We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #23 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2008

Once you have the layout figured out and get used to the striped wallpaper that induces vertigo, the hotel is absolutely fine.
A few tips - you can get this hotel cheap on priceline all the time and dont pay for parking. The street parking around the paylot is free.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cmh131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,055 - 3,061 of 3,205 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel on a few occasions for business. The set up of the hotel is slightly unusual. The hotel is literally a part of union station, and the rooms are set on the upper level, along the far walls of the station. The lobby of the hotel is really beautiful, and the location is convenient to several restaurants - the Hard Rock Hotel, Houlihans, and a seafood restaurant. My rooms on each stay have been clean and were nicely appointed. My big complaint is that the business center there is really expensive and not very accomodating to business travelers. I do like that there is an Einstein Bagel in the mall right next to the hotel for breakfast options. The hotel lobby bar and restaurant seem really nice and would probably be a good place to spend the evening. Overall, a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tresura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

The hotel delivers what it should, an upper scale hotel that one can stay at for business or pleasure and be pleased with it. It is not a five star hotel, so do not visit with five star expectations or you will be disappointed. However, if you are looking for upper scale, this is a nice hotel. It’s part of the rehabilitated Union Railroad Station complex that includes the hotel, a mall, restaurants, and offices. The lobby area with its vaulted ceiling, stain glass window, and whispering arch is beautiful. The rooms are comfortable and are well appointed. The hotel has a business center but be prepare to pay for everything, internet, fax, copy service, etc. However if you’re just checking email or something quick and simple there are two computers in the lobby that will allow you to those kind of tasks. The downtown area lacks a lot of attractions and events so I didn’t find the concierge had a lot to offer, outside of some bars and live music. The mall features small shops that offer tourist souvenirs and a number of small chain restaurants. The Hyatt is within walking distance of the Arch, the Cardinals’ Stadium, St Louis Soldiers' Memorial, however, for most attractions you’ll need to take a cab, rent a car, or take public transportation. Since the downtown area doesn’t have much in terms of tourist attractions plan your visit carefully regardless of which hotel you choose. Keep in mind this is neither a walking city nor the safest.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Nataka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2008

The Hyatt Regency is one of the grandest hotels I have stayed in. The main building where reception is located was originally a Victorian era train station. The architecture and detail is amazing. The majority of rooms (including mine) are situated around the huge atrium that houses the Union Station shops and restaurants. This entire area was originally the headhouse and train shed. Because of its historical significance and abundance of dining and entertainment, Union station is a popular tourist attraction. I enjoy the hustle and bustle, but also appreciated that access to the hotel from the common areas was secured.

My accommodations were excellent. The room was clean and inviting. Very comfortable bed and mattress. My room had a large window that opened to the atrium, which had an indoor-villa feel. There was some noise from the restaurants that stay open later into the night, but I wouldn’t have minded if I hadn’t been in town on business. Ah well.

The location is great, access to the St. Louis metro/light rail system is right outside the door. I hopped on to see the arch and headed to the downtown waterfront for dinner and a little casino fun. St. Louis is my kind of town!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FRANKLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

I stayed here while in St Louis on business.

The physical layout was confusing. Street level was actually a basement - I had to walk up stairs to get to the lobby. Upon arriving at the hotel by car, my car was whisked away by a valet without asking my opinion. I later learned that valet parking was $25/day, as opposed to self parking, which was $15/day. I took the second option on principal and instructed the valet attendent to fetch back my car.

The place is huge - it's part of an underground mall. Convenient, yes, but overwhelming. My room was on the other side of the building (about a 10 min walk indoors). My room was small, stuffy, and outdated. Customer service was average, with most people trying to extract a tip from you. I called the front desk for a wake-up call. They called back twice to confirm.

I cut my trip short by one day mainly because I did not want to stay here another night. I had an important interview in the morning and I did not feel well rested. For the price I paid for this place, I was very disappointed. Not a typical Hyatt.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank magellan602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt Regency (old train station) for 4 nights. The hotel was very historical, but the guest rooms were nicely furnished and functional. The hotel staff was very helpful with Cardinal ticket info, restaurant suggestions, etc. I would definitely stay there again. They go out of their way to see that you are happy. The metro link was close and made it easy to go anywhere in the city without moving our car. Wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mustangnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

I spent several nights here in August attending a conference. The lobby was very impressive, as was the overall atmosphere of the hotel.

It is interesting that the hotel is attached to a mall of sorts, with very eclectic shops. Unfortunately, some of them were going out of business. You had to pass across the mall via a small, indoor walkover to get to the rooms. This was not a big deal. There was also a train museum on the top level of the mall, and on the ground floor, some neat "memories" people sent in via letter about the property when it was still an actual train station.

My room was on the 6th floor, facing the gardens/pool. The room showed wear on the carpeting and walls, but the bedding was top-notch. The TV was in a cabinet. The bathroom vanity was nice, as it was separated from the toilet area.

The Station Grille was very good for breakfast and lunch. I never had dinner there. There was a breakfast buffet, or you could order from the menu. The oatmeal was very good, especially with the fresh berries. Station Grille staff were very friendly, and provided good service. I had a late snack one evening at the bar, and was treated to a plate of fried ravioli, apparently a St. Louis delicacy. It wasn't half bad! The pianist in the bar was pretty good, but the volume was way too loud. It made conversing almost impossible.

There were several restaurants close by, and I generally felt safe if I stayed within a few blocks of the hotel. Overall, a good first stay in St. Louis. Don't forget to go to the top of the arch!

Stayed: August 2008
Thank chapopote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#10 of 121 in Saint Louis
820 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,415 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 1820 Market Street, One St. Louis Union Station, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2274 (Formerly St. Louis Union Station Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#47 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $125 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Union Station Hotel in St. Louis, MO, is in the center of St. Louis and within walking distance to Scottrade Center, Peabody Opera House, MetroLink and within minutes from Busch Stadium, Gateway Arch, Edward Jones Dome, America's Convention Center, and City Museum. The hotel is only 20 minutes from Lambert International Airport and has direct MetroLink access to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Louis Union Station Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Marriott Saint Louis
Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Hyatt Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing