We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Step back in time at the Union Station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #21 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
NE Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Step back in time at the Union Station”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here because we attended a continuing education photography seminar that was being held here. Great lobby full of history. The gentlemen that greet you at the door are fantastic, granted they work for tips but these guys were good. Especially Gerry, one heck of a guy, very helpful. Inside staff was also very nice. Rooms were easy to sleep late in, room darkening shades and a noisy air conditioner that blocked out the hall noise. Some locals (street folks) in the mall at night but enough people around to feel safe. Walk to the Arch, walk to many restaurants. Not the greatest room and not the cleanest of rooms but not bad overall. If you are picky, pick someplace else. Terrible water pressure in the shower. It was OK because our classes were in the hotel. We ate in the hotel restaurant, our server, was his name Eric, was just great! and so was the meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rullophotographycom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I appreciate your feedback about our hotel, and the kind words about Gerry and Eric. They truly care about the guests! My apologies that the room presentation was not perfect. Housekeeping works very hard to provide a clean and presentable guestroom. I did present your issues with the water pressure to our engineering department to remedy the situation. Again, I appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,559
    798
    363
    176
    93
See reviews for
801
655
109
1,032
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is under construction and it seems like this is also affecting general day to day decision making as well. Some staff were genuinely accommodating and some were cold and bordering on unfriendly.

I was told that there is a shuttle that can take me to my conference site at the Hilton ballpark, then when we went to get it, we were told it does not go there. I tried to make a toll free call and the phone lines went local and I was charged $1 for the error and I had to get a supervisor to remove the charge. It was strange that I could not make toll free calls and was told thats how the system was set up...:/

Like I said, some of the staff were fantastic and some needed to possibly be retrained...so it was a so-so stay...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilledd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I must be honest with you, as our busiest part of the season approaches we are aggressively staffing-up for the summer. I would wager that the discrepancy you experienced is from new vs. more senior Associates. Hospitality is one of those tricky industries where no amount of initial training creates the perfect Associate. –It’s through time on the floor that we obtain the experience to offer 5-star service. Our Training takes at least four weeks to complete before the advanced items begin. If you recall any of the Associate names who seemed “Green” I would love a chance to sit down with them. You may reach me at jessmyer@stlunionstationhotel.com. I will begin my follow-up to see where all our new players are at with their training programs.

Please also know that the shuttle does not typically go to other properties. This exception for the Hilton Ballpark was a specific, “Group-related” exception and I imagine the message didn’t get to the Associate who gave you the typical answer of “I’m sorry but we don’t go there”. Shame on us for not getting that message down to everyone! I imagine by your next visit you’ll not be able to notice the discrepancy in service.

Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Currently here for business.

Positive : Beautiful place; Visually old style a bit like a church ! Clean rooms ! Staff friendly +++ !

Negative : Construction in the hotel, layout is hard to figure out, wedding party until late at night with music loud +++ ! , the pool is outside and closed at this time of the year :( , Most of the shops in the Union Station Mall are closed.

You might be able to find better in St-Louis ? Closer to the Arc... :P

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taly47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I LOVE your positives, they are right on in my opinion! We’re excited that our Midway renovation has begun—this work is turning the vacant stores directly under the hotel into a State-of-the-Art Exhibit Space created for great versatility and large enough to host 140 booths! Although our swimming pool is set to open May 27th, we hope to do a soft opening in two weeks to get ready for the summer heat!! By the time you return you’ll be catching some rays from the pool garden!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Room was nice & clean.... Staff was helpful.... Very comfortable stay! I appreciate the old vintage look bc it shows u the history of union station.... I wld definitely stay again.... So if ur looking for a nice & convenient place to stay, this is a good choice!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank askmeabturstay00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Wow - thank you so much for the review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay, the historic feel of Union Station and your clean room. We really appreciate your review and cannot wait to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip. I took the MetroLink from the airport to the hotel. You will need to buy a 2 hour MetroLink pass. It took about 30 minutes to get there(about 10 stops). Once you get off of the Union Station stop, it is about a block walk to the back of Union Station Mall. You will need to walk through the mall to get to the hotel.

The location of the hotel is pretty central. It is about a mile walk to the Gateway. A few blocks to Busch Stadium and the Scottrade Center.

When I checked in, they offered me a free cookie. It was my first meal in St. Louis. Very delicious. I reserved a King bed and they only had 2 queens. No biggie. The room they gave me was all the way at the end of the hotel on the first floor. It was a pretty far walk. I was not very happy about it. The room decor was pretty old. The carpets were green and the lamps had switches to be turned on. The room was pretty dark unless you turn ALL the lamps on. The bathrooms was sectioned into 3 areas. The tub, the sink area and the toilet. The water pressure was pretty decent and the temperature was perfect. The beds itself was clean and comfortable. I was able to get about 4 hours of sleep. There was some noise from the air conditioner and some kind of noise from outside. I had access to the special breakfast area. It was pretty good. They offered the normal breakfast food including cooked eggs, bacon and warm oatmeal. I also had the option of ordering pancakes and omelets. You have to ask the person there. The fitness center was pretty good. They had all the basic machines and dumbbell set. They also offered bottle water, apples, towels and cold towels.

My overall experience was pretty good. You get what you expect from a decent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are happy to read you enjoyed your overall stay at our hotel and the delicious cookie at check-in. I do apologize for your room type not being available and the long distance you had to walk. If our guests are not happy about any portion of the room assigned, please feel free to contact the front desk and we will do out best to change your room! We hope to welcome you back with a warm cookie again and give you a room close to the lobby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel is quite beautiful and the staff is courteous and helpful. This is a great hotel for picture perfect backgrounds and lots of dining options near by. The breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant is excellent. Parking is not convenient. Also, the layout of the hotel was difficult to navigate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback about your recent stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and found our staff courteous and friendly. Again, thank you and we hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lonoke, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were in town for the Taylor Swift Concert at the Scottrade Center and stayed here due to location. The staff is extremely helpful and always on the ready. When we arrive we checked in got our room key and realized that my mother whom has asthma was going to have trouble getting to the room we were assigned and the bellman that was assisting us called the front desk and had us assigned to a room closer to the elevator. I must say they did so without hesitation. I would stay here again if going to a concert down the block. The only problem we had was the sketchiness of the area the hotel made sure to let us know the safe routes to the concert.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandasnider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us during theTaylor Swift concert. It is great to hear the bellman assisted you in finding a closer room to the elevator. Each of our associates strive to provide the best in Midwest hospitality! Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#8 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#20 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1820 Market Street, One St. Louis Union Station, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2274 (Formerly St. Louis Union Station Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#47 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Union Station Hotel in St. Louis, MO, is in the center of St. Louis and within walking distance to Scottrade Center, Peabody Opera House, MetroLink and within minutes from Busch Stadium, Gateway Arch, Edward Jones Dome, America's Convention Center, and City Museum. The hotel is only 20 minutes from Lambert International Airport and has direct MetroLink access to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Louis Union Station Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Marriott Saint Louis
Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Hyatt Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing