We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class deli sandwiches”
Review of Gioia's Deli

Gioia's Deli
Ranked #10 of 3,310 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Deli, Fast Food
Neighborhood: The Hill
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: The Hill
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

The hot salami lives up to the hype, but they are not a one-trick pony. Solid food across the board.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 158 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

I’ve never had a sandwich like this anywhere else. The salami is made in house. It is savory, not spicy. The heat in “hot” comes from grilling the sandwich. The other items on the menu may be great. I wouldn’t know, because I keep coming back for this. I get it dressed with diced onions, pepperoncini and mustard.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank RobfromMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

This is a stand in line, order you food and no frills. It would not be on someone's best decorated deli list but who cares you don't eat the decorations. The food is great and get there before they sell out of the homemade salami.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

We saw all the people sitting outside of Gioia's during the Columbus Day Parade and decided to wander inside and see what they had to offer. You step up to the counter and order and then take it with you or find a seat inside or at the tables outside to enjoy your deli delights. The restaurant is small, simple, clean, and the food is very good. I had the Tomato Bisque Soup of the Day and a Small Italian Salad. I was happy with both of my choices. My husband ordered the pick two combo with a Trio Sandwich and an Italian Salad. The half sandwich was a meal in itself and was excellent and included a very different signature hot salami on toasted garlic bread. Prices are very reasonable and we are glad we happened upon this wonderful deli during the Italian Festival being held at Berra Park, which is right across the street.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ThomasTCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018

You know you're in the right place when you arrive for lunch and are surrounded by firefighters and neighborhood residents. Deli sandwiches are made to order with fresh bread, meat, cheeses and almost any addition you like. Order a half sandwich, because you will only want to eat the whole if you have it, but then you will need a nap!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gioia's Deli also viewed

 
Florissant, Saint Louis
 

Been to Gioia's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing