We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in St. Louis!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Ranked #5 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2009

If you're looking for a perfect hotel experience, check out the Four Seasons in St. Louis. It is nice to know that service still survives! From the moment my wife and I checked in we were treated like royalty. Our room was great- well appointed, extremely clean and very comfortable. The decor is modern but not too "out there." The bathroom was especially nice with the hidden TV in the bathroom mirror. We ordered room service twice and were impressed with the presentation, quality and timeliness. Both of their promise delivery times were exactly as they had said. The Casino that is attached can easily be avoided. We did a quick walk through out of curiosity but wouldn't return. A lot of hotels today have "nice rooms" and advertise a 5 star experience, but the Four Seasons truly delivers an experience that is worth every penny. My wife and I can't wait for our next trip to a Four Seasons Property.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelguy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,375 - 1,381 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2009

I am “Seasoned” luxury hotel consumer on an overnight business trip in St. Louis. One word sums up the entire experience: “stellar”
From the valet, to check-in, to restaurant staff (hostess, servers, bartenders, etc.) to concierge, to Spa attendants, to massage therapist – everyone made you feel respected and executed their respective jobs to the highest level. I’m telling you, this hotel it top-of-the-line. It’s brand new (twelve months), with drop-dead modern design (a Four Seasons hallmark) and high-end furnishings, nothing is par-for-the course. It’s housed within the same building as Lumiere Place Casino – a relatively higher end casino – discreetly located right off of the second floor. No need to wear a coat.

I had lunch and dinner in Cielo, both were exemplary. Even the lunch hostess who obviously saw I was dining solo asked if I would care for a newspaper to read. Of course I would. How simple and how appropriate was that?

My massage from Karen was probably one of the most professional –ever. The heated eucalyptus towels, the fragranced oils, the pillows, lighting, music, and a “seasoned” professional massage therapist summed up an hour of pure de-stress.

I will definitely return, hopefully with someone that I can share the gorgeous surroundings and pampering with. This hotel is truly a five-star property that all other can learn from. Keep up the good work Four Seasons!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank achicagonative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

THE best hotel in STL! period.
Wonderful beds, spacious baths and rooms.
Great pricing - under $250.00/night!
Fun area to stay in.
The only problem was waiting for a cab... sometimes took over 30 minutes. But, this appears to be the case everywhere in STL, not just the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for the Fourth of July Festivities. If you are even thinking of visiting St. Louis, this hotel will seal the deal. The location is fantastic...our room had fantastic views of the Arch. The rooms were large, well-appointed...what you expect from Four Seasons.

The hotel has a large elevated terrace with great views of the Arch. On Fourth of July, we had dinner (a Four Seasons Barbeque) on the terrace and then stayed to watch the fireworks. The terrace was the perfect setting for the fireworks...a nice glass of wine, family, and fireworks with the Gateway Arch in the background. Does life get any better than this?

I highly recommend a visit to St. Louis and a stay at the Four Seasons.

Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
3  Thank Luxury1Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

The hotel was more than what we expected for a St. Louis hotel.

Positives: For $175 a night it was well worth the stay. The rooms are very spacious and well appointed. Staff was very prompt and courteous. We asked for a bucket of ice and it was delivered to our room within 5 mins. The bed was very comfortable and the tv mirror was a nice touch to the bathroom.

Negative: The locations is probably one of the worst spots in downtown. The supposed arch view is a side view. The view to the left is of the Miss River and East St. Louis. The parking lot is directly below. The view to the left is the Edward Jones Dome. The Four Seasons should not have attached itself to the Lumiere Casino. The Casino is just like any other local casino. A lot of riff raff.

I would stay there again for another special evening. The outside pool/bar area looked awesome, but it was not open for the season.

Cielo: We ate there Jan 3rd to celebrate my wife's birthday. The restaurant is very modern and chic in appearance. We arrived early for our reservation at 7pm and were promptly seated. The restaurant was very slow at this hour. The dress ranged from jeans to suits. I would not worry about what you wear as long as you are dressed appropriately for your evening.
We were promptly greeted by our waiter who was less than enthusiastic. We had to ask him about the specials. We started out with the Buffalo Mozzarella, Prosciutto, Extra-Virgin Olive Oil. Nothing extraordinary. My wife ordered the 8 oz. Prime Filet Mignon, Potato Purée, Rapini and I ordered the 14 oz. Grilled Berkshire Pork Chop, Wilted Chicory, Bosc Pear, Port Reduction. The pork chop was very good. My wife thought the filet was good but not as good as Annie Gunn's or Stoney River.
The view is nothing to be impressed by. While the hotel was awesome, the restaurant is nothing to be remembered for. I would not return to this place for dinner. The food was definitely not worth the price.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whoop1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2008

My husband and I wanted a little getaway after Christmas and there was a wonderful weekend rate at the Four Seasons. We had not been to Lumiere Place yet so found this a great opportunity to do so.

Just a piece of info, we went into the parking garage behind the front of the building and went up to the 2nd floor and parked by the elevator to the hotel (straight back). It was free so we saved on the valet parking. Take the elevator to the 8th floor and there is check in. Everyone at the hotel that we encountered was nice and very helpful. They even upgraded us to an arch view when asked.

The room is beautiful. My favorite in St. Louis has been the Westin, but now Four Seasons is our fav! It has blond colored wood, a great desk/table with two chairs, lots of drawers and lighting, and the bathroom is nice with marble, rain shower head and a tv in the mirror. There was also a nice mini bar with wine glasses. Only drawback is the refrigerator is full and the items are sensored so if you move them you'll get charged. I was unable to put in some leftovers from my dinner. Also, there is no coffee pot but we went down to Peet's near the casino to get cappuccinos.

We also had a great time at the casino but unfortunately didn't do well on the slots. We had lunch at Asia which was awesome (Vietnamese spring rolls, pork friend rice & shrimp tempura), had dinner at Sleek and I loved the Kobe beef, the truffled mashed potatoes were to die for, the corn parmesan casserole was wonderful and the chocolate souffle delicious! We also had chocolate covered raspberry martinis (yummmmmy) at the piano bar. We were somewhat disappointed at the Burger Bar. It was quite expensive for a lunch ($38 before tip with just 1 beer) and I didn't find the burger made with Black Angus, mushrooms and swiss cheese, to be anything special.

Can't wait to go back to the FS in summer to enjoy the outdoor pool and spa!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mom2nikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2008

We'd not had a chance to sample the new FS in St. Louis and a business trip gave us the opportunity. The structure is a terrific piece of construction and design. A good valet parking arrival helps and this one was no exception. Reception is on the eighth floor and the elegant architecture (very modern) is quite a change from many otherwise pretty-good hotels. The entire effect is extremely pleasing (provided you like glass and stone and lots of both). Checkin was smooth and our room faced south to The Arch. The views to the south and the east (the Mississippi River) are very nice. The Metro rail link that connects to the STL airport is about two blocks away, so a car to get there is not necessary, however it's somewhat removed from the rest of downtown.

The rooms are very modern in design and have all the little touches one expects in a luxury property. One very welcome addition is the adequacy of power receptacles at the desk where the internet is. Surprisingly, (compared to, say, a competitor like Peninsula Hotels) they charge $10 a night for internet access. I had clicked on the icon before I realized it wasn't complementary, but the front desk handled the removal very courteously.

Dinner at Cielo, the main restaurant, was delicious and very well-prepared, as one would expect in a FS property. Service for dinner was very good.

The guest room had good blackout draperies, excellent (plasma?) flat-screen TV and superb bedding. The bathroom has a shower comparable to the Peninsula Chicago (high praise in our household) but the bathtub fills very slowly. It's a biig tub and the problem is either small piping or low water pressure, or both. There's a separate room for the toilet. Good towels, soaps, the normal FS amenities. Housekeeping, at least in our room, was excellent.

The only bumps came the next morning: breakfast service was irregular, and there seemed to be a lot of inefficient moving around and missed opportunities for excellent service and there were not that many breakfast guests. Orange juice wasn't poured unti requested, long after the order that included it was taken. One of the breads was missing from the order and had to be separately requested. The very standard check-back after the main breakfast dishes had been delivered was a loooooong time coming. With some more training and more eagle-eyed oversight at breakfast (different waiters from the evening) they'll get it fixed. They are clearly trying, and that counts for a lot. The breakfast food was excellent. The prices are not surprising for a FS or equivalent but it's pretty hard not to hit $60 for a full breakfast for two.

The part that was very baffling was that at checkout well after 8AM there were no $1 bills at the checkout cashier. None. Zip. And this in a property next to.........a CASINO. It's supposed to be the "little things" that count in a FS operation. There was no way to break a $5 bill, according to the reception desk. That's unbelievable. And they already knew they were out when we checked out, so it was not a surprise. The car was brought up immediately upon being requested.

Service overall was very cheerful. Some of the art in the public spaces, and the lighting of the art, is truly spectacular. The overall design and experience is excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Insideinfo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#10 of 121 in Saint Louis
820 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis

Address: 999 N 2nd St, Saint Louis, MO 63102-2571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $247 - $707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bringing new cachet to the downtown riverscape, Four Seasons rises above the city minutes from the central business district. Enjoy unrivalled access to stadium sports and the Lumière Place Casino, right downstairs. Then escape into Four Seasons tranquility – where views of the Gateway Arch and the Mississippi are as big as the Midwestern sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons St Louis
Four Seasons Saint Louis
Saint Louis Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing