We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good hotel in an odd location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #22 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pretty good hotel in an odd location”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

My son and I were part of a group of students and parents that stayed here during a national robot competition. I was a little concerned after reading some of the reviews but I was happy to find that our room was pleasant, no obvious problems. It's a fairly modern hotel built around the historic old train station. The location had some pluses and minuses: Some parts of the old station have been nicely restored, they look great. But others are still being renovated. When I first arrived (from the subway), I had a difficult time finding the entrance to the lobby, I had to walk thru the entire station complex, go out to Market Street, and come back in. Some better signs would have helped. And the station complex (a kind of shopping mall + food court) was a little depressing, there was not much food traffic, and a lot of places seemed closed or barely alive. We had free wi-fi access in the room (good); there was no free continental breakfast but the bagel shop downstairs was reasonable. If they can finish the renovation, and maybe improve the amount of life in the adjacent mall, this could be a really good place.

Room Tip: Based on the reviews I'm guessing some rooms have been renovated and some haven't, ask for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldGuyfromBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,585
    808
    367
    182
    93
See reviews for
811
671
110
1,043
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The historical aspect of this hotel is incredible. You tend to constantly look up as you walk around to take it all in. The music/light show in the lobby at night is cool. The hotel is currently being renovated, so there are some minor inconveniences to deal with from time to time, but the hotel staff does their best to set expectations and help resolve things. It will be a one of a kind facility once the renovations are complete. I look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The hotel was great! Be prepared to walk a bit from the elevator to your room. There are staircases that shorten the trip if you can find them. The staff was excellent. The hotel is attached to a shopping center with restaurants, etc but it was in a bit of a depressed area. The location has real potential if they can get some great stores and attractions in the mall area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Velvet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This hotel is currently in the midst of renovation. We had a non-courtyard facing room, so our view was blocked by curtains and mattresses I think due to construction. The staff were exemplar especially the banquet food services staff. They are seasoned and well-trained and superbly service-oriented.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dothan, al, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The service was great and the front desk the best. Staff was friendly and very accomodating. Executive level lounge was very well stocked. The linens were very crisp and yet soft to the touch. Ah the cookie, I had several.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Dori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Great stay! Stayed on the executive floor and Carole in the Executive lounge was a pleasure. From knowing you name to enjoyable conversation, she was delightful! I found the food excellent. The bedding excellent. Truly a well run facility. Cant wait to come back after renovations are totally complete.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymore, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed during the lobby renovation and it was still a good experience. Check in was extremely easy as was check out. The breakfast had a good variety of selections and was convenient. Excellent staff made the stay fabulous! We loved being in downtown STL and valet parking makes having a car no problem. Beds were comfortable, bathroom was clean and accessible. Although there were minor issues with wheelchair accessibility it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Murel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah E, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for the GREAT review! It's so pleasant reading about the many wonderful experiences our guests have so I thank you for taking the time to share. Today we have finished our lobby renovation--COME BACK SOON so you can enjoy the finished experience. Our new bar even comes with a lowered counter in the center for our ADA guests. Our staff will be waiting to delight you again...

Warmest regards,
Jeremiah Essmyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#7 of 120 in Saint Louis
771 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#20 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,436 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1820 Market Street, One St. Louis Union Station, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2274 (Formerly St. Louis Union Station Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#47 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Union Station Hotel in St. Louis, MO, is in the center of St. Louis and within walking distance to Scottrade Center, Peabody Opera House, MetroLink and within minutes from Busch Stadium, Gateway Arch, Edward Jones Dome, America's Convention Center, and City Museum. The hotel is only 20 minutes from Lambert International Airport and has direct MetroLink access to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Louis Union Station Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Marriott Saint Louis
Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Hyatt Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing