We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch is Five Star Quality and Creativity at a Two-Three Star Price”
Review of Mosaic - St. Louis - CLOSED

Mosaic - St. Louis
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 10th Street
Description: Located in central loft district on Washington Avenue, this stunning modern fusion restaurant is an eye-pleasing mix of granite tables, high ceilings, tall windows and a beautifully designed curvaceous freestanding bar with exquisite black galaxy granite top. Beneath that striking display of wall art, a row of Bunsen burner-style candelabra anchors a small lounge area with seating pillows along a bamboo bench and a pair of lounge chairs: a little pit of love and fire, the spot where you just know the throngs will cluster once things get under way. Executive Chef Ben Lester, with owner/Chef Claus Schmitz, a German native and veteran of European, American and especially Pacific Rim cuisine offers up such delights as Mosaic Pot Stickers filled with tender suckling pork, Manchego stuffed Quail, Korean BBQ Pork Apple ,Mango Caprese, Flight of Soups & many more. Exceptional food meets exceptional Libations, Fresh fruit Mojitos, Chilling Martini's, and a wealth of experience.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Second five star restaurant in St Louis is 3 days (along with Bridge Tap and Wine). This is a four star restaurant operating at a five star value. We went for lunch and saw none of the problems other reviewers did, except that it took a minute for a host to bring us to our seats: this is because they have the inner doors to the restaurant and bar closed because of the cold weather outside, and at a slow lunch, they had no one at the host podium. But the host podium area is all glassed in, so they can see you. If they had taken another minute or two, though, I may have taken a point off.

The lunch menu is very reasonably priced only a step, step and half above fast food, and what you get for that is outrageous, both in quality and creativity. The place is decorated nicely, high ceilings, mixture of wood and some modern colors with large high windows to the street. Lunch menu has an $8 half sandwich half salad special that is enough for an acceptable size lunch, add on an appetizer for the $6-$8 range and you're plenty full. The salad was creative and the dressing v tasty. Sandwiches were a small twist on the normal, with creative changes of ingredients. The Lettuce Wraps were v tasty and unusual for the US (though in Asia you'll see something very similar). The fried artichoke hearts were only just good. And the service, possibly because it was a late lunch and wasn't crowded, was above average.

Wow what a great lunch meal for the price, would have gone back the next day if I lived or worked around there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SeattleSeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunon8, Guest Relations Manager at Mosaic - St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Hello SeattleSeth,
Thank you for trying so many different items and posting your review! We are always excited to hear that you were pleased with our offerings and service. Above all, we appreciate the feedback, and don't hesitate to contact us if there is any way you see we can improve. We very much look forward to hosting you again very soon.
Cheers!
Nadia B.
Manager of Marketing & Events
nadia@mosaicrestaurants.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 171 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

My boyfriend brought me here for my Birthday dinner and it was a first time visit for both of us. We didnt know what to expect. We had reservations at 8:30p and when we arrived on time we were made to wait about 15 mins when they werent even full. We sat at the bar and had a drink which had a great vibe to it. The bartender was very nice and chatty. When we got to the table the waiter basically tried to upsell us explaining that the portions were very small. He claimed 2 plates per person was average. This would of been way too much food. We ordered 3 plates for the 2 of us and we were definitely full afterwards. We had the hummus appetizer which was heavenly. It came with warm peta bread and all sorts of things to mix in the hummus (olives, tomatoes, feta, etc) Def reccomend that! I had the rosmary chicken which was also a hit. Amazing flavors and the chicken was cooked to perfection. My boyfriend had the flank steak. The portion was pretty small but the flavor was again spot on. It came with mashed potatoes that were to die for. There were only a small amount of them on the plate but we basically wanted to lick the plate clean with how great the flavor was.
Overall we had a good experience. I would come back for sure to try different things.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bella12bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunon8, Guest Relations Manager at Mosaic - St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Hello Bella12b,
Thank you for trying so many different items and posting your review! We are always excited to hear that we've pleased another guest with our offerings. Above all, we appreciate the feedback, and don't hesitate to contact us if there is any way you see we can improve. We very much look forward to hosting you again very soon.
Cheers!
Nadia B.
Manager of Marketing & Events
nadia@mosaicrestaurants.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The decor is nice and the place has a cool vibe but the food was just pitiful. We ordered 6 dishes and only 2 were good (not great). Both martinis I tried were also DISGUSTING....Not to mention we spent $150 and were still starving afterwards.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Breeze S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

As we entered the restaurant, there was nobody there to seat us. After waiting a long while, we called them on the phone; the hostess, who was the saltiest thing there, said unapologetically that she was busy. However our waiter (Justin) was excellent - very attentive and made some great recommendations.

The food was a blend of tapas and Americana appetizers. The mushroom tart, pork potstickers, and tuna tartar were fabulous; but the short rib sliders were dry and overcooked, and the scallops were fresh and tasty but a bit too sweet. Not sure if there was anything very Spanish about the place, but they did have small plates. Actually, they were a bit larger than normal, which is fine - just the usual 3 plates per person was a bit too much to eat.

Overall it was good but not great. We were happy enough with dinner but wouldn't rush back for more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Booked a group of approximately 25 for dinner at Mosaic in a private room. The dinner selection was a limited menu - the portions were small, the food was average and the service was so-so. We asked for bread for the table and two plates with 4 small pieces were served. Amazingly average!

I have no need to go back.

Thank rhajah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunon8, Guest Relations Manager at Mosaic - St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Hello Rahjah,
Thank you so very much for your review. Please note that if this was a booked event, the menu provided was chosen by your host and remained within the budget provided.
Please do not hesitate to contact us any time with other ways you think we could improve. Your feedback is valuable and we want to ensure each of our guests has a great experience with us EVERY time.
Sincerely,
Nadia B.
Manager of Marketing & Events
nadia@mosaicrestaurants.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosaic - St. Louis also viewed

 
Webster Groves, Saint Louis
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing