We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roaches in kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown
Ranked #40 of 122 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Loved it until I saw 3 roaches run for cover (kitchen counter) as i turned on lights at 2AM to adjust thermostat. We did not have any food in the kitchen either. Darn! I really loved it until then (friendly/accomodating staff, looked clean, family friendly, pool for our child). Old mattress too.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellerzdtxfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 431 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2010

Author's Note: I appreciate candid reviews as found on Tripadvisor, and use the content to determine property stays for business & personal. While some are right on, others are way off - which I found to be the case for this property.
In town for the NTEA convention - EXCELLENT STAY including location, security, rates, cleanliness, attention to detail, and professional conduct as one might expect from a Marriott property. I stayed 3 nights receiving a warm reception and departure. The nightly manager's special included a simple, yet well rounded meal (FREE for guests) - Beef Stroganoff, Fish & Chips, Chefs Salad - all very tasty and well prepared. Carlos serves as property manager - trustworthy - leader. My 4th floor studio was well maintained, clean and comfortable. Everything worked as expected. Parking - previous reviews noted several break-ins. Since December, this property employs security from 7:00PM - 7:00AM, and upon my departure was the installation of an electonic security gate. I had no troubles, nor did my colleagues.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnAreaLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

My husband, 16 month old daughter & myself stayed here for 3 nights. Since we were traveling with someone so young, we brought food for her and loved the kitchen/dinette area to store the food and a place to feed her. Our first evening was Sunday and we noticed the garbage disposal didn't work. Within 5 minutes of calling the front desk, the maintenance man was at our door and fixed the problem.
There was a good variety of food for breakfast, and their "snacks" during the 5 &6pm hours (I believe it was those 2 hours) were more like a meal, so that saved money for us.
Everyone was friendly, had no problems. Plenty of parking (free) in their lot. If we are ever in St. Louis again we would come back here!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broncoalum97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a sofa bed. That's what sold it for us since we were traveling with family and friends. It was great to be able to share this suite and yet have privacy from each other. We weren't crowded. The kitchenette was nice and the complimentary breakfast was exceptional. The breakfast staff was the friendliest I have seen anywhere! The beds and pillows were soooo comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgirl4781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

The hotel, staff and rooms were all wonderful. The breakfast and evening social were great. Say Hi! to Angie who always makes your breakfast better. And the shuttle service was good.
BUT>>>>> We brought our dog and from the first time I walked her in the doggie area, there was a Mockingbird that literally attacked me on the back of the head. It followed me and tried again I had to use the leash to swat at it to protect us. I had to avoid the area until I was forced to use it again due to sprinkling and this time my husband walked with me and the same %@!* bird went after me again and it went for my husbands face. Now I know where Alfred Hitchcock got the idea from. Unfortunately the bird was protected and the hotel mgr.'s hands were tied.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradyhunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

I would stay there again clean,comfy safe comp. breakfast

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kater1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

I stayed here for 2 weeks for work. The hotel check in was terrible- I had to sit in the lobby for 2 hours while they checked in some conference. I truly felt like a second class citizen since I wasn't in the conference at the convention center. The bar service was laughable and over priced. The location is great for the convention center or casino- other than that it is far out from downtown.

Overall- terrible stay and won't stay again.

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank JL254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Courtyard St Louis Downtown West
Courtyard St Louis Downtown West
#51 of 122 in Saint Louis
252 reviews
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Center / Midtown
Hotel Ignacio
Hotel Ignacio
#42 of 122 in Saint Louis
403 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown

Address: 525 S Jefferson Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63103-3021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Grand Center / Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#37 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $118 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the difference at Residence Inn by Marriott St. Louis Downtown. As the first and only extended stay hotel in downtown, we combine the conveniences of home with the services of a hotel. Wonderfully different and tastefully designed, you will have the option of choosing accommodations from our three various suite types ~ studio, one, and two-bedroom. With our versatile suites featuring fully equipped kitchens, you will have plenty of space for entertaining or meeting with colleagues; and space to work efficiently and comfortably. Experience the difference at Residence Inn by enjoying all of the complimentary extras we offer; deluxe breakfast buffet, evening social hour, high speed internet access, grocery shopping service, and exercise room. With our convenient downtown location, you will be just minutes away from all of the excitement happening in Downtown St. Louis Riverfront-Arch, St. Louis Cardinals, St. Louis Rams, Washington Avenue, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown Hotel Saint Louis
Residence Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing