We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #23 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“This is not a Marriott”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a very good stay here last weekend. This property is NOT a Marriott but a Double Tree run by Hilton. I used my Hilton Honor points on the stay. Ambiance is really nice, food on site although I wouldn't suggest the nearby Hard Rock Cafe. They have maintained the interior of Union Station about as well as could be expected. We didn't do Union Station itself. Been there done that. But the desk staff for the hotel was more than helpful, our room was great and the only downside was that we had to ride to our car due to the marathon on Sunday. The staff was excellent and the value was great.

Room Tip: The north and west rooms were quiet even though there was a very large wedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,625
    830
    383
    187
    100
See reviews for
850
690
113
1,062
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Historic hotels are sometimes a big let down - the problem is, their history is just where their decor and infrastructure and service quality have stayed - in the past!

this hotel just switched to a Doubletree brand in the last two weeks. That didnt even matter. I have stayed here before when it was the Marriott and the same problems are there. Aging rooms, decor and infrastructure. The in-room wifi was so bad i just used my built in 3G cards in laptop and iPad. The bathroom tiles showed mildew. The towels were fluffy and the toiletries were nice however. There was no in room safe. there were no accessible wall sockets for power but they did attach a power strip to plug things into. There was also free coffee/tea in the room and two free bottles of water daily. the bed was fairly comfortable with the pillow top mattress. but other than that, the rooms need a total renovation to something more current and modern, including their technology. A flat screen LED TV was in the room, but channels were limited. There is a large refrigerator included in the room, but it is not a mini bar - just there for you to include your own drinks or food to keep them chilled. The room service was AWFUL - both the delays in delivery and the food quality and accuracy. I made that mistake once and had my meal comped it was so bad and so late. The manager on duty seemed to care less when I called him. This hotel is obviously going through some transition pains, but some of these pains have not changed. I am not sure the brand name change will have a positive effect - it comes down to proper service quality training and a renovation. I like a historic building as much as the next person - however, that doesn't mean the infrastructure should be just as old.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCworldtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddyville ky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We checked into the hotel that has a beautiful lobby...and it ended there on the beauty...my dtr and I were disgusted from the time we entered our room...just outside our room was something ozzing down the wall...not sure what. Our room at first glance seemed ok...then we noticed that the carpet was torn...hair on the floor of the bathroom...something sticky on the desk and then we go to close the curtains...on the sheers that were at one time white...that are now grey..there is a dried up booger and on the other sheer...what appeared to be dried up blood splatter. The tub was patched due to two holes were in the tub...the rolled up bath mat had hair on it and the wash cloths and towels were...just dingy and grey....The elevator mirrors were smeared with grease finger prints and the carpet....do they not even have a vacuum cleaner in this place...this hotel is a great one for Hotel Impossible to come and tell them how to run a hotel...on a positive note...the breakfast was really good and in a nice...clean atmosphere....we were supposed to stay longer but checked out early and went to the Westin across from the stadium...Beautiful...Clean...Will def stay at the Westin again....and if you are wondering why we did not just leave...the cardinals were in the play off's and did not want to chance not being able to find another room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maplehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The lobby is huge and absolutely beautiful! Be sure to look at the ceilings - they are gorgeous. We used valet parking and the concierge was helpful and answered our "tourist" questions about sightseeing. We walked to the St. Louis Arch which is a nice walk from the hotel. The room was across a walkway-bridge that had an indoor mall below. The room overlooked the inside of the hotel, but it was on a Sunday night, so it was extremely quiet. The room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was wonderful comfortable! We accidentally left behind a valuable piece of jewelry and the cleaning staff found it, turned it in to the manager, and once we realized we had left it behind we called the hotel and they immediately shipped it to us. We didn't have the breakfast so I can't comment on that. We would recommend staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange City, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a huge hotel in an interesting building. It is like a maze, so good luck finding your room. Our bed was wonderfully comfortable & the room was clean. Since it is downtown, they offer valet parking. They did an great job with the valet parking. It is a secure lot & we even left our bikes on the back since we were in town for Pedal for the Cause. They brought our car up several times for us in picking up our bikes & taking them back. No breakfast provided & my friends couldn't find a hot tub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We recently stayed at the Union Station Marriott after a concert. It ended pretty late and we made the mistake of looking for food. Good luck. Everything shuts down at 11pm and the only vending machines are for sodas. We were told there were some bars open until late, but they were questionable and we didn't want to travel far to get a snack.
The room we stayed in was inside the train station, so we didn't get the bright sun coming in the windows like you do on most hotel rooms. That made for a GREAT sleep. As a matter of fact, we overslept because it was one of the best sleeps we had in a long time.
Rooms are decent size and its perfect walking distance if you have something going on downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank travlrgrl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I just spent four days at this hotel for a conference. First off our rooms were hours before they were ready and then when I finally got my room key I found the maid still in there cleaning the room (at 4pm in the afternoon). The main lobby of the building is beautiful but the rooms are a long way from the lobby and the conference rooms, expect a lot of walking. We thought it would be neat staying in the old Union Station where there are all kinds of shops right below you, only most of the shops are closed and the whole place is cavernous. In fact we found out there is no shopping in downtown St Louis. We had to take the Metro about 8 stops to find the closest mall. It's an 18 block walk down to the arch. There were beautiful gardens and sculptures along the route but not much else. The tour up the arch was the highlight of the trip. One scary aspect is we were constantly told to stay off the street after dark, due to the high crime. We tried to wonder a mile down the road to a Walgreens early Saturday evening. We were told to turn back by some local company employees who were dismantling some tents that held their annual company fun day. Luckily we were able to find a cab to take us to the store then we had to call another to get back to the Marriott. The staff were not very knowledgable about where to eat or what to see, in fact even the locals seem to be at a lost as to what their city had to offer. It will probably be my only trip to St Louis. Don't waste your time unless you are going to watch a Cardnal's game live.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that has working heat/ac. I had to call a technician to turn off the squally pipe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedhernt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#9 of 121 in Saint Louis
798 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,466 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#4 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1820 Market Street, One St. Louis Union Station, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2274 (Formerly St. Louis Union Station Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#47 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Union Station Hotel in St. Louis, MO, is in the center of St. Louis and within walking distance to Scottrade Center, Peabody Opera House, MetroLink and within minutes from Busch Stadium, Gateway Arch, Edward Jones Dome, America's Convention Center, and City Museum. The hotel is only 20 minutes from Lambert International Airport and has direct MetroLink access to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Louis Union Station Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Marriott Saint Louis
Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Hyatt Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing