We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay (And Eat)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Louis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Park Avenue Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 27 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2008

We have not been to a B&B in several years and I was looking for a place to spend a few days for our wedding anniversary. Wow, did I find a special place. The mansion was beautiful and well restored. Mike and Kathy were terrific as hosts and treated us as though they had known us for years. Kathy provided us with two wonderful breakfasts and Mike filled us in on the history of the mansion. All in all, a great place to stay and the Lafayette Square is a beautiful area now. It has been improved by the neighborhood group so much that we didn't recognize many of the areas. We will definitely return to the Mansion in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Raybar525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 231 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2008

This was our second stay at the Park Avenue Mansion B&B. We first stayed two years ago on our wedding night before we left for our honeymoon. We had such a great time we decided to spend our second anniversary here. Mike and Kathy are such great hosts, they are quite knowledgeable about the city of St. Louis and are very willing to make reccomendations for site seeing or great dining experiences.
There are many great dining establishments as well as other evening entertainment within walking distance of their mansion. The breakfast that Kathy prepares each morning is always terrific. The living quarters are beautiful and very relaxing. We stayed in the Fleur-De-Lys’ both times and would reccomend this room to anyone.
We have already talked about staying at the mansion again in the future. Although, we plan to make arrangements either later in the spring or earlier in the fall so that we may enjoy their beautiful garden setting on the property grounds.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2008

The place is amazing. As stated, we're not generally into B&Bs beause we like privacy. We happened to be in St. Louis for a few months and decided to stay a night at this place. It's not cheap, but we got what we paid for. The house is giagantic; simply huge, likely around 8,000 sq feet if not more. The room was secluded, quiet, elegant, warm, peaceful, modern, and extremely comfortable. Once we arrived at this place, we were not sure whether we should go out for dinner or not. The owners are very nice people, warm and friendly. They have put loads of money, heart, and soul into the mansion. There is an extreme feeling of privacy at this place, and warmth, and yet, it's a B&B. The owners' dogs are in the living room, which we love. They don't bark and they don't bother the guests at all.. we bothered them, if anything, by petting them (the dogs, not the owners) in front of the fireplace. The breakfast was AMAZING and the other guests were great. Dare I say we've changed our opinion regarding B&Bs. After staying at some in Sonoma, St Genevieve MO and others.. we began to think B&Bs were a means of mortgage assistance. This place is austere. It's a step back in time, but modern. They have a huge movie library if you want to watch movies as well. You can sit in the living room and read, talk to guests, stay in your room, or walk down the street 1-2 blocks and dine at 1111, Sqwires, Ricardo's, Square One Brewery, etc, or drive anywhere in the area. Amazing place. Great owners. The couple running the place really do take care of their guests.. We feel like we gained two friends when talking to the owners. They don't rush people at breakfast. The best word to describe breakfast, besides "deliciious.." is "FESTIVE." It was a fun time. Great mattress in the room. We stayed in the Park Avenue room. Jacuzzi, shower, bathroom, flat screen TV, antique dressers, small fridge, 3rd floor, way off the street. The place is among the nicest at which we've ever stayed. Highly highly recommend this place, particulary to visitors of St. Louis. We drove along the riverfront and I recalled what is so special about St. Louis.. the people.. the river.. what a great town.. what a great place to stay as well. Amazing, fun experience! Amazing area. We did not feel at all unsafe at any moment in this area. The house sits on a street corner and is across from a beautiful park.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank blah114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2007

this b & b was just what we needed for a short getaway -- talk about walking into the past -- the mansion is just like a dicken's novel from the 1800's. the owners, michael and kathy gave us a warm welcome, a tour of the house and garden area -- all which were just elegent--the christmas tree (which was tall as the ceiling) plus a wood burning fireplace in the parlor--made the place very cozy -- we felt like family -- both kathy and michael were very eager to share their knownledge about the area--the suggestion to dine at 11-11-mississippi made our night-
the room was to incredible to describe with words -- the jacuzzi tub for two with the glass shower plus a feather bed with a fireplace!! what else could we have wanted --we have already booked again in the near future --

linda and paul

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sillyber4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2007

If you are the type that enjoys a B&B and you're in St Louis, we strongly suggest you check out the Park Avenue Mansion. It's directly across the street from Lafayette Park and in an area with new dining options opening all the time. Kathy and Michel are wonderful hosts, the breakfasts are outstanding, and the garden/patio is a spot for pure relaxation. We have stayed on several occasions and will do so again whenever we visit St Louis.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

WOW! We don't know where to start. Kathy and Michael were hospitable before we even arrived.

The Park Avenue is the place to stay. What a gorgeous old home. Lafayette Square has so much to offer. We wisheD we could have stayed longer.

Our stay in the Park Avenue Suite was more than we expected. Old world charm with modern amenities. The bed was heavenly, the room spacious, and the bathroom belongs in a spa.

Waking up at the Park Avenue is an experience in and of itself. After a job in Lafayette Park, we grabbed coffee and took in the many fountains and seating areas in the yard. Breakfast was served on time and almost as delicious as the conversation and service.

Lee and I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susieb62505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2007

First, this B&B is in a fantastic location- in the park close to the city without being downtown and near to some fun dining options (try the Chocolate Bar!). The park and old homes in the area are beautiful and the house itself is quite quaint. The owners are very nice and gave great ideas for things to do in St. Louis, and served fabulous coffee and breakfast!! We would definitely recommend this as a place to stay for a weekend, vacation, or honeymoon and look forward to an opportunity to return!

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daytravellerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#12 of 123 in Saint Louis
843 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 123 in Saint Louis
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fleur-de-Lys Mansion
#3 of 27 in Saint Louis
471 reviews
Benton Park Inn
#4 of 27 in Saint Louis
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Avenue Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Avenue Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2007 Park Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63104
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Lafayette Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range: $129 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many time award winner, we are located in historic Lafayette Square and are fronted by Lafayette Park itself. Come visit us! Unwind and relax in our fabulous gardens, in front of your warm fireplace in cooler weather, or take a leisurely stroll in Lafayette Park. Within 20 feet of our inn, you will begin the charming walk of shops, restaurants and art galleries. Oh, and you don't want to miss Chef Kathy's breakfasts!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing