We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican Food”
Review of Mi Ranchito

Mi Ranchito
Ranked #255 of 2,890 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Mexican Food”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Mi Ranchito is a great place for families and anyone who likes freshly prepared mexican food, alcoholc breverages available. It's off the beaten path near the Loop.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Delmargarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    27
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mi Ranchito es Su Ranchito”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Really wonderful all the way around. Wide variety of authentic Mexican food and very reasonably priced. The wait staff is well trained and serves the guests very nicely. Don' be concerned that it is in an out of the way strip mall, once you step foot inside you are in a wonderful cantina atmosphere. Everything on the menu looks good, fresh and tasty ingredients. The house margaritas are quite good and very reasonably priced. We went at three in the afternoon and had a 5 minute wait to be seated but it was cinco de Mayo. If you want good Mexican food in St. Louis this is the place

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hawthfinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Loop area!”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Mi Ranchito is the best. Skip the Loop restaurants and walk the two blocks over to Mi Ranchito. Everyone who lives around here does.. We rarely eat out except when on vacation, but we make an exception for this place. My parents do, as well, and they really rarely eat Mexican. We live behind the Loop and were all skeptical when the place opened up in the strip mall, (we are skeptical of strip malls in general around here:) but it has truly become a local favorite, I have never gone without seeing it packed with neighbors and friends. The place is family run, always spotless, food is fantastic, service always friendly, and it is so cheap! Even though it is usually crowded I think there has only been one time that we had to wait long for food. I agree with past reviewers. don't let the facade fool you. The inside provides a great atmosphere, and definitely order the queso!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UCityJuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
184 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

As a frequent traveler to Mexico (every 4 months), I'm not quite sure why some reviewers believe this place is not authentic. (Yes, Mexico has cheese dip too....it's called queso blanco in Guadalajara.) The food is absolutely dead on authentic, especially tacos de carne asada and the tomatillo sauce. I just wish they served different flavors for their margaritas. Watermellon? Banana? Mango? That would be great!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DU1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food for Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed December 1, 2010

This is a great restaurant when your in the mood for Mexican food. While the place is located in a small strip mall plaza, the decor and ambiance once your inside is very cozy. The restaurant is also very clean. We ate dinner here on a weeknight and it was busy, the parking lot was packed. We got a table as soon as we arrived and our waiter was great! He brought fresh, hot chips to the table almost immediately and was very efficient and friendly through our entire meal. The prices are also extremely reasonable. It isn't a hole-in-the-wall best Mexican we've ever tasted, but it's certainly a great place to get out and have a cheap but tasty bite to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Ranchito also viewed

 

Been to Mi Ranchito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing