, but absolutely fine.

Room was quiet enough, and noise from adjacent rooms was not noticeable. Property has a pool, but I did not use. Bed had four pillows of various firmness. Linens were not anything special, but clean and comfortable.

There is a simple bistro on property, but I walked across the street to a sports bar/restaurant called Syberg's. Food was okay, and service was just fair, but that's another review.

Overall, I was impressed with this hotel. It was more than adequate for my business stay, and was better than other Courtyards in which I have stayed regarding its service, cleanliness, and "new" feel in the room. I would certainly stay here again if staying in the downtown St. Louis area.

Room Tip: My room was 147, and was just next to another exit tone parking lot. This put me only steps away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Advisor-by-Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron W, General Manager at Courtyard St Louis Downtown West, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay. The staff and I are really excited about our recent renovation and feel we have one of the best products downtown. I will pass these comments on to our staff as well. Hope that you stay with us again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    74
    44
    16
    6
See reviews for
60
46
17
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently attended the Missouri Valley Tournament at The Scottrade Center in Downtown area of St. Louis. We stayed three nights at The Courtyard Marriott at Market & Jefferson St. In nice weather this is a short walk to the Scottrade Center. In rainy weather there is a shuttle that stops across the street to take you there for $2.00 each person. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is available in the lobby and there is a nice lounging area in the lobby for visiting, reading, waiting or just enjoying the TV there. The hotel was very clean, quiet and has been recently updated. Very nice stay! I'm sure we will return in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for Atrium view which also allows a skyline view of downtown St. Louis. There are Atrium views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug61704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron W, General Manager at Courtyard St Louis Downtown West, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your nice words regarding your recent stay for the MVC tournament. I will share your comments with our staff as they take pride in giving great service. Our staff is very knowledgeable about the area and are eager to help in any way they can. We hope to see you next year during the tournament.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

this hotel is located to so much in St. Louis. it's minutes from museums, interstates, shopping and restaurants. It's clean and has good service. It has a grill for breakfast or evening meal. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron W, General Manager at Courtyard St Louis Downtown West, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words about our hotel. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff during our next stand up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
277 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This staff is outstanding. They do everything they can to make you feel comfortable, take care of whatever small issues arise, and make your stay as pleasant as possible. For example, when I asked if the hotel had postcards, (which they didn't), Marvin (staff) volunteered to buy some postcards to have them available for me the next day. Marvin purchased excellent, quality postcards, better than I could have found. How is that for customer service! Also, there is a food and bar area which comes in handy for breakfast, or when you are too tired to go out to dinner. Rooms are normal Marriott Courtyard...clean, no problems. The parking is free; late night comings and goings are safe with parking security on site.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coffeecup1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron W, General Manager at Courtyard St Louis Downtown West, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I will make sure to recognize Marvin for his outstanding service. We are very happy to have a newly renovated rooms product and our staff is excited to provide excellent service and go above and beyond because they realize everyone has a choice when it comes to where to stay and service will make us the top pick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
192 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Pretty good place. They've apparently re-done the first floor rooms - said I was the first to stay in the room since it was updated. Room did look updated - but had the same artwork as other's I'd stayed in, so it made me wonder what the old rooms looked like. Room was very clean, staff was nice, no problems there. Had a very nice rolling desk and chair that was superb for pulling out and doing work. Good bathroom/sink arrangement. Small loveseat if needed. Patio door on first floor was a bit "leaky" - the wind whistled through it all night, but the room was warm enough and comfortable.
I had forgotten that there was no free breakfast (I've been spoiled by their Residence Inns). They do have a "lunch counter" type deal (they call it a "Bistro") where you can get hot food for breakfast and dinner, plus drinks. Prices were a tad high, but they have a monopoly - really nothing around that you can really walk to. Parking is free, as is the wireless internet.
Lobby and eating area was pretty nice and must have wireless too - there were always a number of people socializing and working in the area.
Overall, you'll probably be happy staying here, but I think I'd go back to the nearby Residence Inn to get the breakfast next time.

Room Tip: They told me the first floor had just been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frozen-in-MN-US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron W, General Manager at Courtyard St Louis Downtown West, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The staff is very excited about our newly done rooms and think they have improved our product substantially. It is true that many of the Courtyards around the country have the same interiors as this is the directive of the brand to promote consistency. We also wanted to let you know that breakfast included rates are available and you would be able to order from our Bistro with those rates. It is a very simple process and you would be able to enjoy a cooked to order breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had tickets to the Fox - picked this hotel because of location. Free parking. Lobby has been remodeled to the new market look. We did eat at the Bistro (soup) before the performance. Computer in the lobby were free to guest - used them to check email. Front Desk staff very friendly - helpful with directions.

The hotel is under renovation from 8am to 5pm. We arrived around 3:30, so we did have an hour and a half of some type of drilling above us. But the front desk did warn us of this.

Loved the room. King bed, sofa, flat screen tv. Ours had a mini fridge.

The pool and whirlpool looked very nice - we didn't have time to enjoy them.

Will definitely stay again because of the location, condition of the hotel, and the staff.

Room Tip: Hotel is under construction, after 5pm not an issue. We had a ground floor room which was located a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cruisetmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel is some blocks up from downtown and the river, so you get free parking. Honestly, we didn't see the need to stay immediately downtown; it was very convenient and easy to get to. The staff was very friendly and helpful, genuinely so. That might change when the hotel is full; it was practically empty during our stay.

The lobby was very nice in the same style as the other Courtyard remodels: cafe for breakfast and supper, comfortable seating areas, big screen TV in a corner, and the shop with food and drinks. It's a great space if you need to meet business associates or unwind after a long day.

The rooms were a tiny bit worn, but still up to date and very clean. For my preferences, the bed was a little too firm, but not unacceptably so. The towels were the worst part of the room; they were thin and scratchy. Also, the king bed came with 4 small pillows that were too smooshy. I should have asked for more/better pillows. The small couch is convenient when spending extra time in the room. The exercise room had 4 machines, so if the hotel got busy you might have to wait.

Room Tip: Some rooms probably have a nice view of downtown and the arch; ours was on the second floor and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eilers78751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Pear Tree Inn Union Station
#23 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Grand Center / Midtown
Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown
Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown
#28 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard St. Louis Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Downtown
St. Louis City Center Hotel
St. Louis City Center Hotel
#86 of 121 in Saint Louis
3.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard St Louis Downtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard St Louis Downtown West

Property: Courtyard St Louis Downtown West
Address: 2340 Market St, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2517 (Formerly Courtyard St. Louis Downtown)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard St Louis Downtown West 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard St Louis Downtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. Louis Downtown Hotel Saint Louis
Courtyard Hotel Saint Louis
Courtyard Saint Louis
Saint Louis Courtyard
Saint Louis Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing