We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Downtown St. Louis
Ranked #99 of 124 Hotels in Saint Louis
Reviewed November 10, 2011

If i could give it 0 stars i would. I would actually take stars away from other reviewers if i could. Just run away now.

A friend and I were traveling as students to a professional conference in St.Louis September 2011 and needed a room for an extra night that wasn't being covered by the conference, so we booked a room here for the first night. When we got there we were a little off-put by the surrounding abandoned buildings but decided we would be safe enough. When we went in we should have known, the front desk had bullet-proof glass. We got a room on the third floor because we felt that would be safest. It wasn't a really nice room, but we figured we could deal with it. We looked out our window and saw chain-link fencing and sheds that looked as though it were used to house fighting dogs (i'm 95% sure there were fighting dogs out there, not joking in the slightest). Still, we felt if we just kept the door locked and left early in the morning to go to the other hotel we would be OK. The whole room felt kinda gross, and we were contemplating on sleeping in the chairs. The final straw was when i pulled off the top comforter and saw the giant urine stain on it. It had obviously not been even cleaned or anything and was huge. We immediatly left and when we told the man at the front desk that we were leaving he asked if we would like a different room. No thank you! When we told him we had no desire to do that because we didn't want to stay in any rooms that weren't being properly cleaned, he replied "well, that's your choice". exact quote. never ever ever go here. We went to the millenium hotel that night and got a room cheaper than this dump and each had our own bed with fresh, clean linens, and were right across from the Arch in a much nicer area of St.Louis.

Oh, and when we were leaving there was a box of condoms sitting on the check in counter displayed behind the glass. Obiously this hotel isn't meant for all-night stays anyways. Even if that is what you are looking for, just park your car down some dark alley and you will be better off, because i think you should be tested for diseases after just walking in the door. I bagged and boiled my clothes after this encounter.

Room Tip: just don't get a room here. Go to any other hotel in down-town st.louis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwil28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 318 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were in a pinch to find rooms for game 6 and 7 of the World Series since the game got rained out Wednesday. The Days Inn was the first place I could find with rooms available. I must say the staff was very friendly but the rooms carpets, furniture and bedding looked very dirty. I guess I shouldn't complain since the rooms were only $139 per night. It's not the best neighborhood either. A cab driver advised some of our group NOT to be out after dark. The place is in an industrial area with a lot of run down buildings. And it is called Days Inn "Downtown" but is actually about 3 miles from the downtown area. Overall I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My adult son and I stayed here recently and the hotel was fine - room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was sufficient & staff courteous. But the area the hotel is in made me uncomfortable to be outside and especially to drive to/from if we weren't coming right off the highway. In front of the hotel is a metal recycling center so we saw people pushing trash cans and carts down the street to cash in, there was a truck center and railline behind the building although it was across the street, and the streets leading to the hotel were in less than desirable neighborhoods. I had a non-refundable rate (through hotels.com) so we stayed the 3 nights we booked, otherwise I would have looked for a hotel closer to the hospital and in a better area. We had no trouble but I just felt uncomfortable going to/from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn66524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel recently and found it very pleasant. The hotel was clean and had a mini fridge and microwave in the rooms. All the employees we met were vey friendly and the continental breakfast the next morning was refreshing. While it's not necessarily downtown, it's within two miles of downtown. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shanewinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

I've got to say that the hotel itself was great. Really have nothing bad to say. The rooms were large and spacious. The beds were comfortable. Even the free breakfast in the morning wasn't bad (DIY waffles, biscuits with gravy, etc). The only problem was that it's located in a pretty sketch area. The parking lot is gated and monitored by security. We were driving across country to move me to Arizona, so my life was in my car and I was somewhat concerned about it. The guy at the front desk assured me that they never had an incidents reported and that the area was in more of a urban renewal phase. We didn't have any issues, and all my stuff stayed safe. If you have a car — it's really not far from downtown. Just down the street, but if you don't have a car I wouldn't recommend the hotel as it's not walkable to any of the major sightseeing areas.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wendalyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

The name of the hotel is a blatant lie!!! It is nowhere near downtown and the taxidriver warned me repeatedly not to venture outside the hotel as it is located in a "terrible neighborhood". Need I say more?

On the plus side: Large, clean room, above average for the price.

But given the location, it's a 'NO GO'!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank SaturdaySoftware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I spent 5 weeks travelling around the USA from Australia, and this was my best accommodation experience of the entire 5 weeks. The room was great - flatscreen TV, both wireless & wired internet, really comfortable bed, etc. Excellent value for money - quality hotel experience at a motel price. Most of all, the staff were excellent - the friendliest I came across out of anywhere I stayed and the front desk guy & his family treated me really well. The location is only a couple of minutes drive from downtown and the hotel is totally safe & secure - don't let other people who apply blanket stereotypes to an entire side of a city deter you from staying, because you won't find better accommodation in St Louis for the price!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrentWilson82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
City Place - Downtown St. Louis
City Place - Downtown St. Louis
#110 of 124 in Saint Louis
1,653 reviews
Downtown
St. Louis City Center Hotel
St. Louis City Center Hotel
#95 of 124 in Saint Louis
1,069 reviews
Lafayette Square
Hotel Avyan
Hotel Avyan
#96 of 124 in Saint Louis
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Super 8 St. Louis Airport
#9 of 12 in Berkeley
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Downtown St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Downtown St. Louis

Address: 2810 N 9th St, Saint Louis, MO 63147-3527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Riverfront
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 124 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range: $87 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Downtown St. Louis 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Newly Constructed Days Inn Downtown St. Louis. We are conveniently located off I-70 and just minutes from all notable downtown attractions including the Gateway Arch, Busch Stadium, Laclede’s Landing, Casino’s, St. Louis Convention Center, Edward Jones Dome and much more!!! Whether for business or pleasure the Days Inn Downtown St. Louis can meet all your needs with our 57 spacious guest rooms that offer:• 32” Flat Screen TV’s• FREE Wired and Wireless Internet• Micro-Fridge Units• In-Room Safes• In-Room Coffee and Tea• Iron and Ironing Boards• Suites AvailableOur guests can also enjoy the various amenities at our property which include:• FREE Parking • Business Center with Computer Stations • Meeting Room • Fitness Center • Guest Laundry • Stop-N-Go Snack Shop • Complimentary Daybreak Breakfast • Complimentary USA Today Newspaper ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Downtown St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Downtown St Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Days Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing