We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice amenities, but difficulty with hidden costs/fees”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #21 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
New Paris, United States
1 review
“Nice amenities, but difficulty with hidden costs/fees”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We really enjoyed the service and amenities at Union Station Hotel; however, upon checking out, we were charged several "hidden" fees that we were not aware would be included. We also weren't initially given the discount pricing/group pricing for valet parking. The additional fees added up to over $200 total in addition to the fees we were expecting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,537
    786
    361
    175
    91
See reviews for
794
642
108
1,017
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We get in Friday afternoon and my wife finds dental floss on the bathroom floor. Not good. We go to use the frig in the room Saturday and it was truly gross, unplugged and with rotting food in it. We complained twice and no action was taken until we complained a third time. Would we stay there again. Absolutely not because of the gross frig and the terrible customer response.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah E, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
I am SO Sorry this happened to you; I'm quite embarrassed to read this review and wish I had more information so I may follow-up with not only the Room Attendant who serviced this room, but also the Housekeeping Supervisor that inspected it. Please know that every room has two sets of eyes review it prior to making it ready for a new guest. I'd also like to know "when" you stayed so I may review reports to identify who dropped the ball with your request. We work hard to ensure guest requests are met within 15 minutes. If you find time I'd like to know more about the details of your visit. jessmyer@stlunionstationhotel.com

Warmest regards,
Jeremiah Essmyer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest City, Iowa
Level Contributor
215 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is very elegant looking from the outside. I was given a king room in the garden area of the hotel. The bed was comfortable, check in was very good. The room itself was a bit dated. Rust stains in the bottom of the tub. No free internet and they charge for local calls. I have Verizon cell phone service and had NO service in my room. So I was forced to make one local call. As a customer I really dislike having to pay extra for things that should be included in a hotel stay. You have a nice place now please work on making your guests feel more "at home" and quit using us an ATM. I checked out of your hotel after one night and moved to a downtown hotel that was just as nice with free internet, free breakfast and evening reception and free local calls. At a lower price. I stayed there for two nights. Now guess where I will stay the next time I am in St. Louis?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah E, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am very sorry your room was dated; we are currently renovating the old product and plan for work to be finished in September. I have not heard of any feedback regarding poor cell phone reception so I will watch/listen for additional feedback. If there is a need we will have repeaters installed to ensure reception is strong. We are a full-service, 4-Diamond hotel and as most full-service hotels internet comes with a fee. You will find that smaller, select-service hotels offer free internet to entice travelers since they have fewer amenities to offer in lieu. Each traveler prefers a different type of experience and chose their hotels based upon what is important to them and their families. I am always sad to lose a customer, but I'm happy you found a place you can enjoy.

Warmest regards,
Jeremiah Essmyer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

In general it was a very nice stay and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I had requested some items be present in my room upon my arrival that were not there, but when I called and asked about this it was fixed immediately and I was not charged for the items and was given a complimentary bottle of wine. I ordered room service it was very prompt and when they did not have the brand root beer I wanted they substituted it with the brand available but at no charge to me. The rooms were clean and quiet. The beds very comfortable. The lobby bar was very comfortable to lounge in and relax in the evening with a marvelous light show on the ceiling that changes each time it is show. I will certainly staff there again when in St Louis because of the hospitality and good location to attraction. Great Stay!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were stunned when we walked into the great hall. It was so beautifully restored. The projection show was a wonderful surprise. We watched it several times. The brunch in the restaurant was the best meal we had during our stay in Missouri. I hope we have a reason to visit there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Arlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Excellent venue for the Emerson Innovation Conference. Meeting rooms were appropriately configured, and the Ballroom was a first-rate venue for the keynote addresses. Catering was first class. Not entirely sure why a review must be a minimum of 200 characters, A maximum I can understand, but a minimum!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Edwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

When we bookeda re room and when we checked in no one told us about construction until we were woke up at 8:00 am to lots of power tools next door. I asked it the same would occur on Saturday morning (the next day) becasue I was willing to move hotels to avoid it. I was assured there would be no construction the next day but was woke up but power tools at 8 am again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kristie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah E, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
I am terribly sorry that our renovations ruined your visit; I will agree they are not fun but a necessary part of creation. We have posted signs at our Front Desk and disclaimers in most of our guestrooms. Because we don't know the extent of renovation noise until days prior to each guest's visit we have our staff call guests prior to their arrival to share information with guests. However, reservations through third parties do not supply us with any email addresses or phone numbers to contact you. I am also sorry that weekend work was decided to continue without notice. For readers of the review I'm excited to say that with only two guest floors left to renovate the noise is now deeper into the building and is less intrusive that it has been all year long. All of our garden guestrooms will be finished by September!

Warmest regards,
Jeremiah Essmyer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#6 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1820 Market Street, One St. Louis Union Station, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2274 (Formerly St. Louis Union Station Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#47 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Union Station Hotel in St. Louis, MO, is in the center of St. Louis and within walking distance to Scottrade Center, Peabody Opera House, MetroLink and within minutes from Busch Stadium, Gateway Arch, Edward Jones Dome, America's Convention Center, and City Museum. The hotel is only 20 minutes from Lambert International Airport and has direct MetroLink access to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Louis Union Station Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Marriott Saint Louis
Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Hyatt Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing