We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum”

Aya SOFIA Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Aya SOFIA Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #204 of 2,881 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Lindenwood Park
Cross street: Jamieson / Plainview
Description: Aya Sofia, St. Louis’ only Turkish restaurant, opened in October 2005 by Turkish Chef Mehmet Yildiz and designer Alicia Aboussie. Our outstanding Turkish cuisine is delicious, fresh, and healthy. We serve lamb, beef, chicken and seafood. Aya Sofia offers a large variety of cold and hot meze (small plates) that are intended to be shared and will complement any of our entrees. Afiyet Olsun (Enjoy your meal)! Aya Sofia has a romantic luxurious atmosphere combined with excellent upscale service and warm Turkish hospitality.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

The entrees are all wonderful but the appetizers really rock. If you like middle eastern food this place is a must. However, there are plenty of good 'ol American choices and the specials are always a treat. If you stop in for lunch, the burger and fries may be the best in St. Louis. Their wine selections are among the best and their specialty drinks are always delicious. Try it soon!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kirkwood, mo
Level Contributor
109 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Superb surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

As we approached the restaurant in the bitter cold, we asked a departing couple"what is good at this restaurant?" because it was our first visit and we had not looked it up, nor did we know anything about it, except that it served Turkish food. He responded "everything". She responded "khofte, really everything".
He was in St. louis for only 6 months and missed his mom's cooking. She had spent time in Istanbul and the food at Aya Sofia tasted authentic and fabulous to her. With that, we entered and joined our friends. The hostess offered to keep our coats in her office for safe keeping, a very appreciated gesture. The server explained as he refilled our elegant tea glasses that each server makes the tea for his / her table. Each pot of tea will be a little different because each hand is a little different. I ordered the khofte and LOVED it. Each dish ordered by our party was truly raved about by the consumer of the dish. We are eager to go back. Ito assure that we will return soon, I gave my husband a gift certificate"promise" to take him to ths restaurant, my treat. I do not care for baklava, so i should not have let my husband choose the similar dessert we agreed to share. Neither of us liked that pistachio-honey - phyllo dessert whose name I can't remember.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
244 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very appealing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Neighbors have recommended Aya Sofia so we went on a Sunday night. There were only a few other diners. Our server was helpful with suggestions and we decided on the meat platter for two which was more food than we could eat. We will probably return to try other menu items which were of interest and to have brunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AClarke625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The food at Aya Sofia is excellent. We love the small plates. Especially, the Seafood Platter. The swordfish kabo is the best. Wine list is extensive. Save room for dessert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank queenofscreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
329 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good food -- poor service on the night we were there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our second visit to this well known & highly recommended place. Additionally they seem to receive mostly positive reviews.

We met some friends and wanted to have a non-rushed and enjoyable dinner together. Well the waiter took at least 20-30 minutes to finally stop by our table after we had to flag down another staff member to get our waiter. The place was busy but not every table was taken so there was no excuse for this and it seems they can use some better training. We ordered a bottle of wine and I must admit I was surprised & pleased to see their selection which was not expected from this type of restaurant. When he came back with the wine we made sure to order the meal since we didn’t want to wait again.
We decided to try to combination dip platter. It came with humus, a dip called Biber Ezme
(roasted red peppers and olives) and Babaganus (eggplant) served with warm pita. The dips were very good and the portion size was good enough for four of us to share. We also tried the lentil soup which unfortunately was just average (especially after recently being in Detroit where I had the best lentil soup).

For main dishes we had two of the whole fish specials (which were very good), one Iskender platter (beef & lamp mixed and sliced like a Gyro) which was good and the Mediterranean Chicken breast over sundried tomatoes and sautéed potatoes. The chicken was not very good and the portion size was much smaller than the other entrees. I would stay away from that one.

They do take reservations and the bank parking lot next door is available for overflow parking as their lot is very small. If you want another treat, you can walk across the street for a famous St. Louis dessert. You will recognize it by the long lines and loads of people waiting for custard.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aya SOFIA Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aya SOFIA Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing