We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A decent stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Ranked #43 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A decent stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark on the night of July 3rd. I requested a room in the West Tower simply because I had read to many of the horror stories about the debacle that is the elevators for the east tower. Luckily upon check in I was able to be granted a room in the West Tower. Check in went fine, and the lobby was rather busy. I could not figure out why a fire was going in the lobby when we are in the middle of a record breaking heatwave, but whatever floats your boat. Our room was 736, and was in good shape, everything was tidy, the thing I can never figure out with this hotel is why there are not refrigerators in the rooms. The view of our room was most the roof top of Mike Shannon's restaurant, but we could see around the corner to the northwest corner of Busch Stadium. We were in town for a Cardinal game and the hotel's proximity to Busch Stadium is what draws us back time and again.

After the game was over and we made our way back to the hotel the lobby was a disaster with people waiting for the elevators to the east tower. I am glad I did not have to deal with that. The one thing I did not plan on was that the music from Shannon's Outfield would get cranked up even higher after the game was over. It was easily heard in our room over the sound of the television, and it played well into the night. I am simply glad I did not have an early flight to catch as it did keep me from sleeping for quite some time.

All in all, the hotel is average, we did not eat at the restaurant in the hotel, valet parking is $25 a day which is pretty high, but this is St. Louis.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amskjd2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurtinJ, Manager at Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We certainly appreciate it. The elevators can be a challenge directly prior to a Cardinals game and directly after a game ends. We are always mindful of that and always have Management presence to help talk with guests and facilitate the movement of our guests. Other than those times, our elevators are very reliable and adequate for normal demands. But with so many people coming and going at the exact same time, not only to guest room floors, but also to the ever popular 360, it does pose a challenge for brief stretches. As for the music from Shannon's, the next time you're with us, if you ever experience that again, please do not hesitate to share that with us immediately. We often have to request that they turn the music down and they are mostly accommodating neighbors when it comes to those requests! We do, however, apologize that you had to experience that! And we do, of course, hope to see you return soon! We'd love to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    775
    535
    270
    141
See reviews for
627
591
120
1,009
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel was in a great location and the view of the ballpark from my room was incredible. Service was slow at best and I will allow the record breaking heat to serve as an excuse for the noticeable lack of interest from staff in helping what looked to me to be a fairly large number of frustrated hotel guests. Employees seemed far more concerned with catering to the needs of locals and tourists wanting to visit the rooftop bar to watch the baseball game then they were in helping guests avoid the 15 minutes long lines just to get an elevator back to the room. The bartenders, Kendra and MaryLynn, were a nice diversion and made great company after a long day. They were great. I only stay in Hilton properties when I travel because they are so consistently good. This stay was an exception, but one that I suppose could have been predicted by the weather and the lengthy Cardinals home game stretch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcoedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurtinJ, Manager at Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and thank you especially for specifically mentioning some of our wonderful teammates. We'll be sure to thank them for taking such great care of you! We do, however, apologize for the fact that the service you received was subpar. Despite game days v. non-game days or the heat outside, we value our guests and strive to always provide an exceptional experience, which results in us being the #1 hotel in this market for 5 straight years! We take a lot of pride in that!!! And we hope to see you back with us soon so we can prove it! Thank you, again, for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Great location if you're attending a ballgame. The staff was very friendly and the Guest Services Manager answered all of our questions, suggested places to see and other places to eat besides the hotel. If you choose to eat at the hotel, the quantity of food for the price is good. The 360 Bar at the top offers a menu, but is very noisy. If you're just wanting to eat, choose other options. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 702 in the East Tower is quiet, large and has a great view of the stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurtinJ, Manager at Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We always appreciate hearing about it when a guest has a wonderful time while they are with us! We hope see see you again soon and thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very nice as are most hiltons. The rooftop bar is cool. The only thing that bothered me was the elevator. 26 floors and 3 elevators. We waited over 20 minutes to get down. Also waited 15 minutes to get to rooftop bar. The fact that they sell beer to you when you get in line tells me this us not unusial to wait.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indysmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurtinJ, Manager at Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We definitely appreciate all of the feedback we get from our guests! When it comes to our elevators, we do have stretches of time, particularly around the start and end times of Cardinal baseball games when the East Tower elevators experience delays. With the popularity of 360, our 26th floor rooftop bar, and the pure volume of people coming and going from baseball games because of our popularity (we've been #1 in the market for 5 years in a row), we do have some delays. We always have Management presence during these times to help facilitate the movement of guests. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Chose the Hilton by the ballpark for my convention stay as we were also attending the game on Sat night. The staff was super friendly, rooms clean and the beds were comfy but not queen as advertised. Glad it was just my daughter and I for this trip. Close to everything so we were able to walk everywhere. Will stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorelei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurtinJ, Manager at Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate it and we're thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us! We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
286 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is a large property with 2 towers (east and west) next to Busch Stadium. It's about 7 or 8 blocks from the convention center, and the walk isn't that bad. Cab fare from the airport was about $40. Check in was OK, but my request online for an upgrade didn't reach the hotel for some reason. I was offered an upgrade to the club level in the West Tower. My colleague said the East tower was better, but the elevators were tremendously slow and crowded. Only 3 elevators per tower and one of the elevators in the East Tower was only to access the roof bar (which was loud and crowded). My room was relatively small, but comfortable with everything I like: flat screen with lots of channels, complimentary water, cofee maker, and ironing board. Wireless internet was complimentary for me. The only drawback was that my room was directly across from the service door, which began banging in the hallway early in the morning. They need to reduce the sound of the doors in the hallway. The breakfast in the Concierge lounge was one of the best I've had, including eggs, bacon and sausage. There's a Starbucks in the lobby as well, which I really like,as well as a large and spacious sports bar/bistro (one of the best hamburgers I've eaten!). In particular, Amanda Holcomb, our waitress, was friendly and very attentive. The best part of this hotel is the staff. I was always greeted by staff throughout the hotel from the maids to the bell desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not by the elevator or near a service door. The elevators on the West towe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EfficientTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurtinJ, Manager at Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review out hotel. We certainly appreciate all of the feedback, both good and bad, so that we can constantly review our performance and make changes as necessary. The level of service in our Concierge Lounge is incredible and we're very proud of the comments we receive from those guests. The upgrade to Concierge Level rooms is worth every penny. And we feel like we have a proud and service-oriented team that always looks to exceed our guests' expectations. We will certainly look at the service doors and see what can be done to eliminate some of that noise. We hope to see you again soon and, once again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel gives the illusion of luxury. The lobby is nice, there are restaurants and bars. It isn't. When you first approach you are greeted by a cluster of cars and non-welcoming valet. You are discouraged from self-parking if you have luggage.

Then you go to your room and contrary to the lobby, it is small and sparse. You have to pay for internet and are lucky if it is cleaned well.

Make sure you ask for a room that isn't connected to another because the doors are thin and you can hear EVERYTHING! I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlelikeshotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurtinJ, Manager at Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're sorry to hear that your stay did not go as well as you would have liked. We take a great deal of pride in our hotel and the service and amenities we offer. The parking situation is one that we feel works very well for most of our guests as the self-parking garage that we use is the closest parking facility to our hotel, just one block cater-corner to the Southeast of our front door. We have also done a thorough review of the internet costs of our competitors and feel like we are priced perfectly among our comp set. Having said that, we do apologize that your expectations were not met. We have been the #1 hotel in our market for 5 years in a row and we value our guests, strive to meet and EXCEED their expectations and always look forward to their feedback. We truly hope you'll be back soon and we'd welcome another opportunity to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#20 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark

Property: Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Address: 1 South Broadway, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 675
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton St. Louis At The Ballpark Hotel Saint Louis
Hilton Ballpark Hotel
Hilton Saint Louis
St Louis Hilton Ballpark
Saint Louis Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing