We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House made cheese was great, however...”
Review of Mosaic - St. Louis - CLOSED

Mosaic - St. Louis
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 10th Street
Description: Located in central loft district on Washington Avenue, this stunning modern fusion restaurant is an eye-pleasing mix of granite tables, high ceilings, tall windows and a beautifully designed curvaceous freestanding bar with exquisite black galaxy granite top. Beneath that striking display of wall art, a row of Bunsen burner-style candelabra anchors a small lounge area with seating pillows along a bamboo bench and a pair of lounge chairs: a little pit of love and fire, the spot where you just know the throngs will cluster once things get under way. Executive Chef Ben Lester, with owner/Chef Claus Schmitz, a German native and veteran of European, American and especially Pacific Rim cuisine offers up such delights as Mosaic Pot Stickers filled with tender suckling pork, Manchego stuffed Quail, Korean BBQ Pork Apple ,Mango Caprese, Flight of Soups & many more. Exceptional food meets exceptional Libations, Fresh fruit Mojitos, Chilling Martini's, and a wealth of experience.
so cal
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“House made cheese was great, however...”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We picked this place for an early bite as it was within walking distance, about a mile, from the stadium (if you like to walk). We walked in around 5:00ish, place about 1/4 full and was asked if we had reservations buy a somewhat surely waitperson. Apparently she had managed to squeeze us in. Decor was modern but kind of disjointed. Chairs looked like cast offs from a previous venture but window booths were ok. Our server was very friendly, ordered a way to expense french rose while DH had a reasonably priced tempernillo.

Had the humas platter which was good, nice extras with chopped toms, olives and chickpeas. The great part is they actually served it with enough pita wedges. Hate it when there is only one cut into pieces, never enough to share. Also ordered a great house made yogurt cheese with a preserved lemon and a cherry chutney, super good, served again with plenty of pita on the side. The only other thing we had was a barbaccoa "dumpling" which I assumed would be an empanada kind of thing. It was just two big chunks of kinda greasy/fatty meat with a couple of masa type balls on the plate, marble size. Not anything that I thought it would be and told the server as such.

Honestly, wouldn't go back but glad we gave it a try. Place was still 3/4 empty when we left at 6:30 or so, wow, what about those reservations, but thanks for trying to make us feel bad for not making any;-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ob23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunon8, Guest Relations Manager at Mosaic - St. Louis, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello OB23
Thank you for trying so many different items and posting your review! The reason we ask if a guest has a reservation is because we use the Open Table Reservation System in which guests receive points for making a reservation and being properly checked in is vital in them receiving their points. Above all, we appreciate the feedback, and don't hesitate to contact us if there is any way you see we can improve.
Cheers!
Nadia B.
Manager of Marketing & Events
nadia@mosaicrestaurants.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    50
    21
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had dined at a different tapas restaurant the night before and Mosaic blew them away. Very knowledgable and personable waiter. Highly recommend the "gyros". Great wine selection by the glass. Will definitely be going back the next time we're in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomrnccp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fun evening!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We stopped into Mosaic after an entire day of stressful meetings. We were starving and this was the closest place. We have been to tapas restaurants before so we were a little nervous about how much food we'd have to order to equate to dinner, especially since we were so hungry. To our surprise the tapas portions were quite generous and each one was beautifully presented and delicious. We ordered something from each category and found ourselves enjoying a wonderful leisurely dinner. We also ordered a few mixed drinks which were perfectly executed. To sum it up, our "chance" evening turned out to be a great way to unwind after a hectic day. We never felt rushed and the staff was very attentive to timing our orders so we never waited too long between dishes. We would highly recommend this place for a different, fun and relaxing experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vheckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“STL Airport location restaurant”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Food was basically good, reasonably priced for an airport restaurant.
Service lacked a bit in the sense that I got my food before I got my glass of wine when the place was close to empty on a Tues afternoon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DBPAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant in St. Louis”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I'm not really a foodie, but I enjoyed Mosaic so much when I visited St. Louis three years ago, that I remembered it and had to go back. It's a tapas place, but that seems to refer more to the smaller portions than Spanish cuisine. They serve modest portion sizes, which allows you to order a couple of things, or eat lightly. Actually, the portions are probably the correct portion size of what we should eat. I love steak, but I don't need a 14 ounce serving. Here the flank steak was maybe 4-5 ounces, equivalent to what some restaurants call "petite". The prices are $8-$12 for the tapas. They also have entrees akin to a normal restaurant's serving size that are around $15-$20.
I went with a group, and everything was excellent. I tried the fried artichoke hearts, the flank steak, Caesar salad, tomato and mozzarella salad, strawberry sorbet, s'more pie and apple tart. Oh, and the thick cut potato chips that they serve as an appetizer. For dessert, they bring a cup of little spoons so you can share desserts, sampling different ones.
The food is served as it's ready, and it took a while for the food to arrive--somehow all my plates arrived at once. I also hear it gets very busy, so you'll want to make a reservation ahead of time. We had no problem getting a reservation on a Tuesday for a party of 8 at 6:30, but there was no availability Monday night for walk-ins. The service is attentive and friendly.
It's only two blocks from the Convention Center, so a good place if you're in town for a conference.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrissyHny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosaic - St. Louis also viewed

 
Webster Groves, Saint Louis
Maplewood, Saint Louis
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing