We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Franco in Soulard is a tip top choice!”
Review of Franco - CLOSED

Franco
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Soulard
Cross street: Carroll Street
Transit: Metrolink at Busch Stadium is only a 10 min walk north from us. This makes us an ideal place to eat real food before or after the game.
Creve Coeur, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Franco in Soulard is a tip top choice!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Met with friends last night at Franco. Since they picked the restaurant (one I had never heard of), I was not sure what to expect. This French restaurant, located on South Eighth Street (across from the Soulard Market), is housed in a converted warehouse. Designers did a terrific job of keeping the decor simple and not packing the tables too closely together. The "open" layout works well and the place was busy, but did not look packed like sardines.

On to the food: We were pleasantly surprised with the variety on the menu. Franco's menu featured a nice balance of appetizers, soups, and salads for starters (I can attest to the excellent French onion soup!). Past that, the main courses - one each for chicken, pork, fish, seafood, beef, lamb, vegetarian - were interesting combinations. Our waiter was terrific at answering our many questions, and at our table nearly every entree was ordered by someone. Desserts included a number of delicious offerings as well.

There is no question we would go back to Franco and try one of the other delectable dishes!

Tip: If you have a group, I would definitely call in advance. The small separate room (where our group was located) was great because it allowed us to all participate in a conversation without bothering other diners.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJandDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    30
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Unexpected and Excellent”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I met a friend at Franco for a late dinner on the last night of a business trip. Even though I'm from out-of-town, it was easy to find from the downtown area. The restaurant is in Soulard, in part of an old shoe factory, right across the street from the Soulard Farmers Market. Honestly, it doesn't look like much from outside, but inside it's stunning. The food was fantastic and the service was excellent. Very upscale, with an unusual items on the menu.

Franco is highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and menu”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was quite partial to the decor and music here. The wait staff match the restaurant. The cheese and fruit appetizer was great, as was the entrees. The waiter could have explained the specials a little better and also had no sense of urgency. Mother than that it was great

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yummycheckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A rare find next to the Soulard Farmers Market.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

In a former factory, this is one of the most quietly elegant restaurants in town. My only regret is that we went prior to the theatre and did not allow enough time for dessert. I can only ditto the comments written on the YELP site. The French Onion soup was fabulous. My husband's shellfish dish was excellent. Our host shared his escargot with us and honestly, it was so good that we ordered more hot bread to 'sop' up the sauce. My steak was the best ever.

This is a sophisticated, quiet restaurant--we didn't see any children--that really hits the mark with soft sophistication and absolutely outstanding care from out server. We will return again--hopefully in the future we'll allow time for the dessert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schsieme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's unique the minute you walk in the door”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Rated one of the top new restaurants in St. Louis when it opened, Franco has continued to be a food lover's vacation from the ordinary. With a dynamic menu, the chef can really take the patron down a French inspired evening. Franco is perfect for a romantic dinner under candlelight, a catch-up with an old friend in a window sill seat or a group dinner in the private room.

Start with the pomme frites and go from there, you won't regret it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franco also viewed

 
Maplewood, Saint Louis
Ladue, Saint Louis
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing