We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for St Louis”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Louis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Park Avenue Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 26 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Totally lives up to its reputation. This is a full time job for Mike and Kathy and it shows. They go out of their way to make yoour stay perfect. We stayed in the Lafayette Room on the third floor. Great room but use caution on the narrow stairs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosegrwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 227 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed for the weekend and it was wonderful. very clean. the house was very charming. Kathy and Mike were great host. we stayed in the room with a veiw. we could see the Arch from our room. The park had free concert. kathy and Mike had Lawn chairs for us to use. The food was excellent. When staying I suggest two nights. There is so much to see in St, louis with rich history.

Room Tip: The sun comes up on the side of the house I stayed in. I could have shut the blinds, but I enjoy wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alliotohim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed in the suite and it was amazing.
It was like visiting a relatives house, if your relative was the president.
The breakfast is great. Don't drink too much, or you won't be able to enjoy it ;).
Mike and Kathy go to the greatest lengths to make their guests feel comfortable.
They made our honeymoon very special.

Room Tip: The top floor was very nice and secluded if you don't mind the stairs, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just spent four wonderful nights at Park Ave. This is our second stay at this wonderful 19th century mansion. I can't say enough good things about our hosts, Kathy and Mike. They obviously love their home and their guests. It was just as special this stay as it was three years ago. My mom and I stayed in the LaFayette room, and my son stayed in the Room with a View. It's hard to impress a 17 year old, but my son was. The garden patio is still beautiful. We love the park and walking distance to many delightful restaurants. The location is very convenient to everything St. Louis has to offer; downtown, Forest Park, etc. We look forward to a return stay . . . all the way from Florida.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

It is without reservation and with the utmost enthusiasm that my husband and I would recommend Park Avenue Mansion for a truly delightful stay in St. Louis. Just 5 minutes from sites such as the Gateway Arch, City Museum, Missouri History Museum, Science Center, Zoo, Botanical Gardens, Cathedral Basilica, etc. and nestled in the beautiful, friendly, and walkable historic Lafayette Park, this B&B provides all of the comforts and amenities you could want for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The mansion has a very personal and welcoming feel with a beautiful interior, fabulous and tranquil garden, library full of books, and movies and games to enjoy before bed!

Kathy and Mike, the Park Avenue owners, were friendly and helpful without being overbearing. Mike was always happy to provide recommendations for attractions and many guests enjoyed talking with him while he prepared a beautiful garden breakfast setting (voted on by those staying at the B&B) while we enjoyed freshly brewed coffee. Kathy prepared delicious creations such as a homemade lemon curd and fruit topped fluffy pancake with a delicate quiche and a puff pastry filled with ham, fresh kale, a perfectly cooked egg, and a vidalia onion sauce. In fact, I want to mention that I was very impressed at the creative and appealing dishes Kathy prepared for a guest with an extremely limited diet caused by food allergies and the effort she placed into ensuring that this guest wasn't lacking the same experience other guests were having.

We enjoyed visiting many of the must-do attractions in St. Louis on our trip but many of our favorite experiences were at the Park Avenue Mansion and in Lafayette Park. In fact, if we would have known ahead of time how much we were going to enjoy the area, we would have stayed a third night. After a walk around the park (1 miles square), dinner at Lafayette Fire Company (try the meatloaf), a great bottle of wine at 33 Wine Shop & Tasting Bar (enjoyed a couple of late night glasses and the atmosphere our first night) and enjoyed a great night of conversation in the Park Avenue’s garden (set to the sound of numerous fountains), gooey butter cake and coffee at Park Avenue Coffee (the Elvis), and the many treats we were able to bring home for our boys from Four Muddy Paws, we can’t recommend Park Avenue Mansion and Lafayette Park enough! We’re returning soon!

~Indy’s two from The Room with a View

Room Tip: We had a great view of the Gateway Arch from the Room with a View! On our next trip, we plan to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndysTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I highly recommend this B&B. The Balcony room was comfortable and had the most amazing view of the unbelievable garden below. The Lafayette Square area is really amazing. Take a stroll through the large community park right across the street, or walk through the neighborhood and take in all the historic homes and amazing landscaping. Great restaurants within walking distance and convenient parking right in front of the B&B. Most of all, you will enjoy the friendliness of the owners and the tales they have to tell.

Room Tip: Balcony room has a beautiful sitting area over the gardens and gazebo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We first stayed at the Park Avenue on recommendation from a family member. Previously, we had not discovered the beautiful, quaint, relaxing neighborhood that is Lafayette Square. But now that we have, we wonder why we ever stayed anywhere else, and have since happily returned. The neighbor is great, with a lovely park and lots of good restaurants, as well as being easy to travel to/from for other local attractions. And we can not say enough about the warmth and care given by Mike and Kathy! From providing beautiful accommodations, to delicious breakfasts, to helpful suggestions on dining and activities, to lots of special little touches in the rooms and throughout the home, they make staying at this beautiful bed and breakfast all the more wonderful! We already look forward to returning to the Park Avenue again!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank crw2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
0.9 mi away
St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
11.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
6.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fleur-de-Lys Mansion
Fleur-de-Lys Mansion
#3 of 26 in Saint Louis
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Benton Park Inn
Benton Park Inn
#4 of 26 in Saint Louis
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Avenue Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Avenue Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2007 Park Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63104
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Lafayette Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range: $129 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many time award winner, we are located in historic Lafayette Square and are fronted by Lafayette Park itself. Come visit us! Unwind and relax in our fabulous gardens, in front of your warm fireplace in cooler weather, or take a leisurely stroll in Lafayette Park. Within 20 feet of our inn, you will begin the charming walk of shops, restaurants and art galleries. Oh, and you don't want to miss Chef Kathy's breakfasts!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing