We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can put on pounds just smelling the air.”

Bailey's Chocolate Bar
Ranked #5 of 89 Dessert in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Lafayette Square
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“You can put on pounds just smelling the air.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Chocolate in the air. chocolate paired with beer,chocolate martini,chocolate everything.Best place to take a date.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    66
    25
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
161 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“looks better than it tastes”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Phenomenal ambiance. The menu looks fantastic too. Unfortunately the food doesn't taste as good as it sounds and is pretty pricey. Still worth a trip. Great for a romantic date.

Helpful?
Thank megan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
244 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fun date night”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Bailey's is a fun place for date night or just people watching with your friends. In the times I've visited I have seen wedding proposals, awkward first dates, girls night out, and everything inbetween. Great drinks, good desserts, but if you are looking for a savory meal this isn't the place.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank farm2fork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
385 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“My Favorite Indulgence in St. Louis”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I don’t live in St. Louis but have visited three times on business the last few years, and have gone to the Chocolate Bar every time. On my first visit, it was just my friend and me and we were there for dinner, rather than dessert. We each had the “Missouri” pizzetta - “Local Mushrooms, Roasted Garlic, Mahon, Asiago and Gruyere” – wow, what great flavor! Garlicky and cheesy and salty and earthy – I’m getting hungry just thinking about it now! We were lucky enough to have excellent weather so we sat on the back porch and had a leisurely, wonderful meal.

The next visit was with a group of five, after already having dinner at Mango (delicious!). Were there for dessert and drinks and were not disappointed. Since we had already eaten I was trying very hard to be good and not over indulge, so ordered something small, the Chocolate Hazelnut Pot de Crème – “A Petite Dessert served with Fresh Whipped Cream and Toasted Hazelnuts”. Petite but packed a big flavor punch! Colleagues had a number of other items, including the build-your-own cheese plate (served with bread, dried fruits and nuts), the Blondie (“Studded with Toasted Pecans and White Chocolate and served with Vanilla Ice Cream and Caramel Sauce”), and drinks such as the chocolate martini and the chocolate stout. What a great end to the evening!

Finally, on a recent trip my friend and I went back for dessert and tea. The Blondie I had seen on my previous visit was calling, and I was not disappointed! The Blondie was moist and delicious and when paired with the caramel sauce and vanilla ice cream it was incredibly decadent. Couldn’t finish and I really hated leaving those last few bites.

On every visit service has been excellent with waitstaff making us feel at home and as valued customers. The little chocolate chip cookies that they offer gratis are delicious and very much appreciated. You can probably tell by now that I am addicted to Bailey’s Chocolate Bar, and will absolutely visit every time I am in St. Louis. I only wish we have something similar here in north-central Florida.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank reptileenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I paid for a group of 3. We each had 3 chocolate alcoholic beverages and only one "sample platter" plus 2 slices of cake...with a price of $145!!! So...only go if you are ready for the expense...it is WELL WORTH IT but too pricey for a return trip for me!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheLove0fTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bailey's Chocolate Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bailey's Chocolate Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing