We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great address on Lafayette Park” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Park Avenue Mansion Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Louis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Park Avenue Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 26 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great address on Lafayette Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

Wonderful B&B on Lafayette Park in the heart of a quiet neighborhood. Spacious and clean rooms. Great back yard patio, surrounded by fountains. Perfect for reading and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank copper16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
140
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

We had 3 lovely days in a very nice balcony room overlooking a huge deck and garden. This B&B is in a nice neighborhood adjacent to a park for our morning stroll and is close to excellent restaurants. We had great food for breakfast and good conversations with the hosts. We would love to return when the weather will permit a leisurely Sunday brunch on the deck. Lee, Norman, OK

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldsport73072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

We have stayed at the Park Ave 5 times, most recently in May 2010. This is by far our favorite B&B out of dozens we have stayed in over the years. Mike and Kathy are very gracious, acommodating hosts. The rooms are comfortable, tastefully decorated & roomy with nice touches such as mini fridge, HD television, DVD/VCR, some have large spa tubs for two! But we enjoy lounging in the fantastic garden or in the living room & study. Breakfasts are always nicely presented & tasty, we have never had the same meal twice in 16 mornings and never left the table hungry! Every breakfast has been served +/- 15 min of schedule, even on special event weekends such as the home tour, graduations, etc. In May we had a group of six for our daughter's SLU Law graduation and it was so nice sharing the time in a comfy home. this was the same weekend as cwrowe's visit. He is wrong about the breakfast delay; at most it was served at 9:15. Our group played board games,
drank wine & relaxed together unlike we could have done in a hotel. Lafayette Square is a great central location for seeing St Louis and has many great restaurants in walking distance from the Park Avenue Mansion. I can't recommend Mike & Kathy's Inn enough - come and stay yourself for a fantastic get away!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

My wife and I were looking for a quick little weekend getaway from Chicago to celebrate our anniversary. We settled on St. Louis, as I had lived there for a number of years and she hadn't ever had the opportunity to visit. I'll dissect this into three parts: Bed, Breakfast, and Booking.

Bed: We felt that the room was a fantastic value. We had a fine queen bed, beautiful marble-tiled bathroom, wonderful view of both the small and peaceful garden in the adjacent lot and of the Arch. The remainder of the appointments in the space were welcome as well. The modern conveniences...a mini-fridge, telephone, alarm clock and LCD TV were unobtrusive for the most part. The decoration in the home was considered carefully, with some tongue-in-cheek portraits of dogs wearing military uniforms hung in the staircase, complementing the otherwise fairly consistent Victorian-era decor. Amusing. Considered on the whole, we really enjoyed our room.

Breakfast: Not great, but not terrible. Perhaps the home was catering to a different sort of visitor who didn't have such a rigid schedule, but when we were told breakfast would be served at 9 AM and to "please ensure that we were there on time." We assumed that meant pretty close to 9, and with a full day of sightseeing planned, we also hoped that would be the case. Due to what we were told was the humidity in the area having a negative effect on the quiche/souffle rising in the oven, we were not invited to the breakfast table until 9:50. Coffee was available and the rest of the guests were enjoyable to speak with, but neither my wife nor I really wanted to be continually told, "It'll just be a few minutes" and then have breakfast nearly an hour later. The breakfast was pleasant enough...a small quiche with some ham, cheese and sprigs of rosemary on top. The side was about a half-dollar sized portion of hashbrown, and two strawberries that had been chocolate-dipped. No real complaints, just nothing we felt we could rave about. Coupling that with the fact that it came so much later than we anticipated, we skipped breakfast on Sunday in favor of striking out and finding somewhere else to eat at...you know...an ordinary breakfast time. If you have the time to wait though and enjoy a couple hours of small talk with the other guests, then perhaps this may be for you. Also, grab your appropriate grain of salt--I am basing my opinion on one breakfast. In speaking with some of the other guests, I believe that our experience was not the norm. (Both the quality and timeliness.)

Booking: We explained that we would require a late check-in on the online booking form, and the owners were very accomodating, telling us that they would leave us a key in a predetermined location. Great. Easy enough. We received a call to our cell phone from one of the owners around 7 PM asking: "Where are you?" Fair enough question. I told them where we were and that we planned on arriving at the time we had previously agreed upon. I was told: "No, you should be here in about an hour and a half", and got a weird vibe from the tone...like one part travel advice and one part command. Ever feel like you're talking with somebody but not really communicating with them? This was that moment. She just couldn't understand that we were going to take our time to get there, as previously arranged. We arrived at about 10 P.M., greeting some of the other guests who were playing a board game in the parlor, and went straight up to bed as we had an action-packed Saturday planned.

The next morning (while the humidity was causing the quiche to not rise) we received what we felt like was another interrogation about what took us so long to get there. For the security of the B&B and the comfort of the other guests, I completely understand why they want people to arrive within a predetermined window, but if a late arrival was going to be a problem, I suppose we would have just appreciated hearing that up front, and we'd happily have found somewhere else to stay with no hard feelings.

In sum: +1 star for the room and home. +1 star for the centrally located and easy-to-find location. If you've never been to St. Louis before and have no idea what you want to see, these folks are great. If you know what you want to see, just realize that the owners are very proud of their neighborhood, and will try hard to keep you there regardless of whether or not you had other plans! ;o)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cwroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

My husband surprised me with a short trip over Christmas break. We had a really wonderful time here. The Stained Glass gallery across the street was beautiful. I love the bracelet I purchased from them. There were several really good restaurants within walking distance. We went to one for dinner and then the chocolate bar for desert and chocolate martinis.
The room was great, and it had about the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in!
Just a charming get a way. And breakfast the next morning was fantastic!

Highly recommend and I look forward to another visit soon!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glmcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, AR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

This is a wonderful B & B in a great location in historic St. Louis. As fellow innkeepers - we know what to look for and Mike & Kathy do a wonderful job! The house is beautiful, the room was spacious and roomy and had everything we needed, the garden was fabulous and was our favorite area. We spent a lot of time with friends that we were in town visiting so did not on this particular instance do breakfast with Mike & Kathy, but we definitely will next time. The beautiful Lafayette Park was right across the street and my husband got up every morning and walked around the park 2-3 miles and just loved it. Inside the park are some beautiful garden areas and paths. Just down the street are coffee shops, restaurants, shops and just about everything you could want, but it was all very quiet. We are hoping this is our new home away from home! Check out our facebook page for Bridgeford House B & B and see great pictures of Park Mansion and its garden.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2009

Friends gave us a 1-night gift certificate and it was a truly lovely gift. The house and gardens are beautiful. Unfortunately it was a little cool when we were there, but I could easily see spending several hours in the garden area reading and relaxing. The room was very comfortable and had lots of amenities (dvd/video player and a selection of movies, lots of books, small refrigerator). The bed had tons of pillows and was very comfortable. This is a beautiful home and the owners are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EponaStl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#7 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#20 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Avenue Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Avenue Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Park Avenue Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2007 Park Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63104
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Lafayette Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many time award winner, we are located in historic Lafayette Square and are fronted by Lafayette Park itself. Come visit us! Unwind and relax in our fabulous gardens, in front of your warm fireplace in cooler weather, or take a leisurely stroll in Lafayette Park. Within 20 feet of our inn, you will begin the charming walk of shops, restaurants and art galleries. Oh, and you don't want to miss Chef Kathy's breakfasts!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing