We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average business hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard St Louis Downtown West
Ranked #55 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Average business hotel in a good location”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Everything is up to standard here. I stay at a lot of Courtyards and this compares to the rest of the brand, but is generally above average. No free breakfast, but a large counter that serves as an abrieviated cafe, bar and convenience store. I was surprised by some reviews here, I spend 40 or so nights a year in similar hotels, and this one is exactly as I expected. Not super near to downtown, but a long walk/cheap cab, and unlike downtown spots, free parking. Definitely ask for a courtyard room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spiil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    87
    47
    17
    7
See reviews for
68
49
20
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pine Bush, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Very clean and updated lobby. The food they make smells delicious and the breakfasts were very good. It is a decent location at most a 2 mile distance to all major sights in St. Louis me and my wife walked everywhere. Affordable pricing and run of the mill rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mo
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The staff was helpful, with directions and places to go. However, most of the time when I went to the lobby no-one was at the front desk, and I had to wait a few minutes. Not sure if they had a system in place that could see a customer waiting, it just felt strange. I prefer a nice room vs a lobby because thats where I spend most of my time when I'm not out. The towels were so hard and old I started to go to Wal-mart to buy some. The room did not have a clean smell that I would expect from a Marriott hotel. The elevator was noisy, seem like some repairs are needed. I liked the GPS system in the lobby on the wall and the location is good. I was too scared to take a bath so I took a shower because you can tell that housekeeping just do the minimum. The worse experience was my towels had old blood stains on them. I would have rated this hotel higher if it wasn't for the towels, musty smelling room and housekeeping knocking on my door at 9 o'clock to clean the room. I would like to point out I met an employer who said he loves his job and that the employees and employer are good people to work for! I hope they do some updates to the rooms, get some new towels and I might give them another chance if I get a good rate.

I

Room Tip: Higher floor usually have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldup12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there last night. The room was decent and the bed was comfortable. The elevator does make noise when it opens and closes. We were woken up around 430am when we saw a cockroach crawling on a wall by the bed. It was quite a huge roach. We got ready as soon as we could. I informed the front lady about the incident and requested a call from management. I haven't heard from them as of this evening. This is obviously disappointing considering that my wife and I love the Courtyard brand. If you are looking for a nice hotel downtown, there are plenty others that I will choose in the future.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank guyscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield IL
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Had a free night and we were in town for a Cubs/Cards game. The lobby is nicely updated but once you get to your room, it is sadly needing a remodel. The a/c unit is noisy and the management must control the thermostat in the middle of the night because it got very hot in the room. Pillows were bad--my husband and I tossed ad turned all night. Front desk staff was very helpful and courteous. Parking is free but it is not really close to walk anywher. Cab to downtown is $10 each way. While the bistro breakfast sounds delicious, it is microwaved egg sandwiches. Why spend $8 for a breakfast sandwich you can get at Subway or McDonalds for 3 bucks?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grey_Goose_Up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Went to St Louis for a James Taylor concert July 19, 2012. Stayed at this hotel. Room was comfortable. Internet access did not work entire time we were there, 3 days! Had to find a McDonalds to use ipad! Requested drinking glasses that room cleaning person failed to change out, never delivered. Elevator made a horrible rumbling sound every time we used it. On the positive side. Close to many attractions, free parking and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tulsatraveler32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Great location. Lobby and restaurant were good. Nice courtyard area to sit outside. Rooms need to be updated to marriott's standards. Showing some wear. Staff friendliness made up for shortcomings in room updates.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Grand Center / Midtown
Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown
Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown
#33 of 120 in Saint Louis
397 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. Louis Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard St Louis Downtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard St Louis Downtown West

Property: Courtyard St Louis Downtown West
Address: 2340 Market St, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2517 (Formerly Courtyard St. Louis Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard St Louis Downtown West 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard St Louis Downtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. Louis Downtown Hotel Saint Louis
Courtyard Hotel Saint Louis
Courtyard Saint Louis
Saint Louis Marriott
Saint Louis Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing