We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Theatre”
Review of The Fox Theatre

The Fox Theatre
Ranked #7 of 254 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Fabulous Fox Theatre first opened in 1929 as a movie palace in William Fox's motion picture empire. The theatre was reopened in 1982, and today it is one of the most exquisite venues in the country to enjoy live touring Broadway shows, concerts, and comedians. We hope you'll visit us for an upcoming show or one of our guided tours!
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spectacular Theatre”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Saw West Side Story but the real show stopper was the theatre itself. Awesome

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank kimsmith5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    96
    18
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Needs to be updates badly.”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Love to see shows here but, if I can't get a seat close I won't go. Waste of money to not get a good seat in the middle and no more than 15 rows back. Desperately needs to be update and remodeled.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, IL
Level Contributor
307 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Oh what a Majestic Place”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Wow!! I never get enough of the Fox.......it is great and ornate and really each time you go you see something else. Plus they have great shows and entertainers. Just saw Barry Manilow last night and what a show it was. Ushers are nice and I believe volunteers..

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank susiejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Take A Tour”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The Fox Theatre is like many old theaters but it is special to us in St. Louis. It has been the place we have seen many stars through the years. It now has many Broadway type performances. It has an eye-catching interior. If you get the chance, take the tour. You actually see where the stars have had their dressing rooms. Also many, many actors have left their name or show's name on the walls. Some of the graffiti is amazingly beautiful. This is located near St. Louis University and if you are in the area, stop in to see their Chapel.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank St_LouisMaltese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ornate Turkish architecture.”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I remember the moving, Escape from New York, and how sad the Fox Theater looked at that time. We are lucky the woman who spearheaded the reconstruction was able to do this marvelous work.

Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Fox Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing