We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From great to one of the best hotels in St. Louis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #22 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
central Illinois
Level Contributor
147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“From great to one of the best hotels in St. Louis”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have stayed at the Doubletree many times and every year it gets better. The hotel both inside and out is a representation of the glory days of rail and grand hotels. It is worth a visit even if you don't need a hotel.

My most recent stay was with my brother and sister in law this past 4th of July weekend. The Doubletree Union Station is undergoing renovations and the changes are making an already good hotel one of the best in the city. The updated bar in the great hall makes for a great place to spend the evening. To the guy who claims this is not downtown, the Doubletree is 2 blocks from The Soldier Memorial, 1 block form the Scottrade Center and the Post Office, about 8 blocks from Busch Stadium and 2 blocks from the Peabody Opera House. I can tell you as a lifelong St. Louis area resident, that is clearly downtown. The Arch is at one end of downtown not THE downtown as is the Edward Jones Dome, so if those are your measures of downtown you are missing the mark.

I always stay in the historic side of the hotel so my comments are directed solely to that side. The newer side is undergoing renovation as I write this so I imagine in a very short time it will be great as well. The rooms are very large and the beds like all Hilton brand hotels are super comfortable. My brother has had a good half dozen back surgeries and he was leery of the beds. He too commended them saying he had slept through the night for the first time in weeks. For the guy who complained of loud air conditioning, that isn't a loud air conditioner that is a subliminal noise generator. Many downtown hotels use them to counter street noise. I appreciate them because it almost entirely mutes street and hall noise. The great hall is the gem here, if you go on to the back side of the bar you will find a balcony under the glass ceiling of the Midway. It makes for a comfortable outside seeming experience regardless of the weather outside. They have installed a laser light show that plays on the hours during the evening and it is very entertaining. If you have access to the consierge lounge their hors d'oeuvres are virtually a stand alone meal. We, in fact, didn't eat anything else our first evening there. The free breakfast is also outstanding. The staff is outstanding, very courteous and helpful. If you look confused they will stop, introduce the themselves and ask how they can assist you. Union Station itself has improved greatly with more of the stores having retailers and a couple more restaurants in the food court.

Now, to answer one persons comment on handicap accessibility as this is indeed a confusing issue. I know this because my brother has difficulty with stairs at the end of the day and we had to stop a bit to find the ramps. The main entrance has a historic staircase that will not support a ramp without destroying the historic architecture. To get to the ramp, you have to use the Lobby level exit and use the ramp off of the balcony over the main entrance door. I agree hotel management needs to put a sign or something up to point people in the right direction as people will naturally gravitate towards the main entrance then be confused as to where the handicap access is located.

Cost is about the norm for downtown St. Louis. However, St. Louis has higher than normal tax rates than I have experienced elsewhere so don't be surprised when you see the tax side of the bill. Self parking is $20 per night and valet $27, about half what I pay in Chicago. There is a Hard Rock and a Landry's Seafood House in the Union Station Complex, both chains but good representatives of the chains. The Station Grille in the hotel is very good as is Lombardo's next door. There are a couple of other restaurants within blocks but I have never visited them. I use AT&T so I had excellent cell service and good access to wifi. The metro link is right out the back door and across the parking lot so you have convenenient access to other parts of St. Louis including the airport. The Amtrak and Greyhound station is about 4 blocks away if you are using either of those travel choices to get to St. Louis. It is right off of the Interstate to it is very easily accessed from the highway. The pool is a covered but still an outdoor pool so you will not have access to it on colder days. Kind of a bummer when you have kids and are travelling in the winter.

The historic part of Union Station is well documented in sign boards throughout the hotel, the Midway and the train shed. Reading them was one of my activities for this trip and they were very informative. There are two museum areas throughout the building with interesting artifacts from the station's glory days as one of the three largest train stations in the USA. Hard to believe that back in the day 200 trains a day were serviced by the stations 32 tracks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriscentralIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,585
    808
    367
    182
    93
See reviews for
811
671
110
1,043
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Went here for a business conference. It is part of a restored rail station, but when you get to the hotel part it is just a basic motel from the 80s-90s--peeling striped wallpaper, generic hotel furniture, etc. Apparently they are undergoing a major restoration, so maybe it will be nice in a few years, but now you have to put up with construction noise and ugly trash and materials. The wireless internet was out in the rooms because of construction problem, so much for work. The other pain ITA was that once you found out where to park in the general lot behind the station, near the hard rock café, you can't walk through the mall to get to the hotel, you had to go all the way around on the street level. apparently they don't like riff raff coming through the lobby to get to the mall. Mall wasn't much anyway. Very poor considering I paid $250 for a room that was like a $60 holiday inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank wbmnstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah E, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. "YES" we are under renovation to fix the "very average" hotel room you had, but it won't take two years...your guestroom will be done by September!! Also in September we'll receive our brand-new high-speed internet upgrade so that guests can more successfully "work". (Sorry, that excuse to the boss won't work for much longer here at the Station!). What we do plan to work on in 2015 is the retail space inside Union Station. Plans have been worked on for nearly two years now and once the hotel renovations are completed we will begin creating a family-friendly experience that St. Louis deserves. I am terribly sorry that you saw the worst we had to offer, but please come back to see us again!

Warmest regards,
Jeremiah Essmyer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We absolutely loved staying at the DoubleTree in St. Louis. The room was recently renovated and was beautiful. The service was friendly and professional and the light shows in the hotel lobby were amazing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The food was terrible and the mall area was sketchy. The service was good. Breakfast buffet was non-existant and when my wife asked for a vege omlete the staff didn't ask what she would like in it. When it came out it had a whole tomato slice, one piece of spinach, ham and mozzerella balls on top. It was under done and cold. Room service was no better. Add the fact that there are no other food options in close proximity. Landries and hard rock were bad as well. Difficult to find the pool area and construction noise was extremely loud right below our room at 8 am. sounded like a jack hammer or sawzal. All in all my wife will not come back. Will stay at the marriot downtown or in the richman heights area

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gustav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah E, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am very, terribly sorry that your dining experience was so far below our expectations. I look forward to passing your review to my Director of Food and Beverage. We have the highest expectations for dining experiences in this building so your feedback will not be taken lightly. As for the renovation noise; I do certainly apologize--if the "old marriott" would have taken better care of their building we wouldn't have to do so much work. --just being honest...

Warmest regards,
Jeremiah Essmyer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife and I spent a weekend in St. Louis and this a wonderful property. They did a great job of restoring the train station and converting to a hotel. Well located, it's walking distance to the ballpark. Rooms were very comfortable and quiet. Restaurant was nice, but it was a 20 minute wait for breakfast at 9 am on a Saturday. Overall, very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaliWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This historic hotel is in a great location and is beautiful, but the rooms we stayed in seemed in serious need of renovation. The drapes were dingy, the air conditioning loud, the view unappealing, the walk from where we dropped off our car long. Food and drinks had been left on a table -- apparently from prior occupants. Overall, we were disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank T_TownTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah E, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am terribly sorry you did not get to enjoy the new product we've been creating. It's clear that you stayed in the un-renovated portion of the hotel--good news this part has been shrinking with each passing month. When reading these reviews it's easy to see right away which guests experienced the "old station" vs. "new Station" and for readers I can't stress it enough; we are almost finished with our work. By August 15th there will NOT be any part of the "old guestrooms" and all that will be left is the 4-Diamond property supported by our 5-Star service staff. I hope you'll come to enjoy it for yourself!

Warmest regards,
Jeremiah Essmyer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is a great hotel to visit. You must check out the great hall and its light show in the evening. Sit a the bar and watch it all happen. Rooms are good and it is a great place to stay when visiting St Louis on Business or for a holiday

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#7 of 120 in Saint Louis
771 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#20 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,436 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1820 Market Street, One St. Louis Union Station, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2274 (Formerly St. Louis Union Station Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#47 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Union Station Hotel in St. Louis, MO, is in the center of St. Louis and within walking distance to Scottrade Center, Peabody Opera House, MetroLink and within minutes from Busch Stadium, Gateway Arch, Edward Jones Dome, America's Convention Center, and City Museum. The hotel is only 20 minutes from Lambert International Airport and has direct MetroLink access to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Louis Union Station Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Marriott Saint Louis
Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Hyatt Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing