We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“breathtaking & romantic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Park Avenue Mansion Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Louis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Park Avenue Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 26 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
MO
1 review
“breathtaking & romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2007

this b & b was just what we needed for a short getaway -- talk about walking into the past -- the mansion is just like a dicken's novel from the 1800's. the owners, michael and kathy gave us a warm welcome, a tour of the house and garden area -- all which were just elegent--the christmas tree (which was tall as the ceiling) plus a wood burning fireplace in the parlor--made the place very cozy -- we felt like family -- both kathy and michael were very eager to share their knownledge about the area--the suggestion to dine at 11-11-mississippi made our night-
the room was to incredible to describe with words -- the jacuzzi tub for two with the glass shower plus a feather bed with a fireplace!! what else could we have wanted --we have already booked again in the near future --

linda and paul

  • Liked — everything was clean, beautiful, space
  • Disliked — had to go home
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sillyber4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
140
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
721 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2007

If you are the type that enjoys a B&B and you're in St Louis, we strongly suggest you check out the Park Avenue Mansion. It's directly across the street from Lafayette Park and in an area with new dining options opening all the time. Kathy and Michel are wonderful hosts, the breakfasts are outstanding, and the garden/patio is a spot for pure relaxation. We have stayed on several occasions and will do so again whenever we visit St Louis.

  • Liked — Hosts
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington,va
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2007

WOW! We don't know where to start. Kathy and Michael were hospitable before we even arrived.

The Park Avenue is the place to stay. What a gorgeous old home. Lafayette Square has so much to offer. We wisheD we could have stayed longer.

Our stay in the Park Avenue Suite was more than we expected. Old world charm with modern amenities. The bed was heavenly, the room spacious, and the bathroom belongs in a spa.

Waking up at the Park Avenue is an experience in and of itself. After a job in Lafayette Park, we grabbed coffee and took in the many fountains and seating areas in the yard. Breakfast was served on time and almost as delicious as the conversation and service.

Lee and I hope to return soon!

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susieb62505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tx
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2007

First, this B&B is in a fantastic location- in the park close to the city without being downtown and near to some fun dining options (try the Chocolate Bar!). The park and old homes in the area are beautiful and the house itself is quite quaint. The owners are very nice and gave great ideas for things to do in St. Louis, and served fabulous coffee and breakfast!! We would definitely recommend this as a place to stay for a weekend, vacation, or honeymoon and look forward to an opportunity to return!

  • Liked — Owners were so accomodating and gave great suggestions that helped us enjoy our trip to St. Louis
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daytravellerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2006

We just returned from our annual Mardi Gras trek. This was our first year at Park Avenue Mansion B&B on Lafayette Square. We have stayed at several B&B's during our travels, but this was one of the best. Our room was gorgeous - view of the Arch, two person jacuzzi and fireplace. The breakfast was incredible. Michael gave us a history of the house over breakfast Sunday morning.

I can't stress enough the impeccable service we received and the ambience of this home. Very relaxed, beautiful, every little thing was thought of.

There are several very good places for dining - we highly recommend Sqwires.

A very safe neighborhood - lots of little bistros, art galleries, just a wonderful neighborhood.

If you are going to St. Louis and want to stay away from downtown, be sure to stay at Park Avenue.

If anyone needs further recommendations, let me know - I will be happy to share further reviews!

Enjoy your trip!

Helpful?
3 Thank rikkirn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#7 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#20 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Avenue Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Avenue Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Park Avenue Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2007 Park Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63104
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Lafayette Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many time award winner, we are located in historic Lafayette Square and are fronted by Lafayette Park itself. Come visit us! Unwind and relax in our fabulous gardens, in front of your warm fireplace in cooler weather, or take a leisurely stroll in Lafayette Park. Within 20 feet of our inn, you will begin the charming walk of shops, restaurants and art galleries. Oh, and you don't want to miss Chef Kathy's breakfasts!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing