We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for downtown St. Louis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard St Louis Downtown West
Ranked #57 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value for downtown St. Louis”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This is one of the best deals for downtown St. Louis. Free (and convenient) parking, free Wi-fi, clean rooms and reasonable. The only thing missing was a free breakfast, but I haven't found that at any of the downtown hotels anyway.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rweissjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    81
    46
    17
    7
See reviews for
65
47
19
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed here while in town for a wedding. It was a great location to everythng we did.

Service was great and room was comfortable. The bed was great.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, IA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We recently spent two nights here over the weekend. I am a frequent traveler- usually spending several nights a year at Hamptons, H I Express and H I, and BW. We had never stayed at a Courtyard, and, based on this singular visit, it is highly unlikely I would ever consider it again. So here is the good- free parking, courteous staff, decent location, exceptionally clean fitness and pool area, pleasant lobby. Unlike others we found the bedding to be very comfortable- even a bit firm...maybe we had newer mattresses. The interior rooms have a balcony and overlook the "courtyard". Exterior have no balcony. Room decor and amenities are a bit sparse- no refrigerator or microwave- not good at this price. Another huge annoyance is the lack of any type of free breakfast- seriously...even Super 8's manage to offer a decent continental breakfast. In my opinion there was nothing about this hotel that would differentiate itself from a less expensive or comparatively priced Fairfield Inn (same parent company), Holiday Inn express, or even Days Inn. The hotel is an easy walk to Union Station, but in inclement weather this point is moot.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readittoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

At the last minute we obtained tickets for game two of the World Series, so we wanted a room close to Busch Stadium. The room was pricey but understandable given the game. It was an average and well used Courtyard room. It needs a bit of a deep cleaning in spots. The lobby was nice and the staff pleasant. It was a good 25 minute walk from the hotel to the stadium, but close to Union Station. If I had more flexibility and time, I probably would not stay here again. But it suited our needs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Extremely disappointed in this hotel. The lobby has been recently remodeled and has a fun vibe to it. However, it was difficult to ever find anyone at the desk for assistance. The room was just old and smelled like mildew. There were several dents in the walls of the room and the bathroom door from items hitting the surfaces repeatedly and attempts to paint over them. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, with very soft mattresses, resulting in one sinking to the floor when sitting on the bed. We had coupons for breakfast with our room rate, and the breakfast at the bistro was very good, but overly pricey without the coupon. I will choose another location for future St. Louis visits.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

In town for one night in July for big concert.

Well the hotel staff was great. Everyone smiled and was real nice. They have the new lobby with TV's all over the place. Sadly no breakfast. I don't know why this brand is the only Marriott brand with no b-fast. We stayed on points and had a first floor room, per my request.

The hotel seemed a little older than some we have been in. For the business traveler getting 10x MR points, maybe that is why people stay there.

The bed was ok and it was easy to get the room the right temp, even when it was HOT outside.

I don't if it is still the case, but there is a lot of road construction going on around the hotel and we had to go west and turn around on expressway before getting back east since the ramps were closed. I would ask how to get back to the east if you stay there and see construction.

Solid hotel, but it makes it a pain to go find b-fast. The prices there seemed high. We bought stuff on the way back, once we found our way back.

Parking was free and no problem to find spot. LONG walk to this hotel from downtown, but doable.

Solid clean Marriott, but I would expect more from this brand. The staff's excellent attitude was the highlight.

Oh one more thing. They have a good snack selection that is not badly priced for a midnight snack/treat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdfxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed for one night for attending a show.

The first impression of the hotel is very good. The hotel lobby is very modern and new. The check in staff are very nice and quick.

The room is quite large with a couch and LCD TV. The bed is comfortable and the internet is free!

The down side: The room seems remodeled from a old room maybe? The smell when you first walk into the room is terrible, I have to turn on the AC to clean the air a little bit. The bath room area is a little dated too.

The lobby area has a snack vending area which is very nice, and I can just walk down the lobby to buy some milk to drink before sleep.

Overall, a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Grand Center / Midtown
Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown
Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown
#33 of 121 in Saint Louis
389 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. Louis Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard St Louis Downtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard St Louis Downtown West

Property: Courtyard St Louis Downtown West
Address: 2340 Market St, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2517 (Formerly Courtyard St. Louis Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard St Louis Downtown West 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard St Louis Downtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. Louis Downtown Hotel Saint Louis
Courtyard Hotel Saint Louis
Courtyard Saint Louis
Saint Louis Marriott
Saint Louis Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing