We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little known but really nice Presidential site”

Ulysses S. Grant National Historical Site
Plain City, Ohio
Level Contributor
237 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Little known but really nice Presidential site”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I think most of us only know about General Grant from the history books about the Civil War. It is nice to have a place to learn more about him as a person and how he lived. They have done a great job here and are very friendly. I wish we would have taken the time for the house tour, but they were expecting a school group, so we chose to skip it. We also somehow missed the movie, but we did walk around the grounds and museum exhibits. Loved the photos of the family and the quotes from Julia Grant. If you are into Presidential history, this is a don't miss and it's free.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JStarkey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    103
    21
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Top Secret Presidential Site”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Okay, this location is not Top Secret, but is definitely under the radar and overshadowed
by the immediately adjacent Grant's Farm, which i owned by the Busch family and primarily operated by Anheuser-Busch. Also, the site has only been acquired and restored in the past few years.

The price is right- Free.

White Haven was the home of President Grants wife and family for
many years. After graduation from West Point, young Second Lieutenant
Grant met his future wife, Julia Dent, a sister of Fred Dent, a former
roomate The Grants lived on the plantation
at various times, and later owned the property and planned to retire
there after his presidency.
The museum, house, and introductory video provide a great summary in a couple
hours to the life of General / President Grant, his family and life.

The rangers are well informed and friendly. If you have kids, their is a junior ranger's program.

For those who must have original or period furniture in a home, well there is almost none to see

The good news is it is easy to find with your GPS. If you have most of the day, you can
also see the Busch Grant;s Farm (It is apparently closed on Monday - and seasonally as well)

This year is the 150th anniversary of General Grant's ascension to role as Commanding General of the US Army March 9, 1864.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Page, AZ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Not quite sure why US Grant's place to visit within the National Park system is such an unknown. But the Historic Site is well laid out, has a qualified staff, and tells his story very well. There is so much we learned about Grant, and his accomplishments (rather than the more public failures). The home, White Haven, was very peaceful, and relatively easy to get to.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DaWoodshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
142 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A Great Piece of Preserved History and Even Better Guide and Ranger”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My two teens and I accompanied my husband up to the St Louis area while he was there on business. As home schoolers we are always looking for fun, affordable, ways to learn and a former home of a former president and military man fit the bill nicely. Didn't hurt that admission was free.
This was Ulysses S Grant's wife's childhood home and for a time after their marriage, his home as well.
This home is not fully furnished mansion where a guide will lead you by the hand and keep you behind ropes. It has been preserved and modestly restored, minus staging. I, for one, appreciated that it hadn't been furnished. It was a very relaxed, explore at your own pace, tour where you could actually walk through the homes.
Our guide, who gave us the history of the home and the background of the family, was nearby to answer questions and very knowledgeable and ever more personable. I think we spent as much time speaking with her as we did on the tour and in the museum.
This is a beautiful property and a nice tour. Worth the time to take it in.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bookwormwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Washington
Level Contributor
147 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Wonderful site to learn about history”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was a great, well done museum with the best US National Park Guide I have ever encountered. He was a young man whose enthusiasm just spilled over and created interest from those of us who were touring President/US Army General Grant's home. He gave us a history lesson that made Grant and his wife come alive. The home is next to the Budweiser Clydesdale yearling farm and you can drive by to admire the horses in the fields. This would be a great place to take your children.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaryElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ulysses S. Grant National Historical Site also viewed

 

Been to Ulysses S. Grant National Historical Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing