We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent museum”

Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Park
Kailua Kona, HI
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent museum”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

There is an excellent museum about the Westward expansion in the underground of the arch. The car ride to the top of the Arch was with it. Cool views of the city and river.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keikidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    107
    35
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the visit....bigger than I thought”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

You can't go to St. Louis and not visit the arch. It is bigger than I thought. If you are going to go, go in the morning as the lines grow as the morning goes on. We walked right on early on Sunday Morning, but as we left lines were forming. Lots of construction going on surrounding the arch, but this is not an issue.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank pachuta24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A few hints for a new visitor to the Arch...”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

With the construction, parking is difficult at best. If you're staying downtown or near the Metro, walking or transit may be a better choice. On our visit, security was moving very slow, and most visitors were entering via the north leg of the arch. Check the south leg to see if it's open, lines were very short on the south leg of the arch. I also recommend the film on the building of the arch, while it's now a vintage film, it's worth the time, and reminded me that while the Arch has been a fixture in St Louis as long as I can remember, it was been around for only 50 years.
Also, take a few moments to view the Eads Bridge just north of the Arch. When built in 1874 across the Mississippi River, it was an architectural marvel; the first modern steel bridge, and the largest arch bridge in the world at the time. Until the Arch was constructed, the bridge was the icon of St Louis, and it's still a beauty today.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TUFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Free history”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

If you don't want to go up in the arch make sure to still go in and visit this lovely little museum under it. Free! Great historic gift shop also. Get a list of the events before you go online- they do all kinds of fun things seasonally. Ask at the front desk for a scavenger hunt and kids get a little ranger badge when it's completed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“LINE UPS!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Firstly, the Arch is amazing! It's almost stunning to be honest. The disappointment comes from how poorly this attraction is organized. We had tickets for the 4:45 boarding (which would better be described as lining up), and then waited another 50 minutes before we actually were able to get to the top of the Arch. The top of the arch has small windows on either side, and is maybe 30 feet long. Not for the claustrophobic. A better system has to be designed (I.e. some trams went up with empty seats, as they tried to fill them from the line. Surely, this could be done when tickets are purchased??)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ttaylo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Park also viewed

 

Been to Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing