We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems promising, even if it isn't my type of place”
Review of Mosaic - St. Louis - CLOSED

Mosaic - St. Louis
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 10th Street
Description: Located in central loft district on Washington Avenue, this stunning modern fusion restaurant is an eye-pleasing mix of granite tables, high ceilings, tall windows and a beautifully designed curvaceous freestanding bar with exquisite black galaxy granite top. Beneath that striking display of wall art, a row of Bunsen burner-style candelabra anchors a small lounge area with seating pillows along a bamboo bench and a pair of lounge chairs: a little pit of love and fire, the spot where you just know the throngs will cluster once things get under way. Executive Chef Ben Lester, with owner/Chef Claus Schmitz, a German native and veteran of European, American and especially Pacific Rim cuisine offers up such delights as Mosaic Pot Stickers filled with tender suckling pork, Manchego stuffed Quail, Korean BBQ Pork Apple ,Mango Caprese, Flight of Soups & many more. Exceptional food meets exceptional Libations, Fresh fruit Mojitos, Chilling Martini's, and a wealth of experience.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Dined here on Saturday night with a few friends. It was obvious we were under-dressed (hoody, jeans) since we had attended a Cardinals game earlier that day (most people were dressed a bit nicer -- business casual). The menu is a bit limited, but everything I ate was good, even if the portions were a bit small.

The rest of my group loved their choices, and I will say the service was great, and the food well prepared and of good quality. The atmosphere is also nice. There is also a nice looking lounge in there as well.

Though the place isn't my first choice due to the smaller menu, I understand why people would like it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mhawrysko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunon8, Guest Relations Manager at Mosaic - St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hello MartCHawk,

Thank you so very much for your review, we are always happy to hear from happy guests.
Please do not hesitate to contact us any time with other ways you think we could improve. Your feedback is valuable and we want to ensure each of our guests has a great experience with us EVERY time.
We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Nadia B.
Manager of Marketing & Events
nadia@mosaicrestaurants.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Mosaic - St. Louis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 171 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

The atmosphere was hip, trendy and cool at Mosaic. The food was interesting and there was a nice wine and beer selection. The service was friendly without being in your face and this establishment is open for lunch, snacks and dinner. I was surprised at how much we enjoyed this place. I wonder how many other great dining finds abound in St. Louis.

Thank adiosandviacondios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunon8, Guest Relations Manager at Mosaic - St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hello adiosandviacondios,
Thank you so very much for your review, we are always happy to hear from happy guests.
Please do not hesitate to contact us any time with other ways you think we could improve. Your feedback is valuable and we want to ensure each of our guests has a great experience with us EVERY time.
We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Nadia B.
Manager of Marketing & Events
nadia@mosaicrestaurants.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I went with 5 people, who ordered drinks, appetizers and a main dish. They made 4 different trips to the table to bring the appetizers. The drinks took a long time to come to the table also. Only the 2 orders of mussels arrived at the table together, one of the main dishes did not arrive until most of us were finished eating. They used to have only tapas on the menu and they have not got the timing down yet.

Thank DianeC91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunon8, Guest Relations Manager at Mosaic - St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hello Diane,
Thank you so very much for your review. Please note that the menu does state, "Mosaic serves its dishes market style, food is prepared to order and presented as completed in no particular order." The server should have mentioned this to the table as well and I will make sure that they continue to let future guests know of this style of service.
Please do not hesitate to contact us any time with other ways you think we could improve. Your feedback is valuable and we want to ensure each of our guests has a great experience with us EVERY time.
We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Nadia B.
Manager of Marketing & Events
nadia@mosaicrestaurants.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

If so then there are options here for you! They were featuring a butternut squash soup the night we were at their downtown St, Louis location and it was to die for!! Portions were perfect although I found it a little disturbing that for a party of six they only brought out two plates of bread with two pieces of bread on them. Luckily there were two of us in the party that don't eat bread for various reasons, although our server didn't know that.
The server was very courteous, explained the best way to approach their menu and offered tips on making the most of their small plates to create an appetizer sampler that could double as dinner for all of us.
When we were ordering our meal he also let us know that if anyone needed a substitution for dietary/health reasons that they could accomodate them at no extra charge.
Great ambience, great service, great menu and great prices.

Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

You know it's fun to go out on Mondays and Tuesday's when places are not so busy. You really get a true feel for the service and the food. Mosaic is one of our all time favorite places to eat anywhere. The food will leave you wanting to return and the service is over the top good. Maggie was or server and she took us through the menu and we had so much fun ordering, eating, ordering, more eating, and just taking our time and enjoying the wonderful food and service. We must have tried 10 to 15 different thing and i can't tell you want I liked best it was all so good. Tapas is just a fun way to try different things and enjoy friends over a meal.
It was fun to meet the manager, Mark I believe, and find out he worked for many years at one of our favorite places near where we live, small world.
Try Mosaic for a fun great meal, you will not leave disappointed or hungry. And take my hint try date night with that special person on a off night and feel the difference when it's not so crowded.

Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunon8, Guest Relations Manager at Mosaic - St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Hello Glen S.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our Staff does its utmost each day to ensure that all our guests feel at home, and special, while they are here, so we’re delighted you experienced just that! I hope that you’ll have the chance to return in the future; it would be a pleasure to host you once again.
Best,
Nadia B.
Manager of Marketing & Events
nadia@mosaicrestaurants.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosaic - St. Louis also viewed

 
Maplewood, Saint Louis
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing