We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and fun detour”
Review of Turtle Playground

Turtle Playground
Ranked #92 of 263 things to do in Saint Louis
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice and fun detour”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We found this accidentally as we were headed to the zoo. Very nice place for a little downtime and fun photos. Nice place to take a little rest and photo ops galore! My mother tried placed her foot in the turtle's mouth while my sister was trying to get a photo of passing cars and trucks being eaten by the snapping turtle. I climbed the large one and if you look closely, there's a teardrop running down its face as he is looking up towards the sky. And it is totally free. it wasn't on our itinerary but happy we spent time there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SunGuyMuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun Playground for kids and kidults.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We visited as we had seen the park from the road on a previous trip. Be careful if you climb on the turtles as they are very slippery and we both fell a few times. Great fun and amazing turtles.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Fun and off the interstate”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

If you need a break after fighting the traffic on the interstate or Forest Park, this is a good place to for the kids to unwind and take pictures. We had a lot of fun climbing on these turtle scupltures and took a lot of pictures. Is it worth going way out of your way? No. But if you are in the area there are plenty of places to grab a bite and and let the kids play.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Unique turtle climbing & fun photos!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

If you are driving on 64/40 through the city you have probably already seen this playground on the opposite side of the interstate across from the zoo. It is totally worth a 30 minute stop. When else do you or your kids get a chance to climb and slide down huge turtle and snake statues?? Plus the photo opts are really fun! The park is run down a bit, some sinking sidewalks and it is right beside a busy interstate, but we have never felt unsafe here. There are always other families with young kids and people sitting in the grass enjoying a quiet moment in the day. They do have a water fountain and restroom facilities on site. On the east end of the park they have a few old time jungle gyms and swing sets including a set for infants. If your looking for a bite to eat you will find a number of really good restaurants in nearby Dogtown.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 50stateswithtwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Playground also viewed

 
Saint Louis, MO
 

Been to Turtle Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing