We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired, especially plumbing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #22 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A bit tired, especially plumbing”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here for two nights while attending a concert at Scottrade Center. It's now a Doubletree by Hilton. Lobby is gorgeous as it is the old train station. It's a long walk from lobby to rooms and not very handicapped friendly. Another long walk from elevator to room. Beds were comfy as were pillows. Room was clean. Had breakfast at hotel one morning. It was good, but over-priced.

Probably was the lack of water pressure when I went to take a shower. It was almost non-existent. Don't know if it was because we were on 6th floor or not, but I could hardly get enough pressure to wash my hair.

I'm guessing since Hilton took this over, remodeling will be happening.

It was a short walk to venue. Attached shopping center has practically no shops open, which was sad. Also ate at Hard Rock, which was a major disappointment when it came to food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, Front Office Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry we were not able to provide you with a satisfactory experience during your stay. Your satisfaction is very important and we appreciate your feedback about the plumbing problem and lack of water pressure you encountered. I brought this issue to the attention of our maintenance department. Your feedback will be used to help us correct this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,585
    808
    367
    182
    93
See reviews for
811
671
110
1,043
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Union Station Hotel in St. Louis to attend a concert at the Scott Trade Center.

First the good parts: The front desk staff was very helpful and attentive. The design of the lobby area is beautiful. The room was clean. The hotel provided free wireless internet access. The beds were comfortable. The valet staff was very helpful. The location is very convenient to a number of sights in the downtown St. Louis area.

Now, the bad parts: (1) On a two night stay, our room was not made up. Housekeeping finally came to the room about 5:00 in the afternoon of the second day. We were given fresh towels and coffee. (2) The walls were a bit thin - we could hear the guests in the next room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank culpe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Culpe10,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our hotel. It is great to hear you enjoyed our staff, location and the beautiful architecture of Union Station; I appreciate the kind words. I am disappointed to hear housekeeping visited your room so late in the afternoon to only provide fresh towels and coffee, and I apologize for that incident. I brought this to the attention of the Housekeeping Director and we are working on this issue. We value your business and will strive to make your next stay more pleasurable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel is now as Doubletree (Hilton). Our recent stay there was wonderful, considering the low price of $58 we got on Hotwire! Beautiful hotel, Room was very clean, bathroom looked newly remodelled, down bedding was super comfortable and much nicer than expected. We did not try the restaurants or room service - ate at the Hard Rock attached (via courtyard) which had pretty lousy food.
Location is unbeatable, we were there for a concert at the Scottrade center which is a 5 minute walk away. The mall attached IS half empty - and we were approached several times and asked for money, but we did not feel unsafe at any time.
The room was exceptionally quiet - extra clean, and like I said, much nicer than I expected after reading other reviews - perhaps they are remodelling. Service in lobby/valet was also great, but be aware the belhops WILL grab your bags are start walking. If you don't want to tip, then just grab them back :) Recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful compliments! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our team helped make your trip pleasurable. We look forward to seeing you back in St. Louis and welcoming you with a warm cookie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

There are two (and only two) good things about this hotel. The lobby area is beautiful as it is the main station area of the old Union Station with all the cealing ornamentation and original decor. The location is great for access to the Theater and to the Scottrade center. But that is where the good parts end. The rooms are across an interior bridge of the Union Station Mall area and a long way from the lobby. The rooms are non-descript. Our air conditioner did not work and we called twice and personally visited the front desk once about getting it fixed and there was never anyone sent to repair it. On the third call (the next day) we simply asked for another room, which was granted. Bottom line, look somewhere else, there are lots of better choices.

Room Tip: Best room is in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust_FW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your honest review of our hotel. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the lack of air conditioning in your room and front desk service. You should not have to call three times for the problem to be acknowledged. I discussed this issue with my front desk staff and your feedback will help correct these issues in the future. Thank you again for your very valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Doubletree Hotel was very comfortable. Bedding was plush. The interior of the grand hall was beautiful and historical. Several displays of museum type pieces and memorabilia which was quite interesting. Walked the shops and had a bite to eat. The shops are tourist focused so don't expect to do serious shopping but it was fun to walk through. Staying two nights Good overall

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pettite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for your kind words! We are delighted you had a great experience at our historic hotel, and can’t wait to welcome you back with a warm DoubleTree cookie .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed there while it was still a Marriott, but I don't think much will have changed in 4 weeks.

The hotel is in the former, very grand, train station, although most of the rooms are in a modern section at the back of the hotel.

You cross a walkway, which you then need your room key to access the gate to reach the lifts, it is a little bit like a rabbit warren so give yourself time to get out in the morning if you have a schedule.

The rooms were a good size, but the beds and bed linen were just gorgeous! You won't want to get up in the morning.

Take time to have a look round the lobby and restaurant it is stunning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Arrived very late; the staff were absolutely accommodating and helpful. Very comfortable room, clean property, reasonable rates and .... exactly what we expected from a great hotel.

Very beautiful lobby matched with same quality rooms. I will defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STLUSDoubleTree, Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel. I am glad our hotel staff made your business stay comfortable and you could enjoy our one-of-a-kind architecture! Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#7 of 120 in Saint Louis
771 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#20 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,436 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1820 Market Street, One St. Louis Union Station, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2274 (Formerly St. Louis Union Station Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#47 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Union Station Hotel in St. Louis, MO, is in the center of St. Louis and within walking distance to Scottrade Center, Peabody Opera House, MetroLink and within minutes from Busch Stadium, Gateway Arch, Edward Jones Dome, America's Convention Center, and City Museum. The hotel is only 20 minutes from Lambert International Airport and has direct MetroLink access to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Louis Union Station Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Marriott Saint Louis
Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Hyatt Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing