We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's all about the experience”

Ted Drewes Frozen Custard
Ranked #2 of 90 Dessert in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ted Drewes is closed for the season and will re-open on February 11, 2016.... Could you please update this information on our Trip Advisor Page.... Thank you
Missouri
Level Contributor
301 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“It's all about the experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

I've had better custard, and better parking, but never better atmosphere enjoying ice cream. Truly a St. Louis tradition that many visitors may not get, but for us Midwesterners it a chance to sit outside meet new people or run into an old high school friend that you haven't seen in years. Service is fast and hectic but it's all part of the charm and fun. Tons of kids man the windows and are eager to help and seem to really enjoy what they to. Give it a try if you have never been there or go back if it's been awhile.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,959
    332
    134
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
1,037 reviews
352 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
“Frozen Custard Sent From Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

If you are visiting St. Louis and you like sweets you must go to Ted Drewes for a frozen custard. It is so rich, thick and creamy you think you're in heaven when you eat it. My wife loves to get the Concrete, in any flavor. They are all so good it's hard to describe. You will not regret the splurge.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Worth the drive. Great place for a yummy a treat! My kids really enjoyed it! I wish there was more outdoor seating tho.

Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Mother Road Must Do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I visited Ted Drewes last year by myself and the lemon custard was so flavorful that I returned with my husband this summer while traveling Route 66. The delicious s'more concrete we ordered can stand on its own but coupled with nostalgia makes this custard stand unbeatable. Pricing is very competitive, a long list of flavor choices and excellent service makes Ted Drewes Frozen Custard simply the best!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Photoclicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
178 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Quintessential St Louis...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

First ate here in the early '80s. Little has changed of Ted Drewes, though it's surroundings have. The custard may be slightly less thick than what I remember, but that may just be me. A must-do.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted Drewes Frozen Custard also viewed

 

Been to Ted Drewes Frozen Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing