We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, accommodations and free breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park
Ranked #3 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I booked a room here for my family of 4 for a week because of its close proximity to a camp my son was attending. The hotel is recently remodeled so everything is new including the beds! Our room was the perfect size with 2 queen beds, a living room area with fold out sofa, a desk and a kitchenette. Having high ceilings made the room feel even larger than it was. We appreciated staying on the first floor not having to deal with elevators. They serve a free breakfast every day, which is located in the lobby, They serve both hot and cold foods - something for everyone. Some afternoons they have cookies in the lobby - Yum! Parking is also free. The employees were all so friendly. We were surprised to find how close it is to Forest Park, downtown and pretty much every tourist attraction we wanted to visit. Be sure to visit the City Museum - its the best!

Room Tip: Room 101 was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyGio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during late July 2011, even though the hotel Trip Advisor rating here was low - one person trashed the place because his car was broken into - he was not a guest, just used their parking lot and then has the cajones to criticize them!

Anyway, this hotel deserves high scores in every category - the staff was wonderful, the room was spotless, the morning breakfast service perfect. The hotel is located in a great spot for business and vacations - centrally, near the freeways etc.

We stay in Hampton Inns all over the USA and this is one of the very best and we all know how consistent this brand is at every location.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablo_in_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Dear Pablo_in;

We really appreciate you and your wife chosing to stay with us. I understand that you read the reviews and still gave us a chance. Thank you so much! We know that Trip Advisor is where many people turn for comments, and we take each and every one very seriously. We were disappointed in the review from the guest that did not stay with us; we are thrilled that you were able to overlook their response.

Thank you for finding our facility very clean and thank you for noting that our staff were wonderful. We do, definitely, strive for cleanliness and friendliness.

Hampton Inn does try to be consistent with the next and thank you for the kind comment regarding our "perfect" breakfast - that is AWESOME!!

Please stay with us if you return to the St. Louis area for business or pleasure - We Love Having You Here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Loved everything about this property. The plush pillows and linens on our King Sized Bed. The individual controls on our air conditioning unit. Free parking. Free super-sized breakfdast buffet. Nice outdoor patio area connected with the adjoining restaurant, the Highlander Pub and Grill, which had very good food. The business center was ample. Free Wi-Fi in the rooms. Very quit, despite being totally booked and situated adjacent to I-64. Loved the oversized couch and work tables in our king suits. We could walk to the Science Center, just a few blocks further east on Oakland Ave. Although the name is "Forest Park" Hampton, this incredible urban park is situated on the other aide of the interstate, making walking access impossible. Downtown access is easy via I-64 -- just about a 10 minute drive. The staff were friendly and accommodating -- we had requested in advance a room far away from the elevators, and our request was granted.
We chose this location because my brothers live just a couple on miles south off Hampton Ave. We travel to St. Louis frequently, and we'll opt for this property again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy8550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

Dear Andy8550;

Thank you for your comments in the review that you left on Trip Advisor! Many guests read these when making their decisions of where to stay.

You are not the first to mention our Fresh & Clean bedding. We feel we have the best beds available!!

We are thrilled you enjoyed our Hot on the House breakfast after a comfy night's sleep.

Since you will return, it is much easier to walk to Forest Park if you cross over Hampton Ave. and make a right on Tamm Ave. This takes you right into the South Entrance of the Zoo, which is FREE! Also, on your path, you will pass by Turtle Park which is fun to see.

If you are wanting to hit the walking trails in Forest Park, you can cross over Oakland Ave. near the Science Center, and take the tunnel that lies under Hwy 64/40. This drops you right on to the trails.

Again, thank you and we can not wait for your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for three nights and were very pleased. The hotel was clean with a friendly and helpful staff. The complimentary breakfast was better than at most hotels we've stayed at in the past. There is an indoor pool although it was small. The location is excellent. The zoo is no more than 5 minutes away, Six Flags is 20 to 30 minutes and other city attractions are very close as well. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KOSmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

Dear Piqua41;

Thank you for staying at our "home" and leaving a nice review, for others to read, on Trip Advisor! It is greatly appreciated. We take all comments, good and / or bad, into consideration when trying to make things perfect for our guests.

We are pleased that you found our location conducive to the sites that you chose to frequent, when in the area.

We do hope to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Close to the zoo, science center, beautiful Forest Park, St. Louis University, and the Central West End of fantastic St. Louis. We'd definitely stay here again for the great price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piqua41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Dear Piqua41;

Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you found our location a perfect spot for visiting the Zoo. We are the closest hotel to the Zoo, and you can even walk over and leave your car here, for complimentary parking.

It is awesome that you got to visit SLU (St. Louis University), the Science Center (where you can also leave your car here for comp parking & walk to), Forest Park (which has many attractions) and the Central West End.

We do look forward to having you stay with us again and hope that our pricing will be withing your budget, on your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Hamptons are like old friends, no surprises. This one is close to St Louis zoo. The service was good, room amenities nice, and hotel in good condition. There were only two disappointments 1) the breakfast buffet was meager 2) when we booked we asked for early check-in but when we arrived that was forgotten. The hotel incidentally is child friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

Dear SuTengKai;

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a favorable view on Trip Advisor. All comments are read, taken to heart, and used to improve our facility.

We do try to meet requests, such as early check in, but can not guarantee this. It all depends on who is staying over, arrivals, departures, and house keeping; it is a delicate mix. I apologize that we did not have a room ready, upon your arrival.

We do our best to have some variety in the breakfast area and rotate our hot items. I understand how it can get when we are slammed, especially on the weekends. We do staff two breakfast attendees on the weekends and a manager should always be available as an "extra hand". I am sorry that you found this area meager and it did not meet your expectations.

I am assuming you visited the zoo and I am happy that you found our location good for this! We do strive for cleanliness and friendliness and Love Having You Here! Please come back and stay with us!

Happy 4th of July!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I wasnt even staying at this hotel, I was at the loft apartments across the street and my car and three others were broken into as well as some in the hotel parking lot. They have a rentacop who drives around the property in a spraypainted black suv but I guess he was asleep in his car that night.
Luckily they just popped my door handle out to break in but the other cars had their windows completely shattered. They got my GPS which was in my locked glove compartment, not laying out or visible at all. So I asked the officer why they broke into ours on the side of the building and not the ones on the corner and he said people break into the cars around this hotel often because its mainly tourists parked there and theyre out of town by the time someone is even caught.
I know its not technically the hotel's fault and Im not blaming them and staying here would have been convenient a handful of times, but I dont plan to. If its not something they can prevent then its not worth it.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
2  Thank larissaexplains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

Hi Larissaex;

Thank you for leaving a review on Trip Advisor, even though you weren't staying with us. We read all comments and do take all reports very seriously.

We do try to alleviate the break ins, but unfortunately, hotel parking areas draw the criminals. We have security from 10p - 6a and, with being in the Loft District, the owners of this area have hired security to monitor parking.

Honestly, are parking area is hit "less" than some areas that are right at the entrance / exit to the highways.

I do hope that you will reconsider staying with us, when the time is right.

Again, we appreciate your comments and Love Having You Here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park

Address: 5650 Oakland Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#24 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $118 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park is just minutes from popular attractions in the beautiful Forest Park area of St. Louis. The hotel is only 3 blocks away from the St. Louis Zoo and just a couple miles from Washington University and St. Louis University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Louis At Forest Park
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis At Forest Park Hotel Saint Louis
Hampton Inn Forest Park
Hampton Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing