We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Am I In the Line to Order?”

Ted Drewes Frozen Custard
Ranked #2 of 88 Dessert in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Description: Ted Drewes is closed for the season and will re-open on February 11, 2016.... Could you please update this information on our Trip Advisor Page.... Thank you
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Am I In the Line to Order?”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Ted Drewes is so popular that people are lined up 10 deep at 10 plus windows that you are not sure whether you are in line to order. Don't worry, the service is quick and soon you will find yourself at the window to order a concrete of frozen custard with the desired toppings. It is one of our "must stop" when we are in St. Louis. In fact, the truth is we were in town for two nights and went both nights to get our favorite frozen custard.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,176
    369
    145
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful treats!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My first time to Ted Drewes but not my last!. The menu of frozen treats is unbelievable. We had the Banana Split this time. I have been on this planet for over 65 years and have never had a better or LARGER banana split! Ever!!! It was delicious too. No scrimping here with custard, toppings and whipped cream.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pHiLi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Frozen Custard for everyone”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Have to go to Ted Drewes if you are in St. Louis and especially if it's hot out. They have many flavors, toppings, mixes, and sizes. Everyone will find something they will enjoy. It's a St. Louis landmark.
Seems to be busy all the time, however, the lines move pretty quickly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just eat it”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have only had what we call in California "frozen custard" but until now have not experienced the real thing. Outdoor seating on benches, no frills, and just plain worth it. Just go and eat it, that's all you need to know.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcrucireta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Greatest Custard in Midwest”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Whenever we're in St Louis we make a point to stop here for some peanut butter cup concretes. The prices are fair, the portions are generous, and the atmosphere is classic!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BG26_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted Drewes Frozen Custard also viewed

 

Been to Ted Drewes Frozen Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing