We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good Old Days of Train Travel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #23 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Good Old Days of Train Travel”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed at this lovely, historic hotel and loved it. Thank goodness someone had the foresight to save this beautiful, elegant old train station. I attended a conference and came via Amtrak from Chicago--a nice, relaxing mode of travel. I arrived at the new train station, and walked to the old one :-) The Grand Lobby is gorgeous.The hotel rooms were pretty typical, but large and clean. I just love DoubleTree by Hilton bed linens, towels and toiletries! The hotel staff was unwaverlingly friendly and helpful. The location on Market Street was very nice. I felt safe walking from the hotel to the Arch. I would recommend this hotel if you want to experience a bit of history when you visit St. Louis.

Room Tip: mine looked out over a garden. Too bad it was cold and rainy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footsore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review; we are very grateful of your kind words! It's great to hear you enjoyed your room amenities and also the convenience of the hotel to the Amtrak station and St. Louis landmarks. Again, we are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope to welcome you back to St. Louis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,628
    831
    383
    188
    100
See reviews for
851
692
113
1,064
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
spoonygee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here and enjoyed ourselves immensely. The hotel was wonderful with spectacular architecture and convenient location. We went to a Cardinals game and it was a pleasant walk to/from the stadium and arch.

The staff was super nice! We had the most contact with the valets, as we chose not to self-park the car. (You have to pay to park regardless, so I suggest paying a few dollars more and not hassling with the self park.) They were always so friendly, giving us detours around a surprise 5k that was happening that morning, and making polite chit-chat.

The beds are so comfortable that we contemplated just hanging out there. Clean, comfortable rooms and Crabtree & Evelyn products in the bathroom!

The only two things that were weird about this hotel: the rooms are ridiculously laid out. I think because of some renovation they're doing, we had to make a giant loop to get to our room, since no other hallway was available. Secondly, the restaurant was completely empty at 7:30 on a Friday night. The reviews we read about it turned us off, and the fact that nobody was eating there led us to believe it wasn't worth our time (for any meals). Fortunately there are plenty of places to go near by, so make the effort. And if you're SUPER lazy or tired, there's a little food court in Union Station to get some cheap, quick bites.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank spoonygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your weekend! I really do believe our location is fantastic and staff are second-to-none. They really care about the guest and want to ensure you enjoy our city! However, laying in our comfy beds all day does sound like a relaxing day! Thank you again for the review and we hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a great hotel and property for your event. Staff is wonderful and very knowledgeable on the history of the building and down town area. Had a great stay! Food is wonderful and there is lots to do around the hotel that will not cost you a dime to go and do.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, Director of Sales at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
I am so happy to read you had a great time at your event! Our catering services are second-to-none and really work tirelessly to ensure an fantastic meal. It's great you also got to experience the are around the hotel; St. Louis is full of low to no-cost attractions! Again, thank your for your review and we hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Loved this hotel! Loved the staff! What a grand building, my daughter was so excited that we were staying in a "castle". We felt like princesses for the weekend. The valet guys were so helpful! Randy and Doug were great! They gave us directions, were sweet to the children, very very helpful! When we return to St. Louis I know where we will be staying!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Wow- thank you so much for the great review! And we loved that you loved our hotel! Randy and Doug are really great and I'm glad you got some fantastic information from them. We can't wait to welcome your family back to our "castle"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Quogue, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

From the Grand lobby with its splendid high arching French brocade ceiling which hints of the Railroad magnet Cornelius Vanderbilt's influence.The hotel was built into the old Union Station
of St. Louis and all its history.We found the staff to be extremely helpful,from the front desk to
the valet parking.Being a Hilton property you always find the rooms to be clean and very comfortable especially the pillows and bed.The other outstanding part of the hotel was the
Station Grille with its extraordinaire food and service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Wow!! Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We really appreciate your great feedback and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Our staff really strive to provide great Midwest hospitality, and the Station Grille restaurant serves amazing meals! Thank you for staying with us and we really hope to welcome you again, with our friendly staff and warm cookies at check-in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for three nights in May 2013. The positives: hotel was clean, staff was extremely professional and friendly, the hotel was very charming and unique, the location was great, and the breakfast was amazing - tons of choices! Now for the negatives, which aren't many, but I should probably mention... First, the original room that we checked in to smelled of cigarette smoke. The hotel is a non-smoking hotel, but the guest before us clearly violated the rules. The front desk promptly changed our room and even provided complimentary breakfast for the inconvenience with the change in rooms. Second, the hotel is very large and extremely difficult to navigate, especially coming from the self-parking lot. The last thing you want to have to do after traveling all day is wander around a hotel looking for the guest rooms because there's no signage to direct you anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QTPyePop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for review the Union Station Hotel. We are happy to read about your experiences in our property, including friendly staff, great location and delicious buffet. We are a 100% nonsmoking hotel, so I do apologize you had to experience the result of someone violating the rules. I am glad to hear about the team's swift action to correct the situation, and your patience as we got you a new room. Again, thank you for staying at the St. Louis Union Station Hotel and we hope to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My son was married in St. Louis and booked this hotel for the guests. All in all it was a good experience. They were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were typical of a hotel but it was nice to be able to walk around Union Station since the weather was bad. The buffet breakfast was excellent and worth the money if you were hungry. Valet parking was quick and easy. Since it rained most of the weekend, we wished they'd had a covered overhang to load and unload our van.

Room Tip: Hotel is large and spread out. Try to get near the elevator and center of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolDiane1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Congratulations on your son's marriage! We hope you really enjoyed the wedding weekend, despite the rain, and are glad you had a nice overall experince. The Station Grille provides a hot and lovely breakfast buffet, as you experienced, and valet is friendly and fast! Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#9 of 121 in Saint Louis
798 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,466 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#4 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,344 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1820 Market Street, One St. Louis Union Station, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2274 (Formerly St. Louis Union Station Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#47 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Union Station Hotel in St. Louis, MO, is in the center of St. Louis and within walking distance to Scottrade Center, Peabody Opera House, MetroLink and within minutes from Busch Stadium, Gateway Arch, Edward Jones Dome, America's Convention Center, and City Museum. The hotel is only 20 minutes from Lambert International Airport and has direct MetroLink access to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Louis Union Station Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Marriott Saint Louis
Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Hyatt Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing