We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Custard Ever!!”

Ted Drewes Frozen Custard
Ranked #2 of 89 Dessert in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ted Drewes is closed for the season and will re-open on February 11, 2016.... Could you please update this information on our Trip Advisor Page.... Thank you
Gulfport, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Custard Ever!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

It's just a tradition to stop at Ted Drewes in the heat of the St. Louis Summer or in the dead of winter standing under the window heaters you can never go wrong with Ted Drewes. They have so many toppings and choices, if you can't find something here you like, then you can't find it anywhere!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MissZ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,982
    334
    136
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Unuique”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great custard, fast service, a local hangout for families or a date. Lots of people on a hot summer night.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank STLDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Liked it but not sure what the hype is all about.”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My kiddo saw this on a Food Network show and so we had to find it and check it out. It was a hot July evening perfect for frozen anything so maybe our expectations were too high. It was really good but nothing I couldn't have gotten at other frozen custard shops in any city.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PamInKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Stuff!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

It's a landmark and nothing in St. Louis can match their frozen custard! You would think that with such a small parking lot, no one must come to Ted Drewes. Not so, just stand there a bit and watch all the cars come and go!

Helpful?
Thank ImperfectTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always, always a must-do”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Every time we have been through St. Louis, not only do we stop and get Ted Drewes but we bring quarts home. The employees there are nice enough to give us dry ice to keep the custard frozen the seven hour drive home. (And also explain how to use it) They have a lot of great options. However, as a side note, only one of the locations is open year-round.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted Drewes Frozen Custard also viewed

 
Saint Louis, MO
 

Been to Ted Drewes Frozen Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing